We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
52
24
8
13
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
24
8
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water private balcony comfortable bed rooms are clean trekking guide laundry service toilet paper masala tea place to stay guesthouse hem rooftop nepal
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 98 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've spent there 2 or 3 nights. Location is perfect - close to Thamel but far enought to be a realy quiet place. Large clean rooms with own showers (hot water) and toilet, comfortable beds and maily with balcony - realy welcome every evening to sit there with cold beer and chat with other people from other balconies ;) All guys were nice and helpful, always tried to do their best to satisfy any of your needs. Higly recommended quiet hotel in busy Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Take a room with balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night in this guest house and I was glad it was only one... The rooms are dirty, visible dry blood on the sheets, dirty floor in the room and bathroom, dripping shower which was impossible to turn off, toilet seat broken Torn mosquito netting on the windows and damp mould on the walls. Nobody available at reception at 10pm when I tried to get some water. Do not recommend this place, there are much nicer options available nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice quiet location, which is away from the craziness that can be Thamel. I had a nice sized balcony room, with plenty of hot water which was great after walking around the city. My room was large, comfortable and the balcony was a great place to sit with a cold brew at the end of the day .Staff are helpful and you can also book travel at the guesthouse.

Room Tip: The balcony and rooftop rooms are great if you are staying more then a few days and need a comfortable Kathmandu base, close to the action but not in the thick of it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 740Neesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ive spent 20 different winters hanging out in Nepal. The first time was 30 years ago. I have stayed at a lot of different Guest houses in the Thamel area over the years, but I finally found a 'home' here. I really like the Family Peace House. Ive been staying here every year for five winters now. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is quiet, which is important in noisy crowded Kathmandu, where you will need a quiet place to shut it all out. There is a good resturaunt in the hotel where you can have breakfast and coffee in the garden or on the rooftop. The rooms are large and spacious. There are balcony rooms-with large balcony- where you can sit in privacy and enjoy your breakfast. Many of the rooms have private bathroom and shower.
Its sort of hard to find a good hotel here in Kathmandu, and so once I found the Family peace house, I ended up being my base when I am in Kathmandu for the last five winters. It is centrally located, so that you can arrange youre expeditions, but is quiet since it is at the end of a road and so there is no through traffic. Traffic can be annoying in Kathmandu.
They will store youre luggage while you go trekking.
All in all, I really enjoy staying at the Family Peace House

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Nice and quiet location but close to the shops and night life in thamel. The staff is super friendly and the rooms are great for the price. Sheets are clean, bathrooms decent, and an epic rooftop view!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews