We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best little hotel in Kathmandu!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Garden Home
Ranked #32 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our family (of 5) have just been staying with Prakesh and his friendly caring staff at the Ambassador Garden Home. The lovely foyer and courtyard area are so peaceful and quiet considering one just needs to step outside the gate onto one of the busiest streets in Thamel. The rooms suited us well and it was great having our children in a room just across the landing from our room. The staff are amazing and were so attentive to all our needs. We are so pleased we have found this gem of a place to stay in the heart of Kathmandu! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your time for trip advisor , it is all indeed , when you work hard .
hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm regards,

Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 669 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Loved the Ambassador Garden Home. Got a warm welcome on arrival and the room was comfortable. This guesthouse has a lot of character and history and you can tell it is a real labour of love. The location is great, right in the heart of the chaos that is Thamel but with a wonderfully peaceful courtyard out the back to relax in when out the madness outside gets too much. The staff are very helpful and i would like to give the guy who works in the courtyard restaurant a special mention as he is exceptionally friendly. Would certainly recommend this place.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sammyBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are delightful that you had a wonderful stay with us , hope to have a chance to serve you in future too.

warm regards,

Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I travelled alone in Nepal and therefore i was looking for a hotel which was in a safe neighbourhood and close by all the sight seeings.
I felt very safe in the hotel and the area.
At night time, the hotel was closed by a gate and in front of the hotel was always a gard 24/7.
All the staff of the hotel were very friendly and professional.
The rooms were clean and there was a safe in each room, fresh touwels every day, always hot water and electricity. The only thing was that the rooms at the steet side were quite noisy. So if you wat to book there, ask for a room at the garden side. The hotel is at a perfect location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanneeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back, we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay with us .

Thank you once again for choosing your stay with us , hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm regards,

Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent 3 days in April 2013 with our 2 kids (8 and 11). We had a great time and thouroughly enjoyed our stay! Definately recommended if you want to relax after a long day. Lovely Restaurant with great food and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We had a room to the garden which was really great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bun-bury100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back, it is always indeed when team works hard & get result good.
we all are always take care our guest like family members , That is why we called our boutique hotel, Ambassador Garden Home .

Thank you once again for choosing your stay with us

Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm Regards,

Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

After three adventurous days jumping off bridges, living in tents and using a common shower, our researcher-friend decided that we needed some luxury. Ambassador Garden Home was a good choice. We received a warm welcome from staff members including the security guard, concierge and lobby manager.

We were pleasantly surprised when we were shown up to our room. It was most quaint and had some interesting things - jute slippers, ceramic shampoo and conditioner bottles. The room was tastefully furnished and the corridors were done up aesthetically too.

We would certainly go back to this hotel if we were to return to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandini U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Big thank you from our team members, we all are delightful that you had wonderful stay at Ambassador Garden Home , Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again for your time

warm Regards,

Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Upon arrival you are et with warm smiles and welcome drinks. The lobby is clean and inviting and they help carry the luggage for you after a timely check in. When we arrived in the room we had a fruit basket, juice, water and beer waiting for us all complimentary of course. Room was good clean bed and hot shower. Location was central for shopping and there were alot of security for safety. Breakfast was really goood also and fresh as it was made to order and even fresh squeezed orange juice.
All staff had a smile to greet us and were ever so helpful maing this hotel a 10 out of 10 for me.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrunner4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your feed back , we are are happy to know that you had wonderful stay at Ambassador Garden Home .

Thank you for choosing your stay with us , we hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm Regards,

AGH Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on three separate occasions in March and April after booking via Agoda.com. We used the Ambassador as our hub to return to as we trekked AC, ABC and EBC. The drive from the airport takes about twenty minutes and the hotel itself is down an alley. The welcome is warm and the staff are about as pleasant as I've seen in Nepal. Other than the noise of the air conditioning we never had any issues, however we have heard that some requested different rooms, as one side of the hotel faces the main tourist street in Kathmandu and can be loud.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alba_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your feed back, we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay with us.

Thank you once again for choosing your stay with us & hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm regards,

Prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 210 in Kathmandu
347 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#70 of 210 in Kathmandu
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#16 of 210 in Kathmandu
516 reviews
0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $41 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing