We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frank staff, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Silver Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Silver Home
Ranked #42 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
“Frank staff, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed Hotel silver home for 5 days where i feel my second home. I enjoy with their hospitality and frank behavior. Local festival, events , foods , life style i heard from experience Hotel staff and travel desk of the hotel in a free of cost. From my room visible garden and morning sunrise reflect in the window. During my staying , i got hot shower, wi fi and support . Staff of the silver home , help to make my Indian visa and showing the direction of the embassy. I booked chit wan and paragliding with them, actually prices was reasonable. I taste Newari food(local food of the Kathmandu), Roxi(local wine) which i feel different and best. I like to highly recommendation hotel silver home. see you next time!!

Room Tip: Front side garden facing room are very beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolf_steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    135
    48
    23
    20
See reviews for
25
86
255
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
437 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

For Nepalese standard, you can't complain about Hotel Silver Home. Yes, the power is out for 8+ hours a day, and they don't have a generator, but for this price, it's acceptable. Breakfast was average at best, but again, at this price, who cares? You can get 24-hour power, gourmet breakfast and pay 25 times more for your room. But for a great budget guesthouse, with huge rooms, a decent location in Thamel and terrific staff, this is the place for you. Is it truly 5 stars? No. But for the price paid, there can't be many places better. Beds are great, showers take some time to heat up, but the water is hot. I got a better exchange rate at the hotel than on the street for local currency, a decent discount on my Mt Everest flight, free airport pick-up and the best advice for sightseeing. Couldn't be more pleased, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWtraveler213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

In my budget travelling trip in Nepal, i couldn't afford the private room due to the saving money and travelling south and south east Asia Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia when i search in the internet i find the room prices of the dorm just 300 Nepalese rupees. Lucky there is connecting WiFi in my bed even i like to come down dinning to exchange travel life and information. Travel desk was just in front of the reception. I ask my question , they are easily answering never bothering. I got bus ticket and rafting from there and rest of the trip myself basic upon their useful information plus my guide book lonely planet. Next time, i like to trek in Kanchenjunga at that time i think to join their travel desk for the documentation of the trip. I have great chance to put my valuable things in lockers in dorm room,there are more than 7 lockers safety box.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santhan33364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

In my business first trip in Nepal i was booked 2 nights deluxe room in Hotel silver home. In my prices of the room including the airport pick up and light breakfast, just i paid $15 per night for that. They arranges me the mountain flight trip on hours in the sky of Kathmandu, Evert and lang tang was still cheaper than the internet prices. I like the ideas simple or middle way so that hotel silver home fit for my thinking and simple and low expenditure in multiple countries travelling. iam not still fix the next business trip but l again like to book same hotel in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leuturno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed more than 5 nights at Hotel silver home with peace and comfort feelings. They arranges my travel documentation in my solo trip in Base camp of Everest as well as enough information like a family members for trip and travel Nepal. Hotel room was choice able and they are easy to service dealings. Hotel staff all are soluble, friendly more than that some guys are telling a funny stories and making laugh. anyway i find my budget places in Hotel silver home, thanks guys and all friendly people there.

Room Tip: Better to ask the prices and room varities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
181 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is situated in a backstreet close to the centre of Thamel. Unfortunately no matter where you are in Thamel, you cannot escape the noise from the clubs in the evening.

Telephone no. +977 (0)1 4262986

I stayed for one night in a room and about 14 nights in the dormitory over the 2 months that I was in Nepal. The dormitory is a great way of meeting people who are just finishing their trip and are full of useful hints and places to stay.
.
The dormitory is on the 5th floor so be prepared for the walk! Wifi at the time was not available on this floor but is on pretty much 24 hours in reception. There are computers available in reception when the power is on.

Staff are polite but don’t really know what events are going on in town. Make sure you read the local papers available in reception.

Be aware that booking a bed does not mean that when you arrive they will have a bed for you! Due to the amount of people turning up, they often give the beds away to people who walk in.
If you find yourself without a bed, the Shree La (end of the road – turn right) has a clean dorm for 200 rupees per night.

The dormitory itself has 10 beds, 1 bathroom and access to a balcony. It is reasonably clean and is good for 300 rupees per night including tax.

I was persuaded to go trekking and this was arranged though the hotel. You are going to pay a premium for booking anything through the hotel. It was a good trek but after I did other treks without a guide I did feel that I was severely overcharged.

The guide (Jaya Ram) was good though and he can be booked directly on: 9841544012

In case you are unaware, Kathmandu has power outages every day between 2 to 5 hours and at different times of the day. Check with reception, they will know or can find out when they power will come back on and for how long.

Would I go back to this hotel? yes.

Room Tip: Be careful that the room that you are after is suddenly not available. Be prepared to walk away, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 10_Downing_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel silver home was great when i stay 3 night in Thamel in my Nepal trip. I stay standard single room which is completely peace, quiet and connecting the wi-fi network in my laptop. Actually i meet different traveler who stayed dorm to deluxe room in a travel campaign In Nepal Himalaya. All the staff of the Hotel very helpful, flexible and ready to inform any kinds of the places and attraction all over the Nepal. I had great chances to meet many backpackers in Hotel silver home and opportunity new introduction people from India to Indonesia as well as Usa to uk similarly Denmark Copenhagen to Dublin of Ireland. Nice garden face room and peace terrace to observation morning sunrise views and scenery of the neighboring market places. More than that i got room service in no time by flexible and hospitality team of the Hotel silver home. See you again and keep and touch.....

Room Tip: Budget flexible accommodation in thamel Kathmandu
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johntraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#72 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#60 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Property: Hotel Silver Home
Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing