We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good economic hotel in Thamel”
Review of Hotel Silver Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silver Home
Ranked #56 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Good hotel in the center of Kathmandu. They pick up us from airport and they gave us the most economic room with breakfast and attached bathroom with a very good price.
The room was not bad; was big, with terrace and bathroom, we found also toilet-paper and little soap. The sheets was not so clean, but ok.
This Hotel it is a typical economic Hotel in Asia; who has been there knows what I mean.
They can also organize trekking, excursion and so on. They made for us also some locals calls and they gave for free the map of Kathmandu.
They were very nice and kind with us. The hotel is at the end of a little street but no difficult to find.
When we came back from trekking in Kathmandu, we found another Hotel near this one with a cheaper price, but yes… you pay for what you get
I recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kia_fiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 709 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Location wise = centrally located. Staff = treats you like family. Price = cheap! I stayed there three times in October between my treks and I would certainly highly recommend this place for it's good value and friendly environment!!! The best Nepali hospitality!

Room Tip: If you are flying solo, the dorm is the best way to meet fellow trekkers. If you are with friends g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeMakMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Good location, reception staff is friendly and rooms are good value for money. Roof terrace is excellent for a star gazing with a local brew. I was there in September and was looked after really well, those guys are really trying to accommodation everyone. Recomended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Branka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff is cooperative. Nice hospitality. good rooms & breakfast is good. I feel like i am in home.
nice clean rooms with TV . overall nice experience.We are visiting again at new Year 2014.. hehe

Thanks see you , next trip

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pradeep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This place is very centrally located. Staff is very friendly, although they do their best to sell you a trip. Room is large, hot shower, tv in the room. For the price absolute worth it. Breakfast is good although little variation would be nice if you are staying more than 2 nights. We booked a 2 week trip with them and faced some minor problems, but most of these problems were financially compensated after our trip. So in the end we would recommend this place.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cabrioqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at Silver Home Hotel for over a month, coupling business stay (research programme at local university) with some tourism extra weeks. Perfect position in Thamel, since it's right in the middle of it but on an inner courtyard, away from main road: it's less noisy and crowded.
Confortable and spacious room with attached bathroom, free wi-fi connection and..emergency light (very helpful in Kathmandu city with its frequent black-outs!)!
The whole hotel staff has always been friendly and helpful, so..what else?
Definitely great value for money accomodation! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel silver home wasn't short from a wonderful experience in Nepal for budget travelers. The hotel was clean and cozy. The water was always hot. There were no bugs or any issues whatsoever. They have working wifi that never cut out and even had computers in the lobby to use free of charge.Brish, Naresh, and the rest of the rest of the staff really made my experience here tough. They were the sweetest, most kind hearted, caring staff I've ever met at any hotel. They always asked how my day was and treated us like royalty and always made sure we were taken care of. I love them and when I go back to Nepal I will be going back to silver home.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
676 reviews
0 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 210 in Kathmandu
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#48 of 210 in Kathmandu
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $13 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing