We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Family Peace House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Family Peace House
Ranked #101 of 470 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Good location but poor service, the owners don't care about customers, nobody clean the share bathroom, all the day they wait on the couch.... we saw 2 rats in the room near the kitchen and the sheets are not changed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 87 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Also this year we spend a few weeks in the ‘Family peace house’ at Poknajol.
More times in different rooms. It was the last time because we will not book this guesthouse again. There are pros and cons but the list of cons get longer every time we stay here.
I will make a honest list of all those things we saw and give more comment if necessary.
First I start with the pros:

• Free wifi. Most times it works. We had some days it did not but more guesthouses in the area had that problem.
• Good mattresses. And that is so important for a good night sleep
• Quiet neighbourhood. Tucked away from the street. Streetdogs can keep you awake.
• Most times clean bedlinnen
• There is a backup light when there are powercuts. Also wifi works with powercuts.
• Free towels and toiletpaper if you ask.
• “cleaning” (that is a big word) on demand. Even if you stay 2 weeks they never ask to clean the room !

And now the long list of cons:

• Not clean. Everything is dirty. They just clean with a broom or put some water on the floor and dry it. Everything is covered with a thick layer of dirt. You don’t see it when you come to the room but don’t spill any water on the floor and try to clean it with a tissue. It will be black. But also the bathroom, mirror, bed, chair, etc etc
• Filthy pillowcovers . 1 day I want to change my room for an other one with balcony. When the “cleaning” lady finished my new room I moved my stuff. I saw that the pillowcovers where full with stains and smell bad so I took the pillows from my old room and replaced them with the one in my new room. After the lady cleaned my old room the door was kept open. I looked inside and saw that the pillows still had the same filthy covers. She also did not changed them that time. That is really gross.
• There are a lot of dog lovers coming to Nepal. Most dog in Nepal are infected with worms, not to speak about rabbies. It is no problem for the staff and owner if a guest bring streetdogs to the guesthouse and even upstairs and in the rooms. I saw guest with 1 and 2 dogs in there room on the bed, or on the couch on the balcony. Wow .. that means the next guest cant be infected by worm-eggs or get bitten by flees.
• The owners look friendly but I think they are not. We had several occurrences that the owner try to scam us or forgot agreements. All times in his favor.
• Hot water is a bit of hit and miss. Upper rooms don’t have hot water (most times). Lower rooms have more times hot water. Sometimes the water is not warmed by solar and they have to put on the electric heaters on the roof. Sometimes they just don’t want to put those on. Or tell you that you can take a shower on the ground floor in there or another room. Or they just say: “we have hot water so you must have hot water”. They don’t wanna check or do anything about it.
• In every bathroom you find toilets, shower or what so ever leaking.
• Lot of times youre toiletflush will not fill . We had to use the shower to fill the toilet
• The staff is not helpful when you have problems. Most times they do nothing about the problem. After several complains they are willing to help you (sometimes)
• Bad hygiene. Empty plates with food or coffee/tea stay several days before the rooms. Even if the staff pass this more then 1 time every hour they will not bring it down and clean it. Same if you put trash from your room outside your door. Don’t be surprised if it is still there after a few days. I did not eat 1 meal there and made my own tea and coffee.

So why did we stay there. At the first place they made us a good deal (but we had to remember them several times) for the rooms. A good night sleep is 1 of the most important things.
If you have to pay more then 700 rupee for a balcony room or 600 for a double room then you have better options in other guesthouses. We heard they ask 1000-1200 rupee for a balcony room. There is a new guesthouse 50 meters from FP house with good clean room and good beds for the same price. Other guesthouses have same quality for better prices.
We stayed here more times the last 3 years. The place runs down rapidly. Possible they think there are enough guests because there are also good reviews on TA. But really …. Even for Nepali standard (and I have been a long time in Nepal) this is not good enough for the money.

Room Tip: rooms with balcony but dont pay more then 700 rupee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just a five minute walk from the city centre you find the Family Peace Guest House. It's a quiet place with friendly staff. Rooms are clean and it's possible to arrange trips via the hostel. Negotiate about the price (especially when it's low season). I had some trouble with our shower, but maybe that's just a Nepali thing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lies90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Family Peace House is in a great location with decent rooms, but there are many better choices just next door for you. The staff is not very friendly or welcoming. They also seem to be very disorganized. They forgot our reservation. One of the staff members charged us a 13% tax on the room only to later find out it was his way of ripping us off. Either to give the hostel more money from this nonexistent tax or to pocket the money for himself. This was unexceptable and you don't need to support them. Go to Tibet Peace directly next door. Better facility, better value, and great staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've spent there 2 or 3 nights. Location is perfect - close to Thamel but far enought to be a realy quiet place. Large clean rooms with own showers (hot water) and toilet, comfortable beds and maily with balcony - realy welcome every evening to sit there with cold beer and chat with other people from other balconies ;) All guys were nice and helpful, always tried to do their best to satisfy any of your needs. Higly recommended quiet hotel in busy Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Take a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muf_javicioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night in this guest house and I was glad it was only one... The rooms are dirty, visible dry blood on the sheets, dirty floor in the room and bathroom, dripping shower which was impossible to turn off, toilet seat broken Torn mosquito netting on the windows and damp mould on the walls. Nobody available at reception at 10pm when I tried to get some water. Do not recommend this place, there are much nicer options available nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice quiet location, which is away from the craziness that can be Thamel. I had a nice sized balcony room, with plenty of hot water which was great after walking around the city. My room was large, comfortable and the balcony was a great place to sit with a cold brew at the end of the day .Staff are helpful and you can also book travel at the guesthouse.

Room Tip: The balcony and rooftop rooms are great if you are staying more then a few days and need a comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 740Neesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,237 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,272 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Peace House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Peace House

Address: Paknajol | Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Family Peace House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Family Peace House is located in a quiet and tranquil area of Paknajol, directly adjacent to Thamel, the main backpacker’s heaven. We have 17 rooms in total with either en-suite or shared bathrooms, some have a private balcony, and all have a TV, fan, and heating in the winter. We have cosy garden and a restaurant with a variety of local and international dishes. From the roof top you have a view of the Kathmandu vallley including the Nagarjun Forest, the world heritage monument Swayambhunath ( Monkey Temple), Ganesh Himal, Gaurishankhar and Langtang Himal. We pride ourselves on cleanliness, comfort and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Family Peace House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing