We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice owner & staff but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Silver Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Silver Home
Ranked #43 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice owner & staff but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We booked to stay here partly because of the reviews on TA. Mr Yogesh Lama the owner is a very nice friendly young gentleman and very quick to answer emails. Our pickup from the airport went without a hitch and was very welcome -top marks!

The hotel is situated behind the main Thamel drag which means it is quieter but also a little difficult to find if you're not familiar with the back streets. We chose to book a 'super deluxe room' for $14 a night. Unfortunately the pictures on the website are a little out of date and the rooms are now quite tired and shabby, especially the bathroom.

Please note I am reviewing this hotel on Nepal standards not European as I am married to a Nepali and am used to the culture there and do not have unrealistic expectations.

The bathroom fixtures were basically falling off the walls and this was a little disconcerting when you're trying to wash! Water was being wasted by a faulty tap (and water is precious in Kathmandu) The room was acceptably clean but very worn and rickety with torn carpets etc.

Once we got a few tips out to the young guys on the staff service to the room was very good ;-) extra blankets etc.

As we visited in January it was cold at night & we rented a calorgas (propane) heater from the hotel - about 350NPRs per day, a good idea if you feel the cold.

The tea (traditional milk tea) was ok but the food was awful! It was served with friendliness & willing but it was very bad.

I would advise the very nice owners to maybe give a kick up the butt to the maintenance & food parts of his business - I have previously stayed in a pristine simple guest house in Nepal with excellent basic food for the same rate - and then he'd have the top guesthouse in KTM!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J-Jools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Jeni,



we are really sorry about your service according your advice we had fixed all that our problem i would like to request you once visit again us at Silver Home i m sure you will love it.


Regards
Yogesh
Hotel Silver Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    133
    47
    23
    18
See reviews for
24
84
253
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

NO regrets, Hotel home is a best place if u are looking for accomodation!!! We had a good time spend together. we enjoyed a wonderful 4 day break at this hotel.it lived up to all our expectations.it was clean and very comfortable and ideally situated for culture lovers. the staff were friendly and added to the overall experience. Special thanks goes to Mr yogesh owner of the hotel,he is so kind and friendly!!! good job guys!! We will definately be back. jessika $ samual acharya!!!!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Acharya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Guest,



Many thanks for your lovely stay with us and showing your experience to others about our hospitality and service.



Regards
Yogi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hennef
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had a great time and it felt like home. Apparently they renovated the rooms which was really necessary but the service is great and we would come back to you guys.
Thanks for the great time and stay like you are.

Nadine & Michael

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and sure wel come back again Hotel Silver Home hopefully coming year.


Regards
Yogesh (Yogi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hosts for our Learning Tour group arranged for us to stay at Silver Home--and am I glad they did. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the location excellent, but the real high point was the staff. The owner bent over backward to accommodate our needs--even accompanied us on a trip to a monastery. The other staff were very helpful in every way--and especially Probin, who cooked our meals--he was creative and the food was always great.

I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

David Radcliff
New Community Project
USA

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear David,



Thanks a lot for your nice comments on explore site about your lovely stay at our Hotel.

Regards
Yogi
Hotel Silver Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Recently i been staying in Hotel silver home Kathmandu which was cheap and best hotel in my opinion. i stayed there for a week and all the staffs and hotel owner Yogesh was very much friendly with me. Thank you very much Yogesh to making me such a wonderful and friendly stay in Kathmandu. definitely visit you again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Robert,



Well so so glad to get connect with your nice comment on TA .Anyway see you on next season with your group.

Regards
Yogesh
Hotel Silver Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Got a free ride from the airport, very central location and Yogi was very awesome! Friendly staff! Good tea! Good bang for the buck!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Dayna,



Thanks a lot for your lovely comments i m sure according your comments i will see you on November hope will be more better service with my big smile.

Thanks
Yogi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

this hotel is one of the cheap n best hotel in kathmandu.During my visit,i found staff very friendly n helpful.this hotel provides great hospitality n facilities.u can find the homely environment so that u can enjoy ur stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sushma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear Susma,


Well i have seen still you are happy with our hospitality i m glad to show your all experience here on tripadvisor.com .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#62 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#56 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Property: Hotel Silver Home
Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing