We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Ranked #134 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at the KTM Resort 3 times during a month of travelling in Nepal. The hotel is located in the heart of Thamel in a little street called Mandala Street. Even though it is in the middle of Thamel, Mandala Street is away from all the noise, pollution and dust from the rest of the city. A perfect place to relax and recharge.

The rooms are big and clean with hot water, AC and television. The staff is friendly and always greets you "Nameste" when you come or leave.

All in all a great place to stay! Will come back next time I visit Nepal..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vellebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 133 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a really good time here in the Resort Hotel. The staff is really friendly and helps you out when you have any questions. The rooms are really clean and everything worked very well (tv, ac, hot shower). We enjoyed our time here and will come back next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have been 3 times now in the Kathmandu resort and the hotel is great. You can book very simple but clean rooms for very little money and really nice and luxurious ones for an absolutely fair price. The service is great, everybody is smiling and happy to help. It is in the heart of thamel but in a very quiet location. I have been at about 20 hotels in kathamandu but this one was the best.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

we have visited Kathmandu Resort Hotel in May,2014. Location is in Heart of Thamel. All Hotel Staffs were good. Restauran service was also good. Mineral water was available all time. I am very satisfied with the service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SangitaBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights because of my travel agent. After 19 days trekking, I asked my travel agent to find a decent hotel in Thamel where I can get nice shower and proper sleep....
My room is above "ultimate resort" HQ where it's very noisy during the day, and right next to a bar with live music where they start tuning their instrument from 3 PM then at night the music was on until 2 AM then followed but the noise from drunk kids yelling and screaming continue until around 4 am
At 6 am I was woken up by more noise from the shop owners on the alley who screamed at each other (or so I thought. Apparently there were just chatting)
On the second night, after really frustrated with very bad live music and house music from the neighbourhood I asked the reception for another room where I could get some sleep. He put me in a suite above reception,which I appreciated.....however even though this room was far from the night club next door, but it is close to the night club' sparking area. ...again....after awake all night because of the sound of engine starting from the motorbike and drunk couples who fought under my window!!! When I finally fell a sleep around 5 am, I was woken up at 7 am by loud conversation of the hotel staff at the reception and constant beeping sound from their computer.

On top of the noise I described above, the day before, the cleaning service sprayed my room with insecticide (because apparently they found 2 dead huge cockroaches in my room).... And the smell stay all day and it made me sick!!!

Honestly....if you want to get some sleep at night, stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 109 was the one next to the bar with live music and above "the last resort" HQ...so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Was in Kathmandu for a Everest Base Camp Trek and got moved to this hotel for one night - we had a very poor experience. Our first room (yes we asked to move after 20 minutes in the room) has dust everywhere in it (like visible construction dust). There was mold in my son's bed, and just as much mold on the shower curtain. Patches in the wall, stains on the floor, the window wouldn't shut, it was just bad in every way. So, we asked to be moved to another room.

Before I review room two, realize I know Kathmandu is a 3rd world city and I'm not expecting the Ritz by any means. My number one expectation in a room is cleanliness (basic clean room, bed, bathroom). All else I can chalk up to price or socio-economic conditions. This hotel did not meet any cleanliness criteria.

Room two was better than room one (that's the only good news). The carpet was disgusting, patch marks in the wall (in fact, all around the hotel), the bathroom was barely better than the mold in the prior room. TV didn't work, window didn't close, and their was loud generator noise throughout the night (which is even better when you can't shut your window). Eight others stayed with us in this hotel in different rooms. Three ladies traveling together, two men, and another couple. Everyone's comment when we met in the morning....this place is a dump.

Not sure where the other reviewers stayed. Eight people from different parts of the US, who stayed in other hotels in Kathmandu swore 'never again'. My suggestion...follow our advise, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damaadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Really a beautiful hotel, with lovely clean rooms and great service! 24 hour electricity and hot water in the shower... always a bonus in Kathmandu! Really cheap prices if you consider the amazing facilities.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 613biancam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumi G, Manager at Kathmandu Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

To ,
Dear sir ,

I would like to thanks for your lovely and beautiful review for us . it was really wondering and great admiring faith from your side .

Kathmandu Resort hotel .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#87 of 210 in Kathmandu
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buddha Garden Hotel
Buddha Garden Hotel
#171 of 210 in Kathmandu
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Namaste Nepal Hotels and Apartment
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Resort Hotel

Address: Sagarmatha Bazar | Mandala Street, Kathmandu 0977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $12 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Himalayan country of Nepal holds its visitors enthralled with its charm of natural beauty and unique culture, diverse people and warm hospitality. Kathmandu resort hotel, the new hotel in the whole of Nepal has an individual style inspired by Nepali culture & artistic tradition. This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the Thamel, close to the shopping centers, business houses and many more...At Kathmandu resort hotel, find yourself in a gem of exquisite surroundings, the perfect setting for gracious hospitality and tranquility. Here modern comforts compliment the traditional hospitality. Our gracious suites offer the comfort of a private residence, with spacious bedrooms and leisure areas. All of our 30 guest rooms are tastefully decorated and fully equipped with modern amenities. In room features include attached bath, central air-conditioning, and , STD and satellite television channels.Free Internet service . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kathmandu Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing