We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in center thamel”
Review of Hotel Potala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Potala
Ranked #70 of 438 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hostel in center thamel”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed very nice staff , good food Nepali thali( tepical Nepali food)don't forget to try here for real test, hot and cold water running 24 hour.
You will gat what you paid
Their are room dipped in your budget . Clean and nice .very nice incluidead breakfast you can chose what you want.free wifi which is free, free map and information desk runing by nice person you can ask any thing travel question they answer.
I would like inform that don't miss to get that invitent in thamel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaggu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    60
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
2
39
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

PROS:
In the centre of Thamel (although once you realise how small thamel is, everything is a one minute walk away from everything else)
CONS:
Above a nightclub, and a bar next door, it was like my bed was actually in the nightclub, although i had a mix of two songs overly loud everynight from dark to about 1am, with car horns and conversations being easily heard after this time.
Staff are a little bit intruding/over friendly.
A little bit pushy in getting you to use their driver/car/eating at their hotel etc
Breakfast is not worth mentioning if you dont love bread or eggs.
Restaurant food is very standard, and staff did not seem to even grasp the concept of gluten allergy or no dairy .. the first night i ate here i was unwell - i ate here once more but only had fries !
** Travel agent is far overpriced, quoting me the same flight for over $50 more than what i purchased it for from the airline office, also bus tickets were also the most expensive from this hotels travel agent.
rooms a little dirty - a very dusty area and hallways rooms are dusty.
bathrooms dirty - NEVER SEEMED TO BE HOT WATER ?
There are some much better options in thamel - which were nearly half the price, and if you are a hostel dorm room stayer then a quarter of the price.. Sharee lale vegetarian restaurant and guesthouse, which i ate at frequently, has rooms for half the price, much cleaner and nicer and still in the centre of thamel.. (the owner gave me heaps of information about nepal, prices, and information about my next journey without trying to sell me anything at all , he even drew a map of the metro in india to help me) .. i was going to move there but in the end just nepal all together.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A budget hotel, aimed squarely at back packers, it does what it says on the tin! Slap bang in the Thamel area of Kathmandu, it offers basic rooms [ ok they could do with a spot of updating] with clean bedding, showers and hot water. The major plus is a good breakfast to set you up for the day and the staff, all of whom were helpful and friendly. The hotel also has a travel department who arranged drivers for us, so that we could travel further afield, at what we thought were reasonable rates.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertH-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. We had arranged an airport pick-up; via email; for our arrival, but no-one showed up. This didn't matter as we quickly renegotiated a much better deal outside the airport, and quickly arrived at Hotel Potala. The location was good, in a quiet street in Thamel. There is a lovely (independant) jewellery shop in the entrance to the hotel.
The rooms were okay, just basic and simple, but the bed sheets looked and smelled dirty and were off-putting!
I had also pre-arranged with the hotel for a car and driver to take us to Pokhara. This all went to plan and was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. The hotel is situated in a relatively quiet street in Thamel. The rooms are very clean. A bad things was that the sink from the bathroom was broken, which was probably the reason we had some cockroaches in the bathroom

The staff is very friendly and helpful which makes you feel welcome.

We had a noisy room. This was not because of the street sounds but because we had windows which faced a small open space surrounded by appartments

Overal a good (priced) hotel in Thamel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoedje89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the hotel 3 different times for a total of 7 nights during our trip in Nepal. The staff was really helpful and this made us come back each time.

Rooms are basic, small but clean with a small balcony. We had a room with a shared toilet/shower that was cleaned each day. The rate is including towels and a fare share of breakfast sets to choose from. Breakfast is for Nepali standards pretty good if you like eggs and toasts. Another plus is that you can leave your luggage for free when you are going to trek for example.

The hotel is in the middle of Thamel between two bars with live music. We didn't think the live music was annoying but I can wonder that if you are looking for a quiet place to stay you don't want to be in Thamel at all. The plus side of being in the middle of Thamel is that in less then two minutes you are at Mandala Street, five minutes to the Garden of Dreams and within ten/fifteen minutes on Durbar Square.

The hotel facilitates a booking office also that I can advise you if you want to plan a trek, day trip of something else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSjuhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

All the Nepal hospitality comes together. Friendly place, good breakfast and some good information about trekking. The 'inhouse' travelagent is fairly priced as well and speaks good English.
Considered the price, it's a good place. Clean enough and basic.
The only downside is the live rockband bar next door and the semi techno / pop joint downstairs. The combination is a cacophony of music, bass and drunken backpackers. If you are an early bird trying to sleep before midnight this is not the place to sleep. If you like the of Thamel and some beers next door give it a try.

Room Tip: The noise is everywhere, maybe a bit less at the back and further upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooz_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#85 of 201 in Kathmandu
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Api
Hotel Api
#102 of 201 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepal Tara
Hotel Nepal Tara
#133 of 201 in Kathmandu
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shreesu
Hotel Shreesu
#69 of 201 in Kathmandu
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#83 of 201 in Kathmandu
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Potala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Potala

Property: Hotel Potala
Address: Thamal | PO Box 26182, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Potala 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Potala is a leading hotel in the heart of the Thamel neighborhood of Kathmandu.Run by a Nepali and Tibetan family, it is a perfect place for those who value time, convenience, and a safe place to stay. We've been in the hotel business since 1991 and know how to make our visitors feel like they are in our house rather than our hotel. We are close to many attractions in the city and provide a wide range of guest services and amenities. Our 27 rooms provide many lodging options, all with 24 hour a day hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Potala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing