We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathmandu Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Ranked #107 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent hotel stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights post trekking adventure trip. Excellent central location. There are security guards and I think due to a bank being attached to the hotel however it was a comforting to have them at the entrance to the hotel. Room was clean and bed comfortable. AC worked and so did the TV. In the Thamel area, the power goes out regularly. The hotel generators were quick to respond to these outages. I stayed at another hotel pre-trek and it was terrible so this hotel was a huge improvement for the same rate per night. The staff were friendly and attentive. I often left valuables in the room when I went out and nothing was taken. It looked like there were lockers available at the front desk however I did not use them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyGapYear1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    21
    9
    11
See reviews for
8
30
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed at Kathmandu Resort Hotel upon arriving in Kathmandu in mid-September for 2 nights. We also stayed our final 2 nights in Nepal after traveling to Lamjung District and Pokhara for a week.

The room we got for the first 2 nights was "ok" at best (Mt. Everest room). The carpet was dirty, and the bed wasn't great, but otherwise totally adequate. Upon returning for our final nights' stay, we ended up in a better room (#208). This room has hardwood floors which made it a bit cleaner than the previous room.

The A/C worked in both rooms, but as with other hotels I've stayed in, the power is turned off when you remove your key to leave the room. So if you are gone for the day, you'll come home to a warm room. Power outages are common, according to the load shedding schedule, but basic lighting is always maintained (bring a battery pack for charging your phone).

It was late in the monsoon season when we stayed, and one night there was heavy rain. I didn't hear any of it, and slept fine.

Breakfast is basic, but included in the room price. Fried potatoes, chicken sausage, pancakes, steamed vegetables, and juice.are served buffet-style, with eggs and toast cooked to order.

Wi-Fi was spotty, even though there were 3-4 hotspots to choose from. Sometimes ignoring the hotspots that are low signal strength helped keep a decent connection.

When we left to travel elsewhere in Nepal for a week, we were able to leave our bags in the hotel and pick them up on return without any problems.

The hotel staff was always very helpful and friendly, although we had to ask for soap and fresh towels a couple of times. The location is great -- right in the heart of Thamel, but on a street with private security. Very comfortable stay, considering other options in Thamel. It's not a Marriott or Ritz Carlton ... but this is Kathmandu.

We paid NPR 3500 per night (about $35). A good value for the experience.

Room Tip: Floor 2 in the main building was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Picochew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked into the double standard (non-AC) room. The rate is listed at $60 on the website. We offered them 1000 NPR or about $10. They accepted it. Always haggle in Nepal!

1000 NPR or less bought us several great rooms during out stay in Nepal. This was not one of them. The hotel lobby is beautiful. But the standard rooms are located in another, much rougher building. Our room was cave-like with buildings a few feet away on both windowed sides, blocking the light. This was tough for the few hours in the morning when the power was out and the hotel didn't turn on the generator. That's pretty standard in Nepal so make sure to bring a flashlight! The room was kind of gross. One wall was falling apart from water damage. It took a while for the water to heat up to take a shower. Also, the hadn't been cleaned in so long that the toilet water was black. The wifi signal in the room was also very faint. I walked out to a porch down the hall to get a signal but found that it was being used by someone to store mass amounts of onions.

The most concerning part was security though. On our first day we saw a drunk man sleeping in the hallway. When I woke up on the second day I walked out in the hallway (looking to pick-up wifi) and stepped in animal poo. I have no idea how either of these things got in the hotel and was offered no explanation by the (otherwise very kind and helpful) staff.

I'm not sure what has happened here. I feel bad writing this review but I can't stomach the possibility of someone paying $60 for this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohmystars28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I loved every moment in Nepal and this hotel helped me in having great memories of this magical place.
Friendly helpful staff.Clean rooms...comfy matress...great showers.And the breakfast superb! Walking distance from all the main attractions in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My last night in Nepal and I decided to stay right at the heart of the Tourist belt Thamel.
This hotel is fairly basic for a simple traveller. I booked the room with air conditioning as Kathmandu during this month was hot.

Room is average. Has a standard TV with great international channels, big clean bed, hot water.

Location is superb, it is in the heart of Thamel and you can do all your souvenir shopping at the shops around the hotel. Good restaurants nearby. Great for adventure seekers for Bungy Jumping, Canyoning or WHite Water Rafting as the Last Resort Office is just below.

The key attractions in Kathmandu such as the Garden of Dreams, Kathmandu Durbur Square are all within reach. Walking distance in fact.

Highly recommend for not more than 2 nights stay for the beignning of your trip or the last days of your trip if not the noise and dust might just kill you.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms are more convenient. As there is no lift. Breakfast is very basic. Might as well d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A very basic hotel with reasonable prices

In heart of Thamel, close to eateries and night life. Near by shopping is also good.

Staff were good specially the thin lady on front desk was very helpful.

Transportation option from hotel was very expensive considering outside taxis.

To get hot water in moring one has to keep rap open for almost 10min which I feel is wastage of water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadaqat Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Thamel making it very easy to just step outside and find good coffee, food and shops. I was ill while in Nepal and stayed here primarily because they had a generator that ran power during the 12 hours of daily power cuts. There was very good heat in the rooms (my main concern) and hot water. The rooms are all different and I would suggest seeing a few before taking one. Rooms are a little run down and could use some TLC but are okay. The place doesn't seem to be managed all that well - staff were kind enough but one gets the feeling the place could be much better if they would apply themselves just a little more. Lots of tourgroups stay here so it is fairly busy. An okay stay.

Room Tip: see a few before you decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butlernat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Chauni Apartment-Hotel
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#89 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#56 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#47 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florid Nepal
Hotel Florid Nepal
#45 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#63 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Resort Hotel

Property: Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Address: Sagarmatha Bazar | Mandala Street, Kathmandu 0977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Himalayan country of Nepal holds its visitors enthralled with its charm of natural beauty and unique culture, diverse people and warm hospitality. Kathmandu resort hotel, the new hotel in the whole of Nepal has an individual style inspired by Nepali culture & artistic tradition. This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the Thamel, close to the shopping centers, business houses and many more...At Kathmandu resort hotel, find yourself in a gem of exquisite surroundings, the perfect setting for gracious hospitality and tranquility. Here modern comforts compliment the traditional hospitality. Our gracious suites offer the comfort of a private residence, with spacious bedrooms and leisure areas. All of our 30 guest rooms are tastefully decorated and fully equipped with modern amenities. In room features include attached bath, central air-conditioning, and , STD and satellite television channels.Free Internet service . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Kathmandu Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing