We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of Thamel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Garden Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambassador Garden Home
Ranked #24 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top of Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Ambassador Garden is located in an excellent position in the heart of thamel. It's 15 mins walk from Durbar Square. Despite its position - in the middle of the crowded, colorful, busy Thamel - it's a peaceful oasis where you can sleep very well.
Our Room was so clean and perfect in each detail (as the whole hotel is) with welcome drinks and fruits.
Breakfast is also very good. The breakfast set included in room price is delicious: 2 eggs any way you prefer, juice (can or fresh), tea or coffee, potatoes and sausages or bacon or ham. Toasts with jam and butter complete the meal.

Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorPlexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay at ambassador garden home. I will definitely share this review with my team, this is all indeed.

thank you once again for your time for review writing.

hope to have chance to serve you in future too

warm regards,
Prakash
Agh Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    191
    29
    14
    3
See reviews for
64
247
115
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in Ambassador Garden Hotel a couple of separate nights at the beginning and end of our Nepal trip.

This place is a bit of wonder; a quiet and calm oasis right in the middle of the chaos that is the Thamel area of Nepal.

The rooms are the hotel are not huge but have ample room for the time that we spent in it, why would you come to Nepal and spend your days inside! They are fully equipped with LCD TV, good AC, safe and fridge with complementary beer, water and fruit juice (and a complementary basket of fruit too).

The bathrooms are a little on the small side however they are clean, have plenty of hot water and smell OK unlike some bathrooms in this part of the world.

There is a good sized seating area by the hotel entrance which allows you to chill in comfort whilst waiting a flight etc and there is free wifi and computer access too if required.

The staff at the hotel are amongst some of the friendliest and most helpful staff I have encountered in any hotel. nothing is too much trouble and they are a mine of useful, local information.

I have used many small hotels in Kathmandu and without a doubt this is the best I will certainly be returning here on my next trip to the himalayan region.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Ambassador Garden Home , we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay & you enjoyed our complimentary service as well.

we are only 18 rooms boutique hotel,we believe in quality than quantity , that is why our guest fells like their home.

we hope to have chance to serve you in your next visit as well.

thank you once again

warm regards,

Agh family
Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Alright guys.

If you're coming to Nepal, I sure hope you're not uppity or uptight as this is not Switzerland. This hotel is in a nice location for eating and drinking, has a great breakfast, warm and concerned staff, great travel arrangements and drivers, and you can feel safe laying your head to rest here.

I spent 4 nights here, had all my day trips organized by the hotel, was allowed to hang out until my late and almost delayed 2am flight, and by the time I was left everyone knew my name and my favorite cold can of Nepal Ice beer.

One of the reasons you come to Nepal is for the people. If you stay at the chain foreign hotels it may be a little more like 'back home,' but you'll be comfortable and have a great experience here. Take a taxi if you need to go to the casinos.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are preferable. If you arrive late at night as many do, these may already be tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZDrF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Ambassador Garden Home , we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay with us.

we hope to have chance to serve you in your next visit as well.

thank you once again for your time.

warm regards,

Agh family
Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We decided to stay here after reading the positive reviews, but frankly speaking, it left us underwhelmed. The positives were the friendly, attentive staff, the excellent location, the comfy bed, the cleanliness of the hotel and everything in general worked well, despite frequent power cuts. But we were generally dissatisfied with our room. It was small and dark, and the bathroom was so tiny the basin couldn't even fit, and had to be placed in the bedroom. The bathroom was a source of discontent for us; two of us could barely fit in the shower, and despite the shower curtain, everything got wet in the bathroom, including the toilet seat (adjacent to the shower). For what we paid, it could hv been better value. Go elsewhere for a better stay; practically all proper hotels, even some guesthouses, have generators as backup in case of power cuts.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sayang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, yes you have stayed at superior room , you can see all the things including bathroom's photo before reservation. yes we do have superior (standard room) 3 rooms, deluxe rooms 9 & super deluxe 6 = total 18 rooms.

what you paid for superior single cost usd 43 plus 10% service charges & 13% vat
cost includes :

Ambassador breakfast
Tea/coffee in room
2 bottles water in rooms everyday.
Daily news paper in rooms
Free wifi facility with computers in lobby & wifi in rooms
AC room (both heating & cooling 24 hours) with attached bathroom & mini bar

At Check in Time:
seasonal Fruits
Mini Bar complementary item as follows:
2 can beers
2 can juices

if you would like to come in Nepal again, please try our deluxe or super deluxe if you need more space & big bathroom of course, it will cost little bit more.

Thank you once again,

warm regards,
Prakash
AGH Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

great friendly staff (everyone) - good sized room but a bit dark because there is no view so curtains stay closed. Aircon and toilet was good/worked (which we heard horror stories of other Kathmandu hotels). Power failures are common in the city but the back-up in the hotel always worked instantly. Internet access no problem and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nzbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review , we all are happy to know that you had a wonderful time at AGH.


Hope to have a chance to serve you in future too.


thank you once again

warm regards,

AGH family
prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaisalmer, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

You got to love this place.
Me and my partner stayed there for 9 days.
A home away from home, the staff are so nice and service minded and they treat you like a family member.
The rooms are very clean, and the building are very well maintained.
Nice garden with a small romantic restaurant.
And the food.....delicious, big nice breakfast and the Nepali thali tasted wonderfull. And they taught us how to make momo.....all in all a very nice place to stay.
We will bee back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden a more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neena297667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review , we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay with us , hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

thank you once again

warm Regards,

AGH Team
Prakash Lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

All aspects of the hotel are outstanding. These guys take personal interest and really make you 'at home' (though I don't to feel at home while traveling!). Location is terrific, in centre of Thamel. Highly recommend for a true Nepal/Kathmandu experience. They give complementary beer & juices in room ! Its on the busiest street of Thamel - if you are a light sleeper then avoid this hotel (however, we were ok with it as the sound proofing is good enough)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LazyoneBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know, yes you are very much right we are centrally located , if somebody needs very much pin drop silent then they should choose the hotel which is out side of thamel or city, since we are very much centrally located , 3 rooms at front side & balance 15 rooms are back side. as you mentioned in your review , our front rooms have sound proof windows.

Thank you once again for your nice review & hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm Regards,

Prakash Lamichhane
AGH Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Property: Ambassador Garden Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing