We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a bad hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shakti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shakti
Ranked #67 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is a bad hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights for the start of a tour. On check in expressed concerns about the hotel so was told we'd be put in the "semi delux" as it was a vey nice room.
It was awful. So small had to stack the furniture up to be able to move around, had carpet that I think was originally red but mostly black due to dirt on it. The bed was a double that had a sheet and a single blanket for the whole bed. Marks and stains on the walls, but luckily the fact the room was so dark meant you couldn't see them most of the time.
Breakfast is a "buffet" of cold toast, cereal, and one or two hot dishes and you'll pay about 460 rupees for it. Go out of you have time.
There's also no heating or cooling, or not in our room anyway.
The good things are location, and fairly helpful staff. Bathroom was also very clean and no problems with hot water.
I would stay away from this place if you can. Not sure why the tour groups keep using it as its a really unpleasant start or finish to a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrixieHRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    57
    16
    9
See reviews for
6
30
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were due to join a tour departing from this hotel so as we were travelling to Kathmandu a few days earlier we booked this hotel to avoid having to change hotel when the tour started. Despite having booked 6 months prior to travel when we arrived we were told they didnt have any rooms and we would be staying in the 'annex'. The annex turned out to be a discusting hotel down the road with no hot water or electricity, after complaining a lot they finally agreed we could move back to the Shakti the next day. Once we got there yes the hotel was fine, nice gardens to sit in and electricity was mostly on. Breakfast was very overpriced for what it was though - go out for it. Just to note once we joined the tour it seemed that it wasn't just us the moving had happened to but pretty much everyone on the tour. My advice would be to make sure you actually have a room before paying them anything, or to be honest probably just stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: ake sure you actually have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Porlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Dull hotel in north end of Thamel, a little off the beaten track. Clean but dull rooms with limited TV channels (if you are not Indian or Nepalese), intermittent hot water and power (the latter is a Kathmandu wide problem). Dull, limited breakfast.

Poor value at $31 a night for a double B&B.

Room Tip: How to choose a good room? How about, start by choosing another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
245 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Remember.....this is Nepal, a third world country. If you are expecting the Hyatt or the Sheraton, you have come to the wrong country. The staff is helpful.....please do NOT act like a loud, demanding American. These sort of tactics do not work in a Buddhist country, it may work back home at your Motel 6. Be patient and you will be shown patience. A 50 rupee note to the bellhop or housekeeper does wonders(50 cents). Breakfast is included with certain room plans..toast, pancakes, eggs, fried potatoes, assorted drinks and juice.....simple! The hotel is in Thamel part of town. A quiet oasis away from the city center of Dunbar Square where it is noisy, congested, and dusty. There is even a simple 'hole-in-the-wall' restaurant serving simple fare...chow mein, fried rice, thunka(soup), potatoe fingers. It is out the right walkway and to the right about 20 meters. A simple billboard says Satkar Restaurant. I ate there 4-5 times without any issues. When in third worl countries, you do not want issues with food! The best time for a hot shower is 10AM, when the trekkers have left the hotel to begin their trek. I believe(?), the higher the floor, the more hot water....maybe closer to the hotel hot water tank...lol. As in any hotel, but especially third world countries...bring your ear plugs, extra bar soap, and toilet paper!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 304 ....no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

It’s almost impossible for me to give 0 stars to any hotel I’ve stayed at as even the worst hotel would have one redeeming quality to give it 1 star. However, the Hotel Shakti is the first hotel I’ve stayed at to earn 0 stars.

I stayed here as part of a Gecko Adventures tour to Annapurna & Chitwan and this is Gecko’s chosen hotel for Kathmandu. I stayed for 2 nights (14th and 15th October) at the beginning and 2 nights at the end of my tour (24th & 25th October). It would have been even longer had the hotel not overbooked and diverted me to the Hotel Harati on my first night in Kathmandu on 13th October (they did not inform me of the change beforehand nor did they tell me that I would be checking out on the 14th October to move to the Hotel Shakti AND I had to pay for my own taxi to get to the Hotel Shakti even though it was their mistake – though the Hotel Shakti did begrudgingly refund my taxi cost ultimately).

When I got to the hotel – I was given room 003 on the ground floor which looked like a store room converted into a bedroom with a desk pushed up against one of the beds (oh, both beds were of different size). There was no fridge, airconditioner or TV, the bedsheets and towels had a bad smell and no in-room drinking water was provided. On my insistence, they changed my room to the 3rd floor the next morning which was a slightly better room.

On my return on 24th October, I was put into a room 106 on the first floor – again, just horrible. My room mate from the tour didn’t even have blankets and we both needed to use sleeping bags on the beds (photos below) to get some sleep. The mattresses and pillows were like concrete. The bathrooms have no separation between the toilet and shower area and it was all very grotty, unhygienic and decrepit (photos attached).

The staff was completely disorganised – at one stage they even ran out of US$ to convert money back from Nepalese Rupees and even charged for internet access (when free WiFi access was available literally EVERYWHERE else in Kathmandu). The power kept going out though they did have an external generator (but it wouldn't power anything other than a solitary bulb in the room to prevent you from walking into a wall/furniture) - it wouldn't provide any power to the wall outlets.

I would not recommend staying at the Hotel Shakti at all and have informed Gecko (through our tour guide) to change from Hotel Shakti to another hotel in the Kathmandu.

Room Tip: If you were forced to stay here - try to get a room on the 3rd floor. Newer looking, with air condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The location is real close to Thamel for shopping and eating, dont bother with breakfast as it's basic and expensive, turn right out of the alleyway and head to Thamel 200 yards there is Revolution Cafe great prices and excellant breakfasts.
The rooms are basic with no noise suppression, so you here all the dogs barking etc.
Beds are very hard
Power cuts are normal, they do have back up lights. power points in reception still work to charge phones.
WiFi only worked downstairs and outside, but not on 1st floor.
Outside gardens are a nice clean change from the dirty streets.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking up stairs, try the 3rd floor, we were on the 1st and you got the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saudidoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Shakti before and after our Geckos trek, so we didn't have a choice where we stayed but we found Shakti to be very good. The rooms small and basic but comfortable, the showers had hot water and good water pressure and the staff were very helpful. The rooms could have been a bit cleaner, the bathroom had a bit of a smell about it most of the time, so we had to keep the door closed so that it wouldn't waft into the bedroom. The location is great, in a quiet street and only a minutes walk into the centre of Thamel. Overall it's not a bad choice, maybe opt for a deluxe room if you have a choice, i had a peak into one of them and they looked a lot nicer and bigger than the basic ones.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmakate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#93 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#27 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#28 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shakti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shakti

Property: Hotel Shakti
Address: Amrit Marg, Bhagwan Bahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shakti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing