We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff good wifi”
Review of Hotel Silver Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Silver Home
Ranked #52 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff good wifi”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Free pick up from the airport. Friendly and knowledgable staff. Room ok but nothing rave about ut good for the price which included breakfast. As our time in nepal was relitaey short we purchased a tour from their travel desk. The tour which included time in chitwan and the poonhill trek went very well and our guide Purvam was excellent
I would stay at silver home again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulfarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    136
    50
    23
    20
See reviews for
27
86
258
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
福岡市, 日本
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed dormitory room for 5 days before trekking and now I come back to this hotel. The price is reasonable, they clean our room everyday and friendly staffs are here. If you looking for a cheap hotel with minimum necessary service, this is it I think. As a solo traveller I recommend Hotel Silver Home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeky634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Place is neat and charmy with a little rooftop terrace right next to the dorm. Goodvibe and priceless sunsets over Kathmandu's roofs.Great staff that will help and advice with anything you need. Good choice!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albertpalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hotel silverhome before and after our trekking. Super friendly staff, clean rooms, free wifi in rooms/dorm and computers free for guests at reception. When we came back after a week they gave us a bigger room for the same price and they kept a bed for me in the dorm when my friends left. Really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anneline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights.Though it is located in the mid - Thamel,it is peaceful & we had some good time there.Price is reasonable. They arrange taxi if you ask for.The manager Yogesh is helpful. Wish the building of the hotel was more attractive.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Everest1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,



Thank you very much for your hard effort write about Hotel Silver Home but we are still confuse about your stay because haven't found your any details stayed list. Please if you have been stayed with us display your picture with room and check in date / check out date too.
Its seems like fake review by our competitor. According your review describe mention name Yogesh but after we investigate nothing found about your details and haven't stayed. We highly request to you wel come to Hotel Silver Home and feel free to write after your stay.



Regards
Hotel Silver Home Management Team
Thamel,kathmandu,Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Stino di Livenza, Italy
Level Contributor
592 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Good hotel in the center of Kathmandu. They pick up us from airport and they gave us the most economic room with breakfast and attached bathroom with a very good price.
The room was not bad; was big, with terrace and bathroom, we found also toilet-paper and little soap. The sheets was not so clean, but ok.
This Hotel it is a typical economic Hotel in Asia; who has been there knows what I mean.
They can also organize trekking, excursion and so on. They made for us also some locals calls and they gave for free the map of Kathmandu.
They were very nice and kind with us. The hotel is at the end of a little street but no difficult to find.
When we came back from trekking in Kathmandu, we found another Hotel near this one with a cheaper price, but yes… you pay for what you get
I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kia_fiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Location wise = centrally located. Staff = treats you like family. Price = cheap! I stayed there three times in October between my treks and I would certainly highly recommend this place for it's good value and friendly environment!!! The best Nepali hospitality!

Room Tip: If you are flying solo, the dorm is the best way to meet fellow trekkers. If you are with friends g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeMakMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#79 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#68 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Property: Hotel Silver Home
Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing