We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for, but the service is good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Silver Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Silver Home
Ranked #42 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for, but the service is good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Silver Home in Kathmandu twice. The first time we had a big room with many windows. The Bathroom was sort of halfway redone and did not look very appealing at first, but at a closer look it turned out it was clean - it just wasn't completely finished (hadn't been painted etc). However, there was plenty of hot water and you get soap also. Breakfast is included which is great and there's free internet. Just remember to bring your own sheet/towels and you'll have a good stay. It really is good value for money in Thamel. Most places look exactly the same but are more expensive and don't include breakfast.
The second time we had booked a few days at the hotel they had misplaced our booking and they were full. The manager made sure we got a very nice room at the adjacent hotel Pokhara View. This room was great, sunny and warm. We still got to use all the facilities at Silver Home.

Also the location is good for Thamel. It's in a back alley and there's not much noise at night. The reception is staffed 24/7 and they close the entrance at night - so outsiders can't come in. That being said the locks on the doors of the rooms are not very secure. As opposed to the two other hotels right by there are no emergency exits/escape paths and the stairway is very narrow. Just something to keep in mind with the earthquake risk in the Kathmandu Valley.

Room Tip: Get a room looking down over the entrance that's not in the shade of the Hotel Pokhara View buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetttyFoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    135
    48
    23
    20
See reviews for
25
86
255
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have been this place three times my trip to Nepal place is okey no complain and staff very helpful and service also acceptable for all of budget travels what I feel during my stay at this place. Shower in the morning so nice then comes breakfast including in room Nepali style I m happy with silver home thanks a lot management team keep continued same service for all guest like me.i will see you all in next year

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xinwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

So nice to be at silver home ,place is perfect for budget travelers. I have been this hotel twice before my trip and after trip too staff are so helpful and well manner with excellent wel come.i really impresed their service i will send many friends after back to china.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Loved my stay at Hotel Silver Home. The room was great, as was the price and the staff were very friendly. As with any cheap hotel it wasnt perfect. The wireless internet didnt reach the third floor that i was staying on so i had to go downstairs for it. The bathroom could have been fixed up a little, though it did have nice hot water unlike other places i stayed in kathmandu. Be warned that a nearby pub plays really loud live music between 7 and 10 each night. I enjoyed this as I'd nod of listening to some good songs, but others may not.

All things considered, this was a great hotel, I would definitely stay there again and I loved my stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3MichaelD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recommend this hotel to everybody whos looking for a great accommodation at reasonable price. I was very touched by the staffs hospitality. they have good english speaking skills so you wont have communication problems. The rooms are neat. Also i liked the location.its the party central of the capital. Lots of cafes, bars and night-clubs. we were a bunch of friends and we had an awesome stay. i wold personally like to thank Mr. yogesh who is the hotel manager, for making our trip great.we have lots of memories. Im plannig to visit kathmandu again, and of course this hotel is going to be my first choice. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naraami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I liked the staff (Hi Prajjwal, was nice cracking jokes with you!) and owner (Hi Yogesh with your Elvis Shoes!): fun to be with & helpful. Special thanks to Bhanu Dhakal, my trekking agent, who did a wonderful job in making my Annapurna-trekking realy worthwile. He can be found everyday in this hotel. Make sure you meet him! The dormitory was kind of OK, the shower was after my trekkingexperiences in the mountains a source of delight: truly hot. Pegs to hang your clothing on is recommended since there was not 1 nail to discover.... the sunroof was nice for hanging out (washings incl...:-) !) The central position in Thamal was perfect in order to grab diner and so. I spend 6 nights (off and on) during 4 weeks Nepal in this hotel. Bearhugs & Kind regards, Timea

Room Tip: I slept on Dorm so I do not know how the rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerala,india
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have stay first time on first arrival at silver home I really like and enjoy my stay that place because the staff was helpful and incredible manner they treat me during my stay. I m pretty sure I feel about silver home service and staff are so great not problem to spend your great value of money too.

Room Tip: Everything works well
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank babu_ram_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#72 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#60 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Property: Hotel Silver Home
Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing