We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers Heaven !!! In Nepal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-la Boutique Hotel
Ranked #58 of 432 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Backpackers Heaven !!! In Nepal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Shangri-la - a hostel with a heavenly experience where the staff and management are excellent. You can chill on the rooftop and get great food and drinks from the cook Neresh. Amit the Owner gives sound advice on all trekking trips and has good local knowledge of Nepal. Relaxed atmosphere with good ambiance be sure to check out the chill out room. Musicians are most welcome to jam with talented artists of Kathmandu. Location 2 mins just off the main junction of Thamel easy to catch a tourist bus to Pokhra and Chitwan. Be sure to visit and say Hi from Izzy to Amit..

Izzy - London, UK.

Room Tip: Different room for different price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    38
    15
    4
    11
See reviews for
8
30
53
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

The customers service in this guesthouse is quite terrible. They dont have any respect or loyalty towards old clients...The bookings you do in this Guesthouse are not guaranteed because often they forget or if they sell the room to someone else for more money they can forget your booking. They often have problems with the backup for electricity. I also had a problem because they accused us of checking out without paying because apparently one of the employers stole the money we paid for the room...do yourself a favor a book somewhere else...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zen777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

We were made to feel part of the family, and immediately felt at home and comfortable with the wonderful friendly staff. It was a real haven in amongst the hustle and bustle of busy Kathmandu. The accommodation is perfectly adequate with a lovely rooftop restaurant and great food. The associated tour company Corsa Nepal Adventures, run by Nakul Devkota, quickly and efficiently organised a great tour for us to Chitwan National Park and on to Pokhara for some trekking. Everything went extremely smoothly and was professionally arranged with Nakul keeping in touch throughout the tour to make sure we were all OK. I thoroughly recommend the Shangri-la and Corsa Nepal Adventures.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleFish0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

I spent 14 days in Shangri-La guest house. Very good quality-price. I felt myself in secure and I could meet very nice people. I was there during the Dipavali festival and the employers of Shangri-La have become friends. They discuss with you, and they are helpful,
Clara, France.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_thiersbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#69 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mustang Holiday Inn
Hotel Mustang Holiday Inn
#133 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#60 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alobar1000 Hostel
Alobar1000 Hostel
#41 of 432 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#2 of 432 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-la Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-la Boutique Hotel

Property: Shangri-la Boutique Hotel
Address: Jyatha Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shangri-la Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Boutique Hotel is a unique fusion of classical paintings amidst an urban atmosphere that perfectly captures the essence of Kathmandu, hosting guests from all around the world to share a space and indulge in conversations about their homelands as well as of their travels around Nepal. Located very centrally in the tourist hub that Thamel is, our hotel is tucked well inside, giving our guests a quiet sanctuary from the buzzing streets, where they can breathe fresh air from the surrounding greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Shangri-la Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing