We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best b&b in Thamel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asmita Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #68 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Merelbeke, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the best b&b in Thamel”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Asmita was our basecamp during 3 months in Nepal. It is a small, tidy, friendly family place with only 4 rooms, of which 2 have shared bathroom. Tasty breakfast is included in the price. There is WIFI. Nice panaroma from the rooftop terrace. It's better value for money then most of the hotels in the neighbourhood. As with most of Thamel it's always noisy in the streets during the night. So bring earplugs!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asmitabandb, Owner at Asmita Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Steve B,

A very warm Namaste. We are very very grateful for your Kind review of our place. We feel very grateful happy and proud, that you've enjoyed your stay in our humble place. Your humble review has been very valuable, inspiring and encouraging for our family.

We promise that we'll keep up our hard work and always try to make our services better. If you have any suggestions for us improve our facility please freely do suggest us. we'll do our best to follow through your advice.

Friendly regards,
Asmita Bed And Breakfast
asmitabandb@gmail.com
977-01-4416760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    39
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
61
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I found this place nearly last minutecentury via google and verified using this site. I send e-mail and the reply was within 12 hrs. A day later, they picked me up at the airport as agreed and safely delivered me to my room. I stayed in Everest which is at the top of the house, many flights of stairs, an added bonus for daily excercise. Everyone is very friendly and very accomodating. I will definitly stay there again when visiting Kathmandu. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asmitabandb, Owner at Asmita Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Andrew S,

Thank you very much for your kind words for our place. Your valuable review has been both inspiring and encouraging for us.

Though our place is nothing large and fancy, your kind words make us feel very grateful and proud that you'd stay in our place again and we have managed to make your stay comfortable.

With full on recharged energy we'll work harder to make our services better so that when you visit us again you'll be even happier.

Friendly Regards,
Asmita Bed And Breakfast
asmitabandb@gmail.com
977-01-4416760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here at either end of our trip to Nepal. The rooms are extremely clean and spacious and the bathrooms, although shared are kept spotless. The breakfast is great too. We had a slight problem booking a trekking guide/porter through Dharma, but he refunded all of our money and we stayed there again with no I'll feeling at the end of our Nepal trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank springy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asmitabandb, Owner at Asmita Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear springy87,

A very warm Namaste. Thank you very much for your kind review of our place. It has been very inspiring and encouraging for us to work extra harder and improve our services.
we feel extremely grateful and at the same proud that you have enjoyed your stay in our humble place. If you have any suggestions for us to improve our facility please freely do inform us. We'll do our level best to follow through.

With a big Nepalese Dhanyabad,
Friendly Regards,
Asmita Bed And Breakfast
asmitabandb@gmail.com
977-01-4416760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is being run by very nice family. It's basic but the prices are very favorable so if you're on low budget and looking for nice, clean and safe place to stay then this is it. I stayed on the top floor which was right next to terrace with many plants and flowers. Building is pretty tall so you get nice view from there as many buildings in the same area are one floor lower. You can see the monkey temple from there. I hanged out on this terrace at least couple of hours every day. The only thing I missed was mosquito net on the window in my room. During some months there is all sort insect and flying bugs trying to get in so it would be helpful to have the net installed. I've had very pleasant stay and will stay again if come back to Nepal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slavo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asmitabandb, Owner at Asmita Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear S F,

A very warm Namaste from Nepal and thank you very much for your kind review of our place. It makes us feel extremely grateful and proud at the same time that you've enjoyed your stay at our humble place. We have followed through your advice and implanted 24/7 supply of mosquito repellents. and if you have any more suggestion for us please freely inform us and we'll try our best to follow through.
Your valuable words has been inspiring and encouraging for our family to work extra harder to keep up our service and make our place even more suitable for your best comfort.

with a big Nepali Dhanyabad,
Friendly Regards,
Asmita Bed And Breakfast
asmitabandb@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I went with friends and we got the two rooms in the fifth floor that share one bathroom (in any case, I only had to share the bathroom with friends so it's alright.)

The B&B has a very homey feel. At 20USD per night for a double room, I think I really got my money's worth. I'm rating it based on the fact that it's a budget B&B.

What I liked about Asmita B&B:
-The whole place is very clean (which is basically what matters most to me)
-The rooms are big
-The mattresses and comforters are fresh and comfortable.
-Big breakfast! I always feel full until 2pm.
-Hot water 24/7
-Sometimes, the streets get noisy early in the morning (people shouting, dogs barking, construction) but I slept really well
-Books in the common area
-Beautiful flowers in the rooftop


Though, of course, because it's a budget B&B, there are some things we had to endure during our stay (you get what you pay for, after all)
-We stayed in the fifth floor. Very tiring to go up the room but I think of it as exercise. :)
-The water from the faucet and shower smelled kind of rusty. I don't know if it's because of the general water quality in Kathmandu or if it's because of the pipe system of the building or if it's because of the fixtures. It didn't give me anything bad though.
-Wifi doesn't reach our room. Need to go to the common area to surf the net
-When there's a brown out, they have backup power. Only one light works in our room (which is alright, we don't need to much). However, the outlets don't work so if it the weather is a bit too warm, you won't be able to use the electric fan.


One suggestion:
-I think the bathroom needs a trash bin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonlight_xing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asmitabandb, Owner at Asmita Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Moonlight_Xing,

A very warm Namaste from Nepal. We are very thankful for your kind words for our place. It has been very encouraging for us to improve our services further and inspiring us always with pride to have made your stay in our place comfortable.

we have followed through your suggestion and already installed trash bins in each bathroom. We have input another WiFi service provider with one of the very best coverage in the Thamel area. The whole Thamel area has to depend on underground spring water supply, since government supply is very irregular and untrustworthy. So, we have a trusted water purifying plant installation. And we have had the water fully sanitized as well.

If you have any suggestions for us to improve our facility please do inform us. We'll do our best to follow through your advice. Your positive review on us has been very valuable to our family.

with a big Nepali Dhanyabad,
Friendly Regards,
Asmita Bed And Breakfast,
asmitabandb@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morjim, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights (me, husband and our 3 y.o. girl), enjoyed a free pick-up from the airport and a spacious room with extremely comfortable beds. Asmita and her family were very friendly and willing to help whenever we needed. Power backup battery kept us online almost all the time (being freelancers we have to check emails and sort things out on an hourly basis). Shower temperature was so-so early in the morning, but very hot throughout the day and even after midnight.
All in all, we really liked the place and will definitely stay here on our way back from Pokhara.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

You don't come to Nepal for the accommodation and as far as rooms go, this was probably one of the best. Spacious, nice decor, clean, tidy etc. It is a small (four rooms) B&B in a family home so there was a sense that you were intruding in family life a bit - especially as the bathrooms are all outside your room.

My major disappointment with this place was that I booked it specifically for the top floor (Everest) room which had a little roof terrace next to it. When we arrived we were told that despite booking months in advance another returning guest wanted it so we could only stay there one night and then had to swap. A real pain not only as we'd specifically booked it but also as after travelling for 24hrs, you really just want to unpack and relax for a few days. There was no apology and we were moved to the bottom room which was really noisy. So I think a bit of customer service is lacking in this place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#47 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asmita Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asmita Bed & Breakfast

Property: Asmita Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lekhnath Marg | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our B&B in Kathmandu. We have 4 beautiful rooms, all with attached bathroom. Rooms, which are best in the city for it's cleanliness, comfort, simple modern decor and spacious home feel and beautiful views. Full breakfast is included with the price and also you can have lunch or dinner with us by request. You can enjoy your morning breakfast or evening beer on our terrace enjoying the view of hills surrounding the kathmandu valley,the beautiful sunset on the red sky and some glimpses of Mt.Ganesh and Mt.Jugal. You can also enjoy traditional Nepali or Spanish food made by Asmita. We have been known for our delicious treats of momos, curry, meat items and "tortilla de patatas" (Spanish omelets) with "pa amb tomaquet" ( bread with tomato) a typical Catalan dish. Don't forget to enjoy our Special Nepali Masala tea,a perfect blend of goodness for health, immunity and taste buds. Dharma, the owner conquered Mt. Everest on May 2008 and has more than two decades of experience in trekking and mountain climbing. He has also been appointed as The Nepal Government's Legal legend officer to certify authorized Mt. Everest expeditions. He can help you with organizing your treks, or just hiring guide and free tips and counseling for your trek. We offer short with attractive value one day to two nights and three day treks and hiking tours. We also can help you to city tour with the best guide at best price. We have special price off discounts for guests (students,volunteers and other) staying for long term (more than 3 nights) or booking multiple rooms. Some price includes free airport pick up as well. Have a Wonderful trip in Nepal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asmita Hotel Kathmandu
Asmita Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing