We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for price.”
Review of Hotel Silver Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Silver Home
Ranked #52 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best for price.”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I wanted a nice cheap place to stay with Internet and found it. The hotel is slowly fixing up and making improvements in each of the rooms. It is not fancy, but was comfy. Everyone was nice and helpful. There is Wifi for your laptop or two pc's in lobby to get connected. The hotel is tucked away in a side street in the middle of Thamel, so really close to everything without the noise.

Room Tip: Upper floors were better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeilDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thanks a lot for your comments............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    136
    50
    23
    20
See reviews for
27
86
258
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
chiang mai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

this hotel is really like a home to me, the owner and all the staff are like my family now. they always help AUTOMATICALLY!! for example, when i was asking where to send the postcards, they offer to send them for me. and when i asked if i can borrow some glue to put the stamp on the postcards, they offered to do it for me! and when i was using laptop to talk on skype, they AUTOMATICALLY(again) offer their headphone set for me. i never have to ask for help because they always do it before i ask. thank them!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thanks a lot for nice review showing to our coming guest about our service ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I honestly don't know how anyone could give this place a good rating. It was easily the worst place I stayed in one month in Nepal, including the modest trekking teahouses in the middle of nowhere. The only good thing is the friendly guy on the front desk. The hotel is down a grotty rubbish filled alley, and the whole building and my 'Deluxe' Room was filthy throughout and extremely run down. Cigarette holes in the bedcover, sheet, also with hairs still on it, matress, jumping insects (fleas?) filthy stains on everything including the 'wooden' mattress and gross towels. I tried to sleep on top of my own towel so I didn't contact the bed. The bathroom was so disgusting there was no way i would have a shower there (brown water coming out of the rusty tap!), and the toilet didn't flush. I wish I checked straight back out. I did not use the internet or have the included breakfast because I wanted to spend as little time in the place as possible.

Room Tip: just dont go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Sophie,

We are so sorry about it its my mistake to manage you in deluxe room at the time i was out of office with other clients so my staff give you wrong room and one thing is cancel by group departure on same day. Anyway thanks a lot for your advice by review so we will improve our management definitely we will request you wel come back to see our change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Hotel Silver Home is the perfect hotel for low budgets in Kathmandu. It's very close to Thamel, the turistic area and the staff is very friendly. They also have contacts with travel, trek, rafting agency which are very good! The rooms are ok and they provide pillows, blankets and towels. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Visit different rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YannDODIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your Happiness with our hospitality and services , show to all new clients up coming. Still we are going on to serve best service for all clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

they provide 24h hot water, clean room, fan, etc...

the owner speaks perfect English, Chinese, he will help you arrange the trips very well at a reasonable price. Those guys work in the front desk are really polite, and they will help you do anything you ask.

They have two public computers you can use, such a plus!

I didn't find an excellent hotel in entire Nepal, this one deserves a GOOD!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank interjuyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
So glad see our clients are happy with our service. Many thanks for your great comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Hotel Silver Home is my first stop when I come to Kathmandu. As a low-budget-traveler, I find here the best service feasible. From here I can organize everything. The staff is super helpful and trustworthy. Whether taxi, housekeeping, shopping tips, tour packages (the hotel owner is a professional organizer to complete Nepal) or simple things of everyday life, the solution is the reception.
Over the years the personnel has changed, but the service remains the same. I need no other place more if I come to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falkmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

been there once, the hotel may not be a five stars nor great hotel, but but the location is pretty good, and the friendly owner Yogesh Lama gives me a very good impression.. friendly and helpful.. always welcome u with his sincere smile.. CHEERS~~

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank gilbybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely comment,,,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#79 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#68 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Property: Hotel Silver Home
Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing