We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feeling at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Garden Home
Ranked #29 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“feeling at home”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

really a special experience to stay here-like my home. I had interesting talk with the owner-Prakash, he is a very kind man and friendly, the decoration style looks a little bit like traditional ancient China, which I felt familiar and comfortable.
you never get problem with power off, you know its a key issue when travelling in Nepal. haha

Andy Zhang
China

Room Tip: i booked the room by agoda.com few days before
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review , we all are happy to know that you had pleasant stay at Ambassador Garden Home.

Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm Regards,

Prakash Lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    191
    29
    14
    3
See reviews for
64
248
117
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We selected the hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor -- and it didn't dissapoint us. All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Their treatment made us felt special -- arranging transportation from/to the airport in a high-end vehicle, organizing day trips just for us, having dinner with the owner of the hotel, and the departing gifts -- really beyond our expectations !

It is not a usual five-star hotel, but rather a cozy place where we felt at ease -- just like home. I have stayed at numeorus hotels in the USA, Europe and Asia, but felt nothing like it when stayed at Ambassador Garden Home -- they truly put efforts to live up to every word of the name...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khandaker A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review, we all are delightful to know that you had great stay at Ambassador Garden home,

Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again for your time

warm regards,

Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I loved staying here - all of the staff were absolutely wonderful, and I really did feel like they were my family in Nepal. I had a rather disastrous trip, between all of my flights to Nepal being cancelled and re-routed from North America due to weather, my luggage being lost and taking 10 days to arrive, and then a trekking accident. Everyone at AGH went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable and safe. The service is exceptional and I was sad to say good-bye when it came time to leave.

The rooms are lovely, very clean, and the restaurant and garden are very nice. The food was good, and the location can't be beat. Especially as a single woman in Thamel, I would recommend staying somewhere very central as it is much safer than walking through Thamel at night by yourself. That was one of the reasons that I chose AGH after looking at the map.

Of course, you can find cheaper rooms in Thamel - it really depends on what you're looking for, but the value of the room for me was excellent as it was very nice. Last time I stayed in Kathmandu my rooms were between $10-15, and I really wanted to stay somewhere nicer this time. I also found it refreshing that the guests were mostly families and couples, not backpackers. If you want somewhere safe, and clean, with very nice rooms (a bed and breakfast type of atmosphere) that is also quiet, I highly recommend Ambassador Garden Home. I hope I can go back again sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekkinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review, we all are delightful to know that you had great stay at Ambassador Garden home,

Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again for your time

warm regards,

Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This boutique style hotel is in the heart of the Thamel area of Kathmandu. The location is right in the heart of Thamel, but yet the hotel is incredibly quiet and peaceful. The location was perfect with all facilities at the door, and a fabulous mini supermarket right across the road. The hotel is right in the heart of the tourist area, with a fabulous assortment of restaurants and cafes. All the staff at the hotel were attentive, and could not do more for us. Our room was on the 3rd floor with everything that we could need. Comfortable beds, good heating, gorgeous bathroom and hot water. Breakfast was in the courtyard, delicious and plentiful. I would highly recommend this hotel, and I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Ambassador Garden Home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDicks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review, we all are delightful to know that you had great stay at Ambassador Garden home,

Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again for your time

warm regards,

Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I can't wait to write this review about this hotel on my first night here. The lobby and garden are already the best part of this place. The room, furniture inside, shower room facilities all are worn. Water came out from the top of shower head (see my photos). Toilet seat is completely loose. Cleanness is not up to standard. I was shocked to see the toilet seat is covered by water (hopefully it is only water) when I arrived.
What I booked is superior double room, and it was said to have seating area and tea/coffee maker, but I was given a twin beds room with no these facilities. I didn't make complaint when I realised these because I really didn't want to repack my luggage and move.
All in all, it is not a place I wish to stay. Unfortunately, I have already prepaid for 3 nights. Shame!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review, about the shower curtain rod, that is not worn , that is flexible rod which can increase or decrease according to wall size. & shower cap, it would be nice that you should have told us during your stay at Ambassador Garden Home , that is also not the worn , just need to tight more, which has been fixed already , about tea & coffee maker , every room has these facility so every evening we provide boiled bottle water for thermos for tea & coffee , other facilities are in check in time mini bar is free for ever room , every day free bottle water supply in room , news paper , 24 hours electricity with heating system , wifi free etc these are the facilities which you have used.

we all are very sorry that you have not satisfied ,if we will have chance to serve you in future then we will never let you down.

Thank you once again for pointing the things.

warm Regards,

Prakash Lamichhane
Ambassador Garden Home
family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It wasn't til the end of my travels through Nepal that I truly appreciated what a gem both the Ambassador Garden Home and their staff were. Prakesh and Nahib attended to all my needs, from booking day tours, to finding me someone to take me sari shopping, and picking me up at the airport and bus stop (as a woman traveling alone, these things were very important for me). My room was quiet, cosy and warm (heating is not readily available throughout Nepal in the winter months) and the only days I did not sleep with my wooly hat on were my 3 nights before and 2 nights after my trip to Pokhora and trekking thereafter. The hotel itself was wonderfully designed, with a tranquil breakfast/lunch courtyard and the included breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I would highly recommend staying here, for comfort, convenience, service and value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for rating us in TA , we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay at Ambassador Garden Home, Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again for your time

Warm Regards,

AGH family
Prakash Lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The place is beautiful and very neat and tidy.
The ambience s too good.
Good service. Good people.
The interiors are so good. Also located in the central thamel which is convenient for commute and shopping.
Seems like a sAfe place to walk around at night too
Good restaurants neArby too

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for rating us in TA , we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay at Ambassador Garden Home, Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again for your time

Warm Regards,

AGH family
Prakash Lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 202 in Kathmandu
497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#13 of 202 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 202 in Kathmandu
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#15 of 202 in Kathmandu
486 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 202 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Property: Ambassador Garden Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing