We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in the madness which is Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Garden Home
Ranked #32 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Prakesh and his team are doing a fantastic job here. A lovely boutique hotel in the centre of Thamel . Really liked the lounge area and the garden restaurant. Best thing was the service especially when my trip was cancelled the hotel recommended a great trek company.

Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shinza66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 669 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

Have stayed at a number of hotels in Nepal and know what to expect for the price. This hotel fell well short.
Good: friendly staff, convienient location, free Wifi in some rooms, good breakfast, free newspaper
Bad: Over twice the price of comparable accomodation in Kathmandu, location extremely noisy with pub/club in same building, wifi coverage extremely patchy, not all rooms same quality, staff misrepresented price on my stay (told $44 US per night, charged $55), plenty of drug dealers hanging about out the front.
Final Verdict: Don't stay here unless you plan to be out till the early hours every evening (and even then there are much better options for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lghulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naravadeenui, part owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2009

Dear Guest,

Nabin and Prakash asked me to write to you to apologize for the misunderstanding that may hae caused by our parts. You booked our Superior type at 44 USD nett but after you were shown Deluxe room and had stayed in the Deluxe room, we had charged you the Deluxe rate.

Also the night you stayed with us was a big festive day so the busy Thamel was much noisier than normal. However, all in all, we hope that you will give us another chance and if you will ever come back to Kathmandu, please do let us have a chance to make your stay a more comfortable one.

We all hope to see you again very soon.

Prakash, Nabin, Nui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at Ambassador Garden Home and can only recommend. We had a few bumps with the hotel/room/check out, but these were ALL solved efficiently and always with a smile and friendliness of the manager. Rooms are big and clean. Definitely a good choice in Thamel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotai_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Rooms: Clean but a bit small. Bathrooms were sparkling clean, nice and functioned well. Only got one soap though, no shampoo or other toiletries (didn't ask whether they'd give any upon request, though).

Other facilities: nice lobby and garden. Breakfast (included in room price) was good if not all great. Free wifi in the whole building! The whole hotel recently renovated (within the last year).

Service: very good, personal service during the stay. Friendly but not pushy.

Location: excellent location in the middle of Thamel. Very busy and noisy surroundings, but the rooms in the garden side are quiet. Easy to find and get to. Supermarket across the street.

Value for money: pretty good, but definitely not a bargain either. I paid $40 + taxes for a single superior room per night.

Overall a nice place for someone who is ready to pay a little more for getting something slightly better than the nearby $15-$20/night bacpacker places.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveler121708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

The Ambassador Garden offers peace and quiet in an otherwise chaotic city. Setback off the street it's clean, quaint and relatively secluded. There is a great little garden to enjoy drinks after a long day or breakfast in the morning. The owner and staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The only potential issue is a neighboring rooster located somewhere in the alley next to the hotel, who likes to get up really early and clearly wants the neighborhood up with him, but some could argue it adds to the charm.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
Thank sls12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I definitively recommend this hotel. It is right in the middle of Thamel, the place to be in Katmandu, but set back a little bit, so it is relatively quiet. The service is wonderful! The rooms are clean and decorated with modern nepalese furnitures. If you can invest 15 USD more per night, I recommend to book the deluxe room; it is more spacious and comfortable than the regular room. But the regular room we first had was fine also.

Mélanie

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I recently stayed at the Ambassador Garden Home and could not recommend it more highly. The entire hotel, from the layout to the staff, combined to make a friendly and welcoming space (not to mention the cleanest place I saw in Kathmandu!). The owner and staff are friendly and warm without being obtrusive.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFtraveler074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 210 in Kathmandu
348 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#72 of 210 in Kathmandu
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#16 of 210 in Kathmandu
519 reviews
0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $41 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing