We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Potala
Nearby Hotels
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
$300
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$282
$273
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$27
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Thamel(Kathmandu)
$38
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shree Tibet Family Guest House(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
$11
$9
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$73
$64
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
60
62
24
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
62
24
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterbudget optionlight sleepertravel agentprivate bathroomgreat location in thamelmountain flightthamel areaclean roomspatialarishiearplugsnoiseheartnepaltreklaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 169 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hotel Potala is VERY central. I got a single room without bathroom but with breakfast included for 600 Roupies, which is above market level in Thamel but ok because the location is excellent and the staff genuinely helpful. The breakfast was particularly good.
Drawbacks: gets loud in the evening (DO NOT take a room with window on the street) especially on the nights when live bands play in the bars around, common toilet dirty and with little friends with antennas coming out at night...
Advantages: great breakfast, roof top, location, common shower clean.
I saw that the rooms with bathrooms don't have a cleaner toilet, it's only the comfort of not sharing it with others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zuly1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hotel Potala isn't the Ritz, but for a weary traveller it's comforting. A standard room with en suite costs $12 a night and for that you get a hot shower, clean sheets, a tidy room, good healthy breakfast selection which won't upset your stomach and very friendly service! The Hotel staff are happy to help whether it's with sightseeing options, directions, laundry or letting you use the phone. It is the centre of Thamel, and you feel safe being there. If you want a cheery simple place to stay I would recommend Hotel Potal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahE-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed 8 days here while in Thamel, and it was a really cool experience. I met some awesome ppl while at potala. Hotel Potala is located right in the city, so if your looking for a quiet place, this probably wont be the right choice. The music is on till 11pm, there's a massive bar next door, and the rooms are cold in the winter. That having said, for the price, i was more than content, i wore thermals and was given an extra blanket. I ate breakfast every morning at the hotel, i loved the food, it was cheap. Bishnu is a great guy, he organized my tickets to lumbini and came through when i almost missed my bus! Check out their in house travel agency, the prices are very competitive!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grasshopper67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Incredible location if you want to be right in the heart of Thamel. Thamel is the perfect place for backpackers in Kathmandu as it has everything we need (and plenty we could do without). However, with this central location comes the major downside - the noise! The hotel is literally surrounded by bars and niteclubs, with loud latin music coming from one side, loud english-language covers-bands from the other, and a noisy club on the floor below in the same building. Earplugs are needed if you plan on going to sleep before 11pm - after that there isn't too much of a problem as the 11pm curfew sees to the noise.

The hotel staff are incredibly friiendly - amongst the most friendly i've ever encountered. And the in-house travel services are pretty good without being too pushy. I thought the room was good value at first ($13US shared bathroom) but then I found much cheaper rooms available elsewhere in quieter locations (but still good locations). However, we did have breakfast included in the room price and it was a very good hearty breakfast ( there was a decent selection to choose from each morning). Overall a good stay of 4 nights but I would stay somewhere quieter next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iammmattdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Hotel Potala I found as a real "value for money". Very friendly and HELPFUL staff, reasonable quality of rooms { comparing with Nepal standart :-) } In case I would come to Kathmandu in the future, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milos_homolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews