We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of peace and calm in Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Garden Home
Ranked #39 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a truly excellent small hotel in the midde of Thamel. The rooms are fine (there is no lift which may not suit those not good with 4 flights of stairs), the staff are without exception excellent and made the hotel for me, breakfast is ample and leisurely, and the location very central. The internet connection was good in both the rooms and the garden (there are 2 terminals in the lobby).
If it is service and peace that you are after look no further than this hotel because they really care and treat you as an individual. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug47london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time for nice review. we all are very much happy that you had wonderful stay with us , Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm regards,

Agh Family & Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 670 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

A nice small hotel in the centre of Thamel - the tourist hotspot. Very crowded place and hence car travel could take time. Rooms are not large, but this is not a problem. If you looking for a large flat panel TV and high end fixtures in the room, this is not the hotel for you. The staff in the hotel are very friendly, warm and treat you like a preferred member of their family. The restaurant is in a small open courtyard. They serve decent food. You might get bored with the menu in three or four meals, but nearby are several fine restaurants of different cuisines. So no end to dining options.
Wi-fi is free and works reasonably well. Hotel keeps us supplied with tropical fruits both in rooms and the lobby. The airport pickup and drop service is efficient. For less than $ 50 a day, this is a good option whether you are on holiday or business.

Room Tip: The room sizes vary. If there is a choice, ask to see the rooms before taking one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your nice review , we all are happy that you had wonderful stay with us, Yes we do have 3 types of room which vary with sizes i.e. superior (140 sq ft.) , deluxe ( 168 sq ft.) , super deluxe (288 sq ft.). About TV we do not have LCD monitor but the TV is flat screen.
About food yes the written in board is special for that particular day , besides that we do have menu from which you can order anything , there are all together more than 5o items.

thank you once again for your stay & nice review.

hope to have chance to serve you & your team in future too.

warm Regards,

Agh Family (Prakash)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My friend and I just got back from a lovely trip in Nepal. If you need a place to stay in Kathmandu, look no further, Ambassador Garden Home is literally your home away from home. The staff here take good care of you from the moment you enter. Bicky, was a godsend and made sure all of our travel plans went smoothly. The hotel is charming and tastefully decorated. The rooms are very clean and come with complimentary fruit and water. The breakfast is amazing with a beautiful garden backdrop. I especially loved the front lobby, where you are greeted with a welcome drink - I ordered the masala chai which was fantastic. I could have spent hours there just reading and relaxing. The hotel is in the best location, and right in the middle of the action. Just steps outside you can find lots of shopping and many restaurants to choose from. A big thank you to the staff there, especially to Bicky and Nabin!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR_starferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your stay at Ambassador Garden Home & nice review. We all AGH family are happy to know that you had very wonderful stay with us. Hope to have chance to serve you or your family , friends in future.

Thank you once again for your time

warm regards,

Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

i had a Very,clean spacious room.excellent service from friendly staff.very relaxed vibe to the place.wifi in rooms was surprisingly fast. The only issue was a fridge that was cold but there was one down stairs. and no elevator to the fourth floor but this is not a big issue for me. good value for solo travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are delightful that you had wonderful stay with us ,about elevator yes we are historic hotel in thamel which was built on 1972 & renovated. But we do have only 4 floor . so it will not be big issue like you said . but as per the guests requirement we do provide the room.

Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Warm regards,

Agh Family (Prakash)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week in April- June 2013 and I must say, it made my Kathmandu stay a pleasant one.The room was a nice one (I was told that they upgraded me)- I had one facing the road, but it wasnt noisy as I expected it to be. The staff were really friendly ,helpful and forever smiling!. The hotel is right in the middle of all the action, but is actually an oasis of peace in the midst of all the madness that Thamel is. The owner Prakash himself was always present and accessible for the guests. The dining place is a dream place to spend time-havng food or just reading a book.Overall, I had a good experience.
I wish the rooms had a kettle for tea (the staff would keep replenishing boiling water in the room flask, but a kettle would have given me the freedom of having a tea past midnight without having to wake the staff up! The hotel accepts credit cards, and their bank charges an additional 3.5%. The owner told me that I could've paid in full in Agoda.com ( I booked through booking.com which took my credit card details, but didn't actually charge me and hence had to use my card at the Hotel.)
The food was good and always served with smiles. Rooms were clean and thankfully AGHs back up generator never let me know that the rest of Kathmandu was in darkness during the incessant power cuts. The warm showers are another highlight-really helped me relax after long and tiring days of work in the city.
Overall a very nice, comfortable and pleasant stay. Felt completely at home.

Room Tip: I loved the room I stayed in-205- facing the road but wasn't noisy at all. Importantly, it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabharim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay at Ambassador garden home. Yes our city side room has sound proff window too. sometimes guest forget to close the window then it will have sound otherwise like you face (quite) .

However we do have only 3 rooms at city side rest of the room all are garden side.

about bank charges as you mentioned in your review 3.5%, if you pay cash then you can avoid the bank charges otherwise every hotel in Nepal will charges you 3.5 % or more .
which you can see in any hotel website.

Thank you once again for your visit

Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm Regards,

Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ambassador Garden Home is a nice hotel. but the prices are too steep. USD 50 for single room (that also during off peak season) is way too much for mid budget travellers. But the quaint feel of the hotel is indeed very alluring.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review , we all are happy that you had wonderful stay , you were saying about the price usd 51 for single room including 10% service charges & 13 % vat.

Our price is still reasonable , if you count the services which you have got.

BEFORE TAXES USD 41 WHICH INCLUDES :

Ambassador breakfast
( Sausage/Ham/Bacon , bread basket , butter , fruits jam , 2 eggs any style, hash brown potatos, fresh fruit juice/can juice & 100% organic coffee or tea)
Tea/coffee in room
2 bottles water in rooms everyday.
Daily news paper in rooms
Free wifi facility with computers in lobby & wifi in rooms

24 hours - AC room (both heating & cooling )with attached bathroom & mini bar
which you hardly get in Nepal ( due to heavy load shedding of electricity )
At Check in Time:

seasonal Fruits
Mini Bar complementary item as follows:
2 can beers
2 can juices

Thank you once again for your stay , Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm Regards,

Prakash Lamichhane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Could be a little less expensive but a charming, clean property with a smiling, helpful staff.
Good food, excellent service and great location. The rooms are a bit small but everything is in its place and a lovely gesture of fruits placed in the room and the common areas makes makes you feel like a welcomed guest...

Would recommend it !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinning75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest ,


Thank You for your time for review, we all are happy that you have enjoyed our hospitality.

Yes our superior room is smaller than deluxe & deluxe is smaller than super deluxe.
we do have 3 types of rooms , Our cost is very much reasonable concern with the service we do provide.

Our superior single room cost USD 51 which includes :

13 % Government taxes
10% Service charges
20% discount till august
Ambassador breakfast
Tea/coffee in room
2 bottles water in rooms everyday.
Daily news paper in rooms
Free wifi facility with computers in lobby & wifi in rooms

24 hours - AC room (both heating & cooling )with attached bathroom & mini bar
which you hardly get in Nepal ( due to heavy load shedding of electricity )
At Check in Time:

seasonal Fruits
Mini Bar complementary item as follows:
2 can beers
2 can juices

Thank you once again for your stay , Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm Regards,

Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#33 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 210 in Kathmandu
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#85 of 210 in Kathmandu
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#69 of 210 in Kathmandu
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#7 of 210 in Kathmandu
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $34 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing