We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home in Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pilgrims Guest House
Ranked #10 of 469 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a nice stay during our time in Kathmandu after and before our trekking at the Pilgrims Guest House. The staff was very nice and the food was good. Always in for a chat.The location is great. When you walk out of the hotel you are right at the heart of Thamel. But even at the hotel there is a nice yard where you can talk and have a drink or enjoy your food.
The rooms are all right and there are always other travellers around to have a talk with. We really enjoyed it and will certainly come back to this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 404 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Comfortable rooms, can be a little noisey from the street but this doesn't go late, Nepal generally is a place which packs up and goes to bed early, room was a decent size with good hot water. The best things are the super friendly and helpful staff and the big outside communal area which makes it so easy to get to know other travelers and share experiences. Highly recommended as a base in Kathmandu with everything Thamel has to offer right at your front door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

During stay Nepal for 9 days,I lived in this hotel twice. Friendly staffs,clean rooms and peaceful environment.all those impressed deeply. If you want start your venture from Thamel, I strongly recommend you book this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vctstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just got back from Kathmandu. Stayed at Pilgrams. Nice rooms, beautiful, quiet courtyard, nice staff, great food. Able to store belongings while we trekked. It's located at the edge of Thamel, so getting there from the city can be easier without needing to navigate the tight, busy Thamel streets.

The airline lost our luggage, and the owner offered to pick it up for us during an airport, which was very helpful.

Rooms have attached bathrooms with showers. Most of the time there was hot water, but hey it's Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We went back a second time to this reliable, well located hotel. The rooms are nice and spacious. There is a great rooftop to take pictures at sunset. If your lucky you will even get a wreath of marigolds on your arrival! There is an airport pick up service, and the staff and owner are very welcoming. Good coffee too.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaleTeoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed there for more than a week in 2010.. the staff and the guests mingled every night in the garden restaurant, talk to each other like we've been friends for a long time. The room is quite tidy, not perfectly clean but warm enough to cover us from the breeze. They also have water heater and wi-fi. A small bar next to the restaurant where u can have your breakfast n dinner. And the food was totally yum.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

i stayed here for 2 weeks and its a great place.
the cheapest rooms here are good and you can us the internet in the lobby.
the owner of the place Gunga Lama is very nice and welcoming man.
located in good place in the thamel.
you can meet here also many beautiful girls...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sushanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 210 in Kathmandu
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Guest House

Address: Thamel, Lekhnath Marg | Kathmandu, Nepal, Kathmandu 19549, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $11 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pilgrims Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pilgrims Guest House is one of the finest guest house in Thamel, Kathmandu. For more than 10 years Pilgrims Guest House has been offering a warm welcome to travellers from all over the world. More than three-quarters of our guests return and many have done so for several years. We are proud that for last 10 years we have made our guest feel like they are staying at home with our warm and friendly hospitality. Pilgrims Guest House is located in the northern part of Thamel. We assure you for the clean, safe and free from traffic noise accommodation. Pilgrims guest house has 26 comfortable neat and clean rooms with facilities offering Standard, Deluxe and Budget rooms .Each of our rooms comes with private bathroom with hot shower and cold shower all the time, LED TV in every rooms of our guest house and providing free Wifi internet services in all the rooms. Our staff is efficient and well trained .They will be ready 24 hrs to provide you the services or assistance you need. The garden is the heart of the guest house. We invite you to join conversations with interesting people and relax with a glass of wine or a local imported beer. We also offer for your pleasure traditional Nepali, Chinese, Continental and Indian Cuisine. Pilgrims is conveniently located and is walking distance to the Royal Palace Museum, Bhagwati Bahal Durbar, the Garden of Dreams, Durbar Square and Basantapur. Or wander through the streets of Thamel to find exquisite teak carvings, hand-hammered Tibetan singing bowls, mountain tea blends, fragrant incense, hand-knitted sweaters, or elaborate Khukari knives. To help make this dream come true, we will even pick you up at the airport. Look for our sign (Pilgrims) just outside the airport exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Pilgrims Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing