We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Reservation System Needs Work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Garden Home
Ranked #29 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Reservation System Needs Work”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

AGH is a nice property in the Thamel District of Kathmandu. Down a narrow alley from a busy street, this hotel offers a respite from the hustle, bustle, cars, scooters, rickshaws and bikes of a busy, noisy city. The rooms are nice and the staff is very accomodating. One drawback . . . their reservation system is lousy. After several attempts at online reservations and emails which were never returned, I finally booked the hotel through my Trekking Guide Service. Otherwise, this is a nice hotel selection when visiting Nepal.

Room Tip: Choose the Super Deluxe - a little more expensive, but a lot more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelKeith001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us , about reservation , i will pass this message to concern department , thank you once again for your time.

Hope to see you again in future.

warm regards,

Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    191
    29
    14
    3
See reviews for
64
248
117
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The thing that struck me the most was how friendly and accommodating the staff were.. and we had uninterrupted power supply.. a big deal in KTM (Kathmandu).

One of the best things about this hotel it their garden patio - was a welcome respite from the orgasmic chaos that is KTM.

The rooms however are just so-so, but who stays in their room when they are in Nepal!

Hotel is also pretty centrally located in the middle of Thamel so close to bars, restaurants, shops and travel agencies. Beware however, it takes a bit of time to get here from the airport because of KTM's "Road network". And if there is a festival on, triple the time it would normally take to get to where you are going by car.

Room Tip: Apparently a room in the back of the hotel (away from the main road) is a lot quieter. And as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtl_guy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Ambassador Garden Home for 4 nights overall during our trip in Nepal end of September 2012. We paid our room around 90$ a night, through booking.com. After spending time in Nepal, we realized that this is far too much money for a night stay in Kathmandu, and Nepal in general. The manager of the hotel agreed (he admitted we would have gotten a cheaper price if we had asked the hotel directly) but did not want to lower the price even though it was the low season and the hotel was far from full. The hotel is nice, boutique-type, clean rooms and pleasant. The breakfast is average. The staff is generally nice and attentive. However, you can spend many days on this budget, we would advise you to go elsewhere unless you are happy to pay a high price.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yano224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your comment , yes you have paid deluxe double including taxes, service charges & breakfast. usd 89 (before tax usd 72.00).
Cost includes : Government taxes,Service charges,Ambassador breakfast,Tea/coffee in room
2 bottles untouched water in rooms everyday, Daily news paper in rooms
Free high speed wifi facility with computers in lobby & wifi in rooms
AC room (both heating & cooling - 24 hours which is hardly you can get in Nepal , even 5 star hotel is not providing AC when there is power cut ) with attached bathroom & mini bar
At Check in Time:
Mini Bar complementary item as follows:
2 can beers
2 can juices
seasonal Fruits

Thank you once again for your time,

warm Regards,

Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Its a highly overrated hotel. My room was on 3rd floor and you get irritated to climb esp after walking around thamel. No room service menu n very basic kitchen only good for breakfast. Travel desk was asking much higher price for flights and hotel booking. Very poor lighting n ventilation in room. Bathroom was basic, cleanliness was good. No locker in your room so very risky to keep your passport n valuables.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr SSS MRCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment , the room you had stayed with us is room No 304 which has exhaust fan where you have to switch on for ventilation , which had been told you at check in time. about locker off course we do have locker in every room in cub-broad , you must have over looked , about room service , yes we do have service for food only for 7 am to 10 pm , after 10 pm our restaurant will closed. For other service we do have 24 hours .

About air fares there are different class for different air fare for Indian & Locals so when you asked at night time there was only that class available & the air fare is also different with airlines as well for locals & Indian .


With regards,

Prakash

Management








.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basejump
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is everything it and the reviews on this site promises. We stayed for three night in two bed super deluxe room. We had booked a deluxe room up were upgraded on arrival. Check in was very professional; we were offerred cool drinks on arrival and the check in was done in the airconditioned lounge area - a similiar experience to a "executive" checkin offered by the big hotel chain. The room was a high standard, polished wood floors, the bathroom was nice, the towels were plush, there were toiletries supplied, some free beer and juices and water in the fridge (yes two free beers are supplied on arrival). Breakfast was cooked to order and the coffeee was french plunger style and the juice was freshly squeezed. Even though we were upgraded, we had a look at the other rooms which were nice; they were smaller but still a reasonable size. The hotel is in a good location and easy to find (near the Kathmandu Guest House if you need to give the taxi driver directions). The owner and managers are all very personable and each day enquired how we were and if they could assist. There is high speed interent in the lobby; my only criticism and it is a minor one is that the wi-fi in our room on the second floor was marginal - I suspect we were on the limit of the router's reach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basejump123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you choose to stay in the craziness that is Thamel, do yourself a favor and stay here. It backs of the main street a bit, I can't believe how quiet it is right there in Thamel. I was blown away by the rooms as compared to the cost of the hotel, and the customer service was outstanding. A peaceful little garden as well serving a great breakfast each morning. This is the only place I would stay in Kathmandu, just can't ask for more.

There is a small grocery store right across the street as well if you need to pick up anything, this was very helpful. Also, go straight across the street about a block or two and grab a falafel wrap at the corner stand. It was so good and costs less than $2. Best deal in Thamel.

Room Tip: If you really want to sleep in, choose a room away from the stairs as you can hear people with early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graybeard73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Almost unexpectedly, in the disarray, dust and noise of Thamel, with its small shops, traffic and complete disorder, is a small side lane, and nestled within, completely out of sight, is the Ambassador Garden Hotel.

Stepping into the small but cosy lobby is like stepping into a refuge of sudden calm, cool and order. The hotel may be small, but it’s a gem, and it’s richly endowed with excellent service and the feeling that the hotel goes out of its way to make you comfortable, from welcome drinks, to a fruit basket, complimentary fruit juice and beer in the room, to free wifi. There are 2 internet stations in the lobby and a library outside.

There's a small garden at the back where breakfast is served. The overall atmosphere is so peaceful that it's like a world removed from the noise, dust and disorder in the streets outside.

Mine was a deluxe room and it was small - space is a luxury that the hotel doesn't have and doesn't provide, but it is, after all, a heritage building and a boutique hotel. It's very comfortable for a nights' stay, but don't expect good views out the windows. Take a room facing the back rather than the street - it's much quieter. The bathroom was also tiny and cramped.

The hotel is clean, and cosy, and room service was consistently outstanding. Breakfast in the small garden is very good, served up from a small kitchenette on the premises. For the service, for the location, and the haven-like refuge it provides, the Ambassador Garden is a great place to stay in the middle of Thamel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back away from the street - much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 203 in Kathmandu
513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 203 in Kathmandu
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#15 of 203 in Kathmandu
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#19 of 203 in Kathmandu
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Property: Ambassador Garden Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing