We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Karma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Karma
Ranked #119 of 489 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here more than 2 weeks waiting for visa. Nice place considering the price (rooms on the upper floors are much nicer) with very friendly and helpful staff. The big terraces on the upper floors are great if you want to sit outside or self-cater. Free wifi. No generator but emergency light in the room. Relatively clean, although I did come across some cockroaches. Good location, central but not too noisy. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors, where there are big terraces and the rooms are nicer than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 44 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed there almost 3 weeks and the guys working there were awesome! They even gave us a better price afterwards because we stayed longer! It's in a sideway of the main tamel road but still very central. I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Spent one night in Hotel Karma after being recommended it by a friend (who by all accounts really liked it- he was probably in a different room). Got put in a room next to the reception and was up all night battling cockroaches to the sound of barking dogs outside. Lovely. It was very cheap however.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mattbor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I was looking forward to my stay at the Karma Hotel in Kathmandu. What I could find seemed positive but I was a bit put off by several things. First, the hotel is located on the second floor [and other floors?] and finding the entry via a doorway into a building was a bit challenging. The hotel had no 'standby' power and Kathmandu suffers from virtually no electricity in the morning or evening. They do have electricity in the early afternoon and the middle of the night but that's not too handy. I was also a bit put off by them arranging for my flight to Lukla. They put me in touch with one of their 'suppliers' who overcharged me for the flight, charged me a National Parks visitor's pass [which I didn't need] and didn't pick me up in the morning for my transfer to/from the airport even though I had paid for the transfers. All in all I think you can find a much nicer hotel - as I did. I moved to Hotel Thamel which was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel that has standby power. This one doesn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

i found that hotel from web site and no one advised this hotel to me, but it turned out to be the best hotel, all is neat, clean and tidy, and so much close to all the main sights.
and also i went travelling to other places and only thank for the stuff who agreed to keep my heavy luggage without extra charges. i am so grateful for their help.
hope i will come back again and i will stay only in that hotel.
best of luck

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We know the hotel Karma since 1994. The rooms and toilets are not so ny, but cheap hotel. we like staying in the hotel karma because they have a good service, nice and kindly peole. They are always ready to help you if you need any kinds of helps. We have only positives experience fra hotel karma.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I would like to take this time to thank you and the staff of Hotel Karma: Keshab Lamsal and Aryal Rachu for their outstanding customer service.

When I first check in I had only planned to stay for a day, but was exhausted by my trip to India and subsequently stayed for 4 days.

During that time your staff was most accommidating and patient, helping complete my itinerary ie: a tour of Kathmandu and airline tickest to and from Lumbini.
Their help proved invaluable to me.

On my next trip to Kathmandu I would definately stay at Hotel Karma, again.

Thank you all and best of luck!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColetteHylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#37 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,703 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#16 of 210 in Kathmandu
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#58 of 210 in Kathmandu
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karma

Address: Thamel, Bhagawati Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 489 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $12 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karma 3*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing