We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, noisy surrounding”
Review of Hotel Buddha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Buddha
Ranked #7 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have spent 3 night here before our trek (thanks to the Lukla-lottery) and one night after the trek.

The hotel is very clean with extreme friendly staff. We have our room on the 4th floor, with a view to the street. At first we were quite unhappy with the street-side but later we realised that we were blessed with our room, as there is a disco in the neighbour on the other side of the building and it seemed impossible to sleep there.

I like goa/psy music, but that was really-really loud and disturbing this time. Seriously. I can imagine that it is impossible to sleep in the rooms facing to the party. We had no problems with sleeping on the street side, we used earplugs, and the music has just gone.

Anyway.. the room had endless hot shower, a tv, a powerplug where you can charge your things, a comfortable queen-sized bed. They had free wifi, and 2 pcs. It is possible to use the pcs even when there is a power outage in Kathmandu as they have their own generators.

It is in the edge of the thamel area, shops are nearby, you can buy everything you need for your trek.

It has a nice small restaurant, but we did not try it, only for breakfast, which was surprisingly good.

Recommended.

Room Tip: streed side room only!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Buddha
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 329 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here before and after my trek. The rooms are a bit dated but are clean with nice comfortable beds. Just what we needed after trekking. They have a lovely garden where you can take breakfast lunch and dinner. The staff are friendly and the location is a stone throw away from the bars and restaurants of Thamel

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbarford70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

it's was wonderful time when i was in hotel buddha,thamel,kathmandu, they have friendly enviroment,excellent hospilaty and briliant survice...
they are providing alot of facilities and mean time healthy and fresh meal as well. even in mid night they are always stand by for fullfill guest needs.

Room Tip: room on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hot shower, warm(ish) breakfast, free wifi/wired internet and laptop/mobile charging. Right next to the main tourist area in Thamel. Easy access with a minibus as it's on the edge of Thamel close to a major road.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanKutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for nearly a week, and loved it! The lack of power caused the fans to stop working in the room, and so it got pretty hot- but this is the norm in Kathmandu. The staff was not overly friendly, but still helpful enough. I ate breakfast there almost every morning and it was great! The rooms were clean too, which was nice. Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's a good place to stay with good food, and a warm room. location of this hotel gives access to all the needs of a trekker. hotel offers facilties like cab, breakfast, wifi, hot water, other travel arrangemnets. A special mention of the owner, who my friend Suhaib rightly mentioned as going out of his way to cater the needs of his guests. All in all an unforgettable experience and I am thankful for that.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Amit_Tripavisrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good location, good staff but very expensive for what you get. The water is only warm in the morning and there was no glass in the bathroom window which made it really really cold in the room. However when I complained about this, the guys at reception got us a heater. If you stay here get one!!

Overall very clean, if very cold. They provide a storage service too for if you head off around the country.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darraghmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,231 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#38 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 207 in Kathmandu
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buddha

Address: Chaksabari Marg-29 | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $30 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buddha 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namaste and Welcome to Hotel Buddha for a pleasant stay!Lots of hotels in Thamel are vying for the hospitality business. Which hotel to choose? Which hotel goes one step ahead to make sure your accommodations are as comfortable as you expect, your food is more tasty & your holiday more pleasant in Nepal? We suggest that you need not look further! Hotel Buddha is your perfect choice. Conveniently located in the heart of Thamel,the hotel has easy access to shopping centers, banks and eating and entertainment options in restaurants and friendly pubs. It is just a 10 minute drive from the Central Bus station (Gongabu) and a 20 minute drive from Tribhuvan International Airport.Hotel Buddha is an oasis of tranquility. You can relax in the quiet garden surrounded by different plants and blossoming flowers, and enjoy a sumptuous meal of local delicacies prepared by our expert cooks. Staying in the hotel, you will long remember the genuine Nepalese hospitality from our friendly staff and the welcoming home-like ambiance. Please be sure to experience our rooftop garden as well which offers a magnificent view of the Kathmandu Valley with the panoramic Himalayas as the perfect backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Buddha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing