We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pilgrims Guest House
Ranked #11 of 466 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at Pilgrims for three months while I was in Kathmandu, and it turned out to be a wonderful choice! The staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating; they told me they wanted Pilgrims to feel like my home for the summer, and they worked hard to make sure I felt that way! My room was pretty basic but it was clean and had everything I needed, including a TV, balcony, hot water, and a fan. Pilgrims also offers great amenities other guest houses might lack, such as reliable WiFi and a generator for load shedding incidents. They have several types of rooms as far as size, number of beds, and price, so check out as many as you can if you want the best room for your needs.
The garden restaurant is also really nice. It was a great place to relax, eat nice food, and meet a ton of travelers. The location is great, too: not far from the heart of Thamel, but not in a particularly noisy area, either.

Would definitely stay there again, and would absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ewernsdorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 395 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We where here in June and July, moving around Nepal but using this as our base and stayed a total of 18 nights. When we were away we left our big bags and had a small secure locker for the whole duration of going back and forth.

They have rooms of varying prices which are simple and clean. Our favourite part of the hotel was the courtyard though as we met lots of other travellers. The food is good and the staff are excellent. I would definitely recommend. We stayed in $10 and $15 rooms with taxes included.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Pilgrims Guest House is of course basic, very basic. But if you come to Nepal for trekking, as I did - and I ended up staying here already for more than six times - you better get used to "basic" already before you start your treck. But the rooms fulfil their purpose, they are clean, offer a bed and - most important of all - a quiet and relaxing atmosphere in the middle of hectic Thamel.

The garden in front of the gues thouse is a gem. In few other locations in Thamel can you enjoy such traquility at such a low price. There is also a nice roof deck where you can take your dinks. And yes, the food is great. Get your carbs before you take off for Anapurna Roundtreck!

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldtravellerFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My stay in nepal was for 4 nights. We were 3 ppl out here for official work. This was our 1st visit to Nepal. We got taxi from airport who said that he will show 3 hotels and if I like any one of them then the taxi ride will be free of cost. Out of the 3 we liked Pilgrims Guest house more so coz of the garden area that they have where you can chill, have bear,eat or do net. Rooms were spacious and good. Food quality is good but little expensive. There Manager is good but the owner was very rude with us on day 1 when negotiating with them for the hotel room. IT was coz of the Manager that we took this hotel as he was very polite and calm. The evenings was great and relaxing in there garden restaurant with beer was an amazing way to relax and enjoy cool weather. Rooms are good specially top floor. Bathroom is good with hot water. Food quality is good. The only bad thing is that restaurant takes it last order at 9pm and food is little expensive.

Room Tip: When you visit here..check all the rooms before deciding on 1. If you visit b/w aprl-august then kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samyjamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

As a frequent guest to KTM I used to use this guest house, but then I understood what the Indian manager says about the guests behind their backs. It's a shame because the staff like all others in Nepal are so friendly.

The rooms on the ground floor give them a big miss and other rooms are old and nasty, there are some nice rooms but you need to pay over a 1000NRP for these.

A big plus point is the garden restaurant attached to it, great for meeting other travellers.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank blinkyblink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were picked up by Summit at the airport when we landed in Kathmandu and were offered to check out the Pilgrim House before committing to stay. We got there and the rooms were nice and rates were reasonable so we stayed. They also have a nice garden area to relax in, free wifi/internet, and a place to store your bags while you're trekking for free. We stayed for a week before and after our trek and were taken care of every step of the way. Great friendly service. We reccommend the Pilgrim Guest House anytime you're in Kathmandu/Thamel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

stayed here for ten days in April 2013 and felt very comfortable. The room was very small and pretty shabby but very clean, all facilities working twentyfour hours. Never had a complaint in this guest house. The room rate is pretty steep compared to other accommodation at first glance but although the room is not so pretty, you get hotwater, a comfortable clean bed, a tv with all the channels, even if not needed very nice when you are alone and tired of reading. The wifi is free and works very well. I did not need a flashlight or candle in this facility, they always ran their generator and there were continuous power cuts. I found all the staff friendly, helpful and more than willing to provide services from carrying my bag, weighing it for me, information on tours.The room seems a little expensive for the quality but they never let me down for service . I would go again and recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: The first week of april was great without ac or fan, the second week of april it started to get hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easygoingtraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 210 in Kathmandu
340 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#32 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Guest House

Address: Thamel, Lekhnath Marg | Kathmandu, Nepal, Kathmandu 19549, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pilgrims Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pilgrims Guest House is one of the finest guest house in Thamel, Kathmandu. For more than 10 years Pilgrims Guest House has been offering a warm welcome to travellers from all over the world. More than three-quarters of our guests return and many have done so for several years. We are proud that for last 10 years we have made our guest feel like they are staying at home with our warm and friendly hospitality. Pilgrims Guest House is located in the northern part of Thamel. We assure you for the clean, safe and free from traffic noise accommodation. Pilgrims guest house has 26 comfortable neat and clean rooms with facilities offering Standard, Deluxe and Budget rooms .Each of our rooms comes with private bathroom with hot shower and cold shower all the time, LED TV in every rooms of our guest house and providing free Wifi internet services in all the rooms. Our staff is efficient and well trained .They will be ready 24 hrs to provide you the services or assistance you need. The garden is the heart of the guest house. We invite you to join conversations with interesting people and relax with a glass of wine or a local imported beer. We also offer for your pleasure traditional Nepali, Chinese, Continental and Indian Cuisine. Pilgrims is conveniently located and is walking distance to the Royal Palace Museum, Bhagwati Bahal Durbar, the Garden of Dreams, Durbar Square and Basantapur. Or wander through the streets of Thamel to find exquisite teak carvings, hand-hammered Tibetan singing bowls, mountain tea blends, fragrant incense, hand-knitted sweaters, or elaborate Khukari knives. To help make this dream come true, we will even pick you up at the airport. Look for our sign (Pilgrims) just outside the airport exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Pilgrims Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing