We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Great Wall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel The Great Wall
Ranked #16 of 436 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is centrally located, comfortable, and clean. The room was large, clean, warm, with hot water and wifi. The owner is friendly and helpful, he helped me to arrange a day of site seeing in a large and comfortable car with a safe and kind driver. Overall, highly recommend this hotel. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boluojie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear boluojie,

We are pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. As customer service is our No. 1 priority and we take it very seriously from the bottom of our heart. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue with efforts to make us a leader in excellence.

We hope to see you again soon and thanks for recommending other travelers too.

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    38
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
32
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

It was really a wonderful experience staying in the Great Wall hotel.I booked the standard rooms but they have given us deluxe room for the same rate. The room was clean , tidy and comes with large bathroom. Hot water was available always, Only the WI FI was bit weak at 4th floor.The owner was very friendly and helpful. We have asked for free airport drop off instead of pick up, they have arranged the drop off for us which was really helpful. The owner also arranged sightseeing tour for us. We enjoyed the tour, our driver Bikash was really a nice guy, he took us nice place for lunch and breakfast.The owner Mr Dependra was very nice and friendly to us during our stay at the hotel. He provided whatever we have asked for.He also helped us to arrange Mount Everest flight which was our life time experience.Overall it was great place to stay and very nearby to the city center, airport, attraction.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barna911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Barna,

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. Thank you for liking our hotel, rooms, free wifi, hot shower, staffs, travel arrangement and our overall services.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

It's really a pleasant expierence with the Great Wall hotel. The manager are very nice and friendly. The hotel provide free pick up service from the Kathmandu airport. The rooms are clean and tidy. The hotel also provide convenient journey plan and guide for Kathmandu and other places in Nepal. The hotel located in the center of Thamel area, very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed in Hotel The Great Wall in Kathmandu last week during my first trip to Nepal. Even I arrived at mid night, the service staff waited for me to come and quickly checked me in. The room is clean with wifi and hot water, all staff there are warm and just did their best to help me out in every way, which makes me feel at home. The boss Dipendra made good travel plan for me that I can fulfil most of my intented agenda in the limited time to stay. He is also very good at managing unexpected changes eg. mountain flight got delayed for 3 hours, he immediately changed the transportation from car to flight for me to go to Pukarah. He keep contacting me or driver whenever I go to ensure everything goes fine. I enjoyed staying there and wish to come back again in near future.

Room Tip: Better choose the lower storey to avoid climb the stairs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. Thank you for liking our hotel, rooms, free wifi, hot shower, staffs, travel arrangement and our overall services.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed there for two nights in a single room. It is clean and comfortable. The owner is quite friendly and he gave me a couple of honest suggestions, which later turned out to be very helpful. I will definitely go back to Nepal and will stay there next time. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The single room (and the bed) is actually very big. It can easily fit more than one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Y M,

Thank for liking our hotel! We're glad that we could make your holiday in Nepal comfortable.
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

i stayed for 7 days before i went trekking,i did not expect to see someone holding up my name as i walked out of Kathmandu airport, but it was the driver from the Great Wall to pick me up,so thank you for that guys...All the staff were exceptional and can not help you enough, free wifi,hot showers all the time, rooms were large and clean,with a great view and nice place to read a book on the roof.in a great area of Thamel, free left luggage option, which i did when i went Trekking and stayed here again on my return,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Ian G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and we hope that you will stay with us again!

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were in Kathmandu for 3 times (before and after trekking), and everytime we came back to this hotel because it gives you the best value for money, at least in the area.
There are rooms in a range of prices, and the staff is warm.
A couple of our friends even moved to this hotel with us, after we shared our experience with them.
The bad part is the fact that the hotel is located in an alley. At day time it's right on the Thamel and very close to everything, but after nightfatll it could be a little unpleasnt for women to walk there alone. For us as a couple it made no difference.
In conclusion, if your looking for a good mid-range hotel while staying in Kathmandu, Hotel The Great Wall is a great option.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fruma69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#9 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#41 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Great Wall

Property: Hotel The Great Wall
Address: Thamel Marg | Next to Hotel Backyard, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 436 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Great Wall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Great Wall is just 25 minutes away from Tribhuvan International Airport which is located centrally in Thamel. Guests can expect simple and clean room with personalized service here. There are lots of shops, eateries, entertainment hubs and malls around. 24 hours ATM lounges are few walks away from the hotel. In addition, it caters to the people around the world and assist with tours, trekking, expeditions, sight seeing and more. Hotel has more repeated guests and walk in clients everyday. Prior booking is must to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel The Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing