We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Ranked #111 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I think you can do much better in Thamel than KTM Resort. Our first room was dirty, noisy, and dark. We later switched to a room on the 4th floor which was better, but not great. Spend a little bit more and get a decent place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlhnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    45
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
9
31
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

My first room obviously hadn't been cleaned as there was urine and pubic hairs on the toilet seat. The receptionist tried to tell me this was an 80 dollar room that I was getting for 50 dollars, yeah right. My second room was very old and dingy. Lots of other peoples hair both in the bathroom and the rest of the room. The sheets were stained, whilst the carpet was very old and nasty looking with lots of stains. A huge rip off for 50 dollars a night plus 23 percent tax, and then they charge you for breakfast as well as an extra. On top of this the shower was cold, and the service extremely poor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ontario
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We were required to stay at this hotel by Corsa Nepal in a package we purchased and were assured that it was a tourist grade hotel and was very clean. After a long flight we were put into this grungy little room (106) right at the top of the stairs. After having read TA we asked to see other rooms but were told this was it. Not a great first impression but we were game to see if we could endure. I removed the bedspread immediately, it was filthy from trekking boots. There were actually bootprint marks on the bedspread and it smelled. Why they kept putting on the clean grayed sheets was beyond me. Bedspreads are always disgusting but this was the pinnacle of my experience and we travel a great deal. Some of the teahouses we encountered on the trek were of a higher standard with regard to cleanliness.

Room
The room was also right over the shopping strip and across from the restaurant. Music went very late, we would hear everyone trekking back up the stairs till around 0100 and then at around 5 the shop owners started opening the great metal door shutters in front of their shops. We were pretty tired even with our earplugs.

Nakul Devkota from Corsa Nepal told us he would try to get us another room for the next night but his service was lacking and we're pretty sure he didn't even try as we had a grungy room (108) the second time when we returned following our trek. He had told us we would one of the rooms on the roof which are the nicer but alas, he was full of empty promises once he had our money. This room was somewhat quieter as we didn't hear the traffic returning up the stairs but it was dirty.

There is hot water BUT you must run it for a very long time. Be patient. The bathrooms are okay but again pretty grungy. There was a lot of mold on the shower curtains of both rooms we were in. Very easy to fix, but nobody cares.

We travel quite a bit but the filth of the rooms were detectable to the nose. The floors, not carpet were very, very dirty. Fortunately we have a comparison for Kathmandu since we were stranded for an evening after having waited all day at the airport for a flight we never got. Nakul Devkota put us up in another place, Hotel Family Home which was very clean, quaint and well situated. As a result the Katmandu Resort looked even worse. We asked to be brought back there after our trek but he said he would make sure we had a nice room at Kathmandu Resort.

Location:
You are right in the centre of the Thamel district at this hotel but to be honest there are tons of guesthouses and hotels around here. Thamel is crazy with shopping and restaurants and cafes. Everything is accessible. The location is not enough to recommend this hotel.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was served up on the roof and there was a pretty good selection of fruits and yogurts and a buffet with pancakes and potatoes. They have a little 'egg' station and prepare your eggs for you on the spot. No complaints about the breakfast but remember you are in a different country and hygeine is not the same as it is at home.

Staff:
The staff is genuine. There doesn't seem to be any management around so these kids try to do the best they can. Not much sense complaining to them as they cannot do anything. On our second day they cleaned the room and gave us one towel and we were unable to get another. They did offer us a handtowel that was left in the linen closet right next to our room....that's just the way it was. This was high season and people were coming and going, there is no need for customer service in this hotel.

Do your research and seek some other place out. There are cleaner, better places available even during high season and at the same price.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the roof, they are of better quality and removed from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papajohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I was booked into this hotel from the 21st. to the 25th. December, and found it situated in a very convenient location. The rooms were clean and tidy. My room had a balcony which overlooked the cul de sac of the shops below. The bathroom was very spacious and was provided with both cold/hot water. The staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. During my visit out of the city, my baggage was stored in their custody until my return to the hotel. This was a free service.

Room Tip: Rooms 108 & 109 are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Out of the three hotels we stayed in Thamel this was in a lot of ways the best. The rooms were much bigger as were the bathrooms. The shower was great the first time we used it, but the next was cold, I think this is a problem found in most hotels within this price range. By far the best feature was that it was quiet even though located centrally in a very noisy district. We stayed here after trekking so quiet and being able to spread out was important. Breakfast was included in the deal and this was held on the roof. Kathmandu in the morning can be quite cold so rug up before venturing into the land of soggy toast and rubbery eggs.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days. The room numbering is confusing and its not easy to locate your room back. Its only after you have taken wrong stairs, walked here and there, that you would find your room. Since i slept alone on this special bed meant for doubles, I had back ache in the morning. Anyways you just need to step outside the hotel to get all kinds of body aches relieved. The winter mornings in Kathmandu is very pleasant and having breakfast on roof top basking on the sun, was quite an experience.

Room Tip: Good Rooms in the hotel have been given names of mountains instead of being numbered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suneel79b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
149 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were originally booked in Tibet Guest House for two stays, but as we were quite unhappy there, we asked around and booked this hotel for our stay after trekking. Let me get it straight: Kathmandu Resort Hotel was much better, at least one category higher. But…

First of all I can’t relate to the reviews stating this hotel were new in 2010, three of the four rooms I’ve seen looked a bit dated, actually quite ready to be refurbished.

We were shown the room called Annapurna, which we noted on the prepayment form (USD 77 per night including all charges). They’ve kept our luggage not needed on the mountain. As we came back ten days later we were told that Annapurna was taken, but we’d get Mt. Everest, same-same. Well Mt. Everest was just opposite Annapurna but looked nothing like it. The main difference might have been, that Annapurna had hardwood flooring while Mt. Everest had carpet… which was just dirty. As were the towels and the bathroom carpet (latter would cost maybe USD 5 to replace). Not that they weren’t cleaned the day before, but they were dated with all those stains and shoe marks, which just doesn’t come out by normal vacuuming. They must have had some leakage in the water pipes in the wall between the bathroom and the room itself, which they have fixed, but the wall on the room’s side wasn’t repainted.

So I went down to front desk complaining, but they said they wouldn’t have any other room for the night, we’ll have another one in the morning. I did however manage to get two clean towels.

On the next morning then I met other staff at the front desk, who seemed to know that I’ve complained. They told me that there was only one check-out, but then eventually showed me two rooms. One had quite the same status as Mt. Everest, the other one on the top floor however looked very new, clean and welcoming. This was actually an apartment with kitchen, sitting area and huge bedroom (the latter two not separated). Of course I wanted to have that one. Back at front desk they said it would cost more, which I declined saying that I’d be satisfied with Annapurna, don’t need the kitchen (didn’t use it then) or the huge LCD TV (didn’t even switch it on then). All I needed was a clean room. After trying to get a higher rent a few more times they’ve finally given me the key, so we’ve moved.

Now the GOOD:
Excellent location, in a kind of shopping complex in the middle of Thamel, still quiet, because off the main streets. A/C was working perfectly (in both rooms), we used it to heat on cool December evenings and mornings. Also we received a hairdryer for one evening/night (which was not possible at any other of our Nepali accommodations). There was hot water anytime we wanted it (in both rooms) – also not always the case in Nepal.

Breakfast was included in the rate, so on the first morning we went to the "restaurant". Tables were dirty, kitchen area looked very unwelcoming, some three or four guys were hangin’ around, but only one of them cared to offer the guest before us to make eggs, pancakes or toast. We decided to only have some tea. But then the hot water was out, so we just left and never came back. There are many cafes and bakeries within two minutes walk.

All in all they’ve managed to provide the service we’ve wanted, managed to solve our problems and showed quite some flexibility, therefore I can recommend this place, just make sure you check the room you want. Wouldn’t consider having a meal there however.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bejo_hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#91 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#43 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gallery Nepal
Hotel Gallery Nepal
#63 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florid Nepal
Hotel Florid Nepal
#49 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Resort Hotel

Property: Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Address: Sagarmatha Bazar | Mandala Street, Kathmandu 0977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Himalayan country of Nepal holds its visitors enthralled with its charm of natural beauty and unique culture, diverse people and warm hospitality. Kathmandu resort hotel, the new hotel in the whole of Nepal has an individual style inspired by Nepali culture & artistic tradition. This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the Thamel, close to the shopping centers, business houses and many more...At Kathmandu resort hotel, find yourself in a gem of exquisite surroundings, the perfect setting for gracious hospitality and tranquility. Here modern comforts compliment the traditional hospitality. Our gracious suites offer the comfort of a private residence, with spacious bedrooms and leisure areas. All of our 30 guest rooms are tastefully decorated and fully equipped with modern amenities. In room features include attached bath, central air-conditioning, and , STD and satellite television channels.Free Internet service . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing