We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wasn't quite an excellent mark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Garden Home
Ranked #36 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

great friendly staff (everyone) - good sized room but a bit dark because there is no view so curtains stay closed. Aircon and toilet was good/worked (which we heard horror stories of other Kathmandu hotels). Power failures are common in the city but the back-up in the hotel always worked instantly. Internet access no problem and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nzbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review , we all are happy to know that you had a wonderful time at AGH.


Hope to have a chance to serve you in future too.


thank you once again

warm regards,

AGH family
prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 670 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

You got to love this place.
Me and my partner stayed there for 9 days.
A home away from home, the staff are so nice and service minded and they treat you like a family member.
The rooms are very clean, and the building are very well maintained.
Nice garden with a small romantic restaurant.
And the food.....delicious, big nice breakfast and the Nepali thali tasted wonderfull. And they taught us how to make momo.....all in all a very nice place to stay.
We will bee back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden a more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neena297667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review , we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay with us , hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

thank you once again

warm Regards,

AGH Team
Prakash Lamichhane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

All aspects of the hotel are outstanding. These guys take personal interest and really make you 'at home' (though I don't to feel at home while traveling!). Location is terrific, in centre of Thamel. Highly recommend for a true Nepal/Kathmandu experience. They give complementary beer & juices in room ! Its on the busiest street of Thamel - if you are a light sleeper then avoid this hotel (however, we were ok with it as the sound proofing is good enough)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LazyoneBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know, yes you are very much right we are centrally located , if somebody needs very much pin drop silent then they should choose the hotel which is out side of thamel or city, since we are very much centrally located , 3 rooms at front side & balance 15 rooms are back side. as you mentioned in your review , our front rooms have sound proof windows.

Thank you once again for your nice review & hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm Regards,

Prakash Lamichhane
AGH Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Constant renovations has made the place a warm guesthouse for weary travelers. Friendly staff greet you and say hello on your return - this is everyone - from the breakfast person, the door guard, and general workers. Room very clean and well presented. Staff member Mr R was very friendly and nice - I called ahead to AGH to notify of possible delays as I was stuck in Lukla with no flights out, and Mr R thanked me for calling and assured me that the booking was fine. When we met, he was like a long lost old friend. While the room can be noisy from the bar just outside; the stay was comfortable and a good retreat from the busy & dusty streets outside.

Room Tip: The rooms that are to the North side are less likely to hear the noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 598saml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review , we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay with us .
yes as you told hotel is in centrally located at thamel so our 3 rooms are in city side ( which have sound proof window , as you said only outside could hear sound, if you closed the windows properly then no problem ). & balance all 15 rooms are backside .

Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again

warm Regards,
Prakash & AGH family
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended, this hotel is value for your money. Great location, great services and very friendly staff. Gonna missed this hotel. I stayed for 2 nights 9-11 september and will stay again if i coming to Nepal.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turmizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review , we all are happy that you & your friend had wonderful stay with us, hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

thank you once again

warm regards,

Prakash & AGH Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here twice for a few days each time over the summer. This place has the absolute best location right in the center of Thamel yet remains peaceful. It's more pricey than many others in the area but you really do get what you pay for at AGH. The attention to detail, cleanliness, friendliness, and atmosphere are as good as it gets. The restaurant is good also. It's a wonderful place to spend lots of time doing nothing as there is just a sense of peace, quiet and tranquility here. Also the staff is genuinely friendly and attentive. After nine weeks in Nepal I really appreciate all of these qualities, as I've stayed in every level of lodging one can imagine. If you want cheap don't bother, but after lots of crazy travel its nice to have a place like this that makes you feel so at home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zadfrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay with us.

we hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

thank you once again for choosing your stay with us

warm regards,

Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great hotel! The location is excellent, right in the heart of Thamel, and yet the rooms are off the main street so it is peaceful. There is a tranquil courtyard garden where delicious breakfasts and wonderful coffee are served. The staff are wonderful, friendly and willing to help with anything you need. The rooms are clean, the water is hot, and they go the extra distance to make the lobby and rooms pleasant. There are cheaper places to stay in Thamel, but if you can afford a little extra it is well worth it, especially after a long trek.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review , we all are delightful that you had wonderful stay with us
Hope to have chance to serve you in future too, so that you can enjoy our upgraded room as well.

Now all rooms have been upgraded & having LG FHD LED Tv. with 80+ cable channels..

Thank you once again for choosing your stay with us

warm Regards,

Agh Family

Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#32 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 210 in Kathmandu
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#86 of 210 in Kathmandu
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#7 of 210 in Kathmandu
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#70 of 210 in Kathmandu
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $34 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing