We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely pleasant time in Nepal with Silver Home :)”
Review of Hotel Silver Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Silver Home
Ranked #52 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely pleasant time in Nepal with Silver Home :)”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Tremendously delighted of the service. Had an enormously pleasant time in Nepal thanks to Hotel Silver Homes.

Some remarkable points

· Airport pickup & drop off on time with a very nice helpful driver.
· Quick & hassle free check in at the hotel it was great for a very tiring journey.
· Easy access from hotel to major tourist attractions. (some are within walking distance)
· Excellent hotel with extra friendly staff and lot of facilities even though it’s a budget hotel.
· Good meals / Clean hotel / safe place much more for being budget hotel is great.

Hotel Silver Home will be my first choice in the future if I’m traveling to Kathmandu and will recommend for anybody with no doubt.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room in upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Many thanks for your pleasant stay with us so glad to see your comment. Sure you are wel come back again Silver Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    136
    50
    23
    20
See reviews for
27
86
258
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Hotel Silver Home has a central location right in Thamel, but is down a side road, so you don't hear all the hustle and bustle. There is a grassy area to relax across the driveway. Yogi, the manager, is really friendly and honest. I felt comfortable booking trips through him because he is very truthful and not in the business of scamming tourists for a commission. Also, I really liked the free internet. Breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldSeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Thanks you very much for your great review its really good value for all travelers to know Silver Home which is providing one of best service with cheapest in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I stayed one week in kathmandu i found this Hotel is homly atmosphare, All staff is very friendly with excellent service and great view at evening and morning,with center of thamel,,i never found this kind of cheap best budget price while i travelling. Definitely i will be back in nepal i know never forget this place such a heart touch place for budget traveler and backpackers.
Thanks Hotel Silver Home staff and Management team.

Room Tip: I will recommend Dorm and standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlasone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank You very much for your nice comment to promoting our Hotel Silver Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I went to this hotel without making much comparison beforehand and came back again after my trek. I stayed in the dorm which I found very cozy especially because of the nice balcony and people. I tried the restaurant only with breakfast but that was also excellent value for money. The 15% service charge on foods should be mentioned in the menu though.

Pros
+ Price - dorm cost only 150Rps
+ Dorm - Clean and spacious dorm with good beds
+ Balcony - a very nice place to chill out and enjoy a couple of beers watching the roofs of Kathmandu
+ Security - I left twice some very valuable stuff to hotel possession and never had anything disappearing
+ Friendly staff

Cons
- Toilets were not in the best possible condition
- Water in the shower was at time to time cold and was smelling bad. I heard from my friend that this was not a problem in single rooms since the dorm is located in the highest floor
- Spotted a couple of cockroaches

All in all I liked the place and people and would definitely go there again!

Room Tip: Try to book a dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikko4564213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

-Friendly and helpful staffs made me as comfort as home
-Port of International traveler for young people where I can makes friends with different nationality
-Immediate assist when needed made me feel safe
-Complete trip planner services for trekking, sunrise, national park visit, definably one-stop in a go
-Great location on main tourist area Themal while western and local food are nearby
-Attractive rate and package with trustful guide

Room Tip: Highly recommendate staying in SilverHome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YanFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bugyogy, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thanks a lot for your excellent feedback ,,,and also the warm wel come for all clients..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The Hotel Silver Home was by far the next best thing to Mt Everest in Nepal for me, made to feel welcome and I was treated very well by all of the staff, clean rooms, very comfy bed...major bonus, hot water and wifi 24/7, going back next year for business, my first port of call will be the Hote.

The owner Yogi was fab and will do anything to make your trip better, just ask.

Room Tip: Always ask for the best deal, keep pushing for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for your time given to write a review about our property. We are very happy that you like us as much as mount everest. The main moto of our hotel is your satisfaction and your words make us feel we were able to reach that expectation.
Looking forward to see you in future.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Super friendly personnel, always ready to give you the best deal, right in the heart of Thamel, a quiet oasis in the hustle and bustle of a stressful city, good internet, hot water, a place that leaves no wishes open. I stayed 2 weeks at this most hospitable place, and would have stayed longer. Soo much value for soo little money. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fungypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#79 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#68 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Property: Hotel Silver Home
Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing