We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good basic hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Shakti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Shakti
Ranked #64 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good basic hotel in a great location”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Shakti before and after our Geckos trek, so we didn't have a choice where we stayed but we found Shakti to be very good. The rooms small and basic but comfortable, the showers had hot water and good water pressure and the staff were very helpful. The rooms could have been a bit cleaner, the bathroom had a bit of a smell about it most of the time, so we had to keep the door closed so that it wouldn't waft into the bedroom. The location is great, in a quiet street and only a minutes walk into the centre of Thamel. Overall it's not a bad choice, maybe opt for a deluxe room if you have a choice, i had a peak into one of them and they looked a lot nicer and bigger than the basic ones.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmakate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    59
    16
    8
See reviews for
6
31
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We did not specifically pick this hotel, like many others that stay it was part of a Geckoes tour.

We found the hotel to be plesent enough on the ground floor. Our room was a little ‘grotty’ should we say: Cracked toilet that leaked, pillows that are yellow and a little sticky....I guess just not fully clean. But like many, we had just landed in Kathmandu and so still suffering from a little ‘culture shock’ we accepted it and made the most of it (that not to say it was anywhere near unbearable though please note).

The Garden, lounge, bar and restaurant were fine, no problems. The food prices were a little hefty so watch out there, we strongly recommend being brave and trying some of the restaurants in the immediate area as there as some great ones just a short stroll out of the hotel complex.

The location is by far the best plus point of the hotel, there are two gates into the grounds both lead directly onto busy streets and you are right in the heart of the city, a short walk from...everywhere it seems. IDEAL.

The staff were helpful enough, the breakfast was good not the biggest selection but enough (again a tad pricey).

The small things: Wi-Fi was ‘OK’ on the ground floors but we found it to be all but useless in our particular room. Power cuts are a regular occurence in Kathmandu (and Nepal), there is a generator so no worries there. The fan in the room was sufficient in the October heat. Although Aircon would have been nice, we accept this as a luxury only and would not factor it into our opinion of the hotel.

In a nut shell, Id say if you have not been anywhere like Kathmandu before you may want to pay more and get some more home comforts. If your even relatively well travelled book away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonzodoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before and after our trek to Everest Base Camp. It is in a good location, close to Thamel but off the street so it is surprisingly quiet. Our room was basic and clean and the shower always had hot water. The restaurant had good food and there was a nice comfortable garden to sit in. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to use the Internet and make international phone calls for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

First, the pros. The location is pretty good, since it is a walking distance from the shops, but far enough away that it is quiet. They have a cute garden.

Cons: room stinks of mold, they charge for their extremely slow Internet (I need to stay connected for work, so choose my hotels by their claims of having wifi), and the sheets were damp (brings me back to the mold...).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was expecting the worst based on previous reviews so I guess what I got was better than expected. Rooms were ok, clean sheets although towels were thread bare. Room size ok... definitely better than backpackers. Dinner was good and the garden was a nice haven. Perfect location... only steps away from thamel but down a lane so quiet. No one expected tips.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remix8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Basic Hotel but was clean good location near where treking shops bars and restaurants are located but set back a bit so away from the madness!Some rooms are much better than others room on second floor was good.Nothing special but this is Kathmandu!

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs kathmandu at night has many barking dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Hotel Shakti was our Pre and Post Trek accommodation in Kathmandu! We were lucky enough to have good, clean and spacious rooms at both ends of our trip and we actually had good pressure for our showers too. Staff were exteremly friendly and very helpful. The location was the best feature as it was so close to all the good shops and restaurants!! Power shortages are annoying but what can you do it affects everyone!! The gardens were really gorgeous too and made a nice contrast to the city streets.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurathomas1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andes House
Andes House
#2 of 139 in Kathmandu
217 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 202 in Kathmandu
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shakti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shakti

Property: Hotel Shakti
Address: Amrit Marg, Bhagwan Bahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shakti 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Shakti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing