We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Buddha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Buddha
Ranked #4 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was here before and after my trek to Everest Base Camp. The hotel is in the very prime location. All adventure shops were in the vicinity of this place. The hotel also has got a nice garden decorated with flower pots on the border. The rooms were hygienic and hot water facility was available in the attached bathrooms.

When it comes to complementary breakfast, there are limited options for people who are pure vegetarians. However the available options (Cut fruits, Fruit juice, museli, corn flakes, hot milk, fried vegetable, tea and coffee) were healthy enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanna_vamshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    50
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
66
74
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

When you impulsively decide to travel to Nepal with no hotel bookings etc i guess you'd settle for almost anything available as long as it has the basics. Hotel Buddha was basic and for two days in Kathmandu was ok. Its in Thamel - which makes it noisy, especially in the lower floors, there is some sort of club next door so lots of noise from there. But walk out the door and you have all the craziness & touristyness that is Thamel. That said there are lots and lots of other hotels in the area and you can shop around if you want to. The rooms are very basic, average sized, ordinary bathroom (hot water - thank god) absolutely no frills at all. They have a nice small garden if you would want to sit in the sun. Didnt eat the meals at the place as there are so many options, they have two computers available day long with free internet- which i used a lot. Staff is friendly - and you will have to ask them for things as most stuff is not already there/included unless you ask. I know I was a sudden appearance but i was shown into a room which didnt have the beds made and wet towels in the bathroom, I had to ask 2 times when they got it cleaned. Also be careful with the travel agents they show you... I had taken thier help to arrange for sight seeing and the guide/car didnt turn up on the appointed time untill they called him multiple times and finally came 3 hours late by which time most of sight seeing would have been done, not thier fault but one jarring incident. Overall if you want to experiance Thamel, want a quick 1-2 days in Kathmandu and not too fussy about the details - the buddha hotel works for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhi2001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Hotel is situated at the edge of Thamel, but everything is easy to reach by foot.
The rooms are clean. Bathrooms are in asian style, which means, the shower is open, there is no shower curtain.
The Hotel has a nice, quiet garden in the courtyard. the staff is very friendly and helpful.
Internet and WiFi is free.
There is a big disco next to the hotel, which makes it quite loud till around eleven p.m.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Risi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ok budget hotel and good breakfast but what brings this hotel down is that the noise from the surrounding clubs. It just does not stop until all hours in the evening. One night we stayed the music was as if it was right in the room and the next night it was singing from a group next door...
The amenities and room was very basic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Staff were exceptionally helpful and curtious. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. I will stay here again when I return. Close to all shops and taxi service was readily available. Breakfast was included in the rate but decided to have lunch as well. Food was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetlightbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice location in the heart of thamel. In thamel but calm and peaceful garden. Nice and clean room, very friendly staff,happy environment, they provide me free airport pick-up & drop, free wifi and free to use their computer in lobby. Good room service. We stayed 3 nights and we were happy. Definitely I will go back this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honza J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Located in Thamel not very far from the centre. The staff is very helpful and the owner takes a special interest in making sure everyone has a comfortable stay. overall Its a decent and budget hotel with a 3 star feeling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diyanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kathmandu
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,191 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 201 in Kathmandu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 201 in Kathmandu
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#9 of 201 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 201 in Kathmandu
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buddha

Property: Hotel Buddha
Address: Chaksabari Marg-29 | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buddha 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namaste and Welcome to Hotel Buddha for a pleasant stay!Lots of hotels in Thamel are vying for the hospitality business. Which hotel to choose? Which hotel goes one step ahead to make sure your accommodations are as comfortable as you expect, your food is more tasty & your holiday more pleasant in Nepal? We suggest that you need not look further! Hotel Buddha is your perfect choice. Conveniently located in the heart of Thamel,the hotel has easy access to shopping centers, banks and eating and entertainment options in restaurants and friendly pubs. It is just a 10 minute drive from the Central Bus station (Gongabu) and a 20 minute drive from Tribhuvan International Airport.Hotel Buddha is an oasis of tranquility. You can relax in the quiet garden surrounded by different plants and blossoming flowers, and enjoy a sumptuous meal of local delicacies prepared by our expert cooks. Staying in the hotel, you will long remember the genuine Nepalese hospitality from our friendly staff and the welcoming home-like ambiance. Please be sure to experience our rooftop garden as well which offers a magnificent view of the Kathmandu Valley with the panoramic Himalayas as the perfect backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Buddha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing