We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Garden Home
Ranked #25 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Over-rated Hotel.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Its a highly overrated hotel. My room was on 3rd floor and you get irritated to climb esp after walking around thamel. No room service menu n very basic kitchen only good for breakfast. Travel desk was asking much higher price for flights and hotel booking. Very poor lighting n ventilation in room. Bathroom was basic, cleanliness was good. No locker in your room so very risky to keep your passport n valuables.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr SSS MRCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment , the room you had stayed with us is room No 304 which has exhaust fan where you have to switch on for ventilation , which had been told you at check in time. about locker off course we do have locker in every room in cub-broad , you must have over looked , about room service , yes we do have service for food only for 7 am to 10 pm , after 10 pm our restaurant will closed. For other service we do have 24 hours .

About air fares there are different class for different air fare for Indian & Locals so when you asked at night time there was only that class available & the air fare is also different with airlines as well for locals & Indian .


With regards,

Prakash

Management








.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    192
    29
    14
    3
See reviews for
64
248
117
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
basejump
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is everything it and the reviews on this site promises. We stayed for three night in two bed super deluxe room. We had booked a deluxe room up were upgraded on arrival. Check in was very professional; we were offerred cool drinks on arrival and the check in was done in the airconditioned lounge area - a similiar experience to a "executive" checkin offered by the big hotel chain. The room was a high standard, polished wood floors, the bathroom was nice, the towels were plush, there were toiletries supplied, some free beer and juices and water in the fridge (yes two free beers are supplied on arrival). Breakfast was cooked to order and the coffeee was french plunger style and the juice was freshly squeezed. Even though we were upgraded, we had a look at the other rooms which were nice; they were smaller but still a reasonable size. The hotel is in a good location and easy to find (near the Kathmandu Guest House if you need to give the taxi driver directions). The owner and managers are all very personable and each day enquired how we were and if they could assist. There is high speed interent in the lobby; my only criticism and it is a minor one is that the wi-fi in our room on the second floor was marginal - I suspect we were on the limit of the router's reach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basejump123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you choose to stay in the craziness that is Thamel, do yourself a favor and stay here. It backs of the main street a bit, I can't believe how quiet it is right there in Thamel. I was blown away by the rooms as compared to the cost of the hotel, and the customer service was outstanding. A peaceful little garden as well serving a great breakfast each morning. This is the only place I would stay in Kathmandu, just can't ask for more.

There is a small grocery store right across the street as well if you need to pick up anything, this was very helpful. Also, go straight across the street about a block or two and grab a falafel wrap at the corner stand. It was so good and costs less than $2. Best deal in Thamel.

Room Tip: If you really want to sleep in, choose a room away from the stairs as you can hear people with early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graybeard73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
210 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Almost unexpectedly, in the disarray, dust and noise of Thamel, with its small shops, traffic and complete disorder, is a small side lane, and nestled within, completely out of sight, is the Ambassador Garden Hotel.

Stepping into the small but cosy lobby is like stepping into a refuge of sudden calm, cool and order. The hotel may be small, but it’s a gem, and it’s richly endowed with excellent service and the feeling that the hotel goes out of its way to make you comfortable, from welcome drinks, to a fruit basket, complimentary fruit juice and beer in the room, to free wifi. There are 2 internet stations in the lobby and a library outside.

There's a small garden at the back where breakfast is served. The overall atmosphere is so peaceful that it's like a world removed from the noise, dust and disorder in the streets outside.

Mine was a deluxe room and it was small - space is a luxury that the hotel doesn't have and doesn't provide, but it is, after all, a heritage building and a boutique hotel. It's very comfortable for a nights' stay, but don't expect good views out the windows. Take a room facing the back rather than the street - it's much quieter. The bathroom was also tiny and cramped.

The hotel is clean, and cosy, and room service was consistently outstanding. Breakfast in the small garden is very good, served up from a small kitchenette on the premises. For the service, for the location, and the haven-like refuge it provides, the Ambassador Garden is a great place to stay in the middle of Thamel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back away from the street - much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights, and enjoyed the quality, cleanliness and location. It is small and family-like with a lovely garden for breakfast. Good wifi and 2 computers for guest to use in the lobby. The staff is gracious, led by Nabin!!
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for one night only but will return happily.
Clean rooms, kind and helpful staff, nice breakfast. the best of 5 hotels that I checked or visited in Kathmandu. Located in the center of Thamel, but quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oron67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

By far and away the best place we stayed in, in Nepal. So friendly, and room superb! HIGHLY recommended. From the welcome, through to the well decorated bedroom - top notch. Gutted they were full on our return to KTM two weeks later.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divingtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#8 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#18 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Property: Ambassador Garden Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing