We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeti Tracks Identified At this Bar”
Review of The Rum Doodle

The Rum Doodle
Ranked #148 of 762 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Nepali, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Begun in 1979, the Rum Doodle is based on the book, The Ascent of Rum Doodle by W.E Bowman. It is a homage to the traveler/ adventurer inside everyone of us.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Yeti Tracks Identified At this Bar”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We enjoyed a great evening at the Rum Doodle, in Thamel. This bar and restaurant is a legend and worth spending an evening in when you visit Kathmandu next. We enjoyed it so much we returned for a second meal. The food was OK and catered for a range of tastes. The drinks were reasonable.
Throughout the bar and even leading up to it are a flock of Yeti prints, each with its own message. You could say that the walls and ceiling of the Rum Doodle hold a thousand and one stories.
I am not sure about the number, but I am sure that you could spend that many hours reading the tales on the footprints of the Yeti.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whowesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    79
    53
    22
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent end to my trip!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I went here on my last night in Nepal. The food & drink was fantastic. It was nice to leave my mark on the foot you can write on and then it is put on the walls, it was nice to find a Welsh flag hung up there. It was nice reading about other people's experience in Nepal as well. There was a really happy atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gwenllian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place in Kathmandu”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Rum Doodle is in the Thamel area of Kathmandu. THE place for a snack or a steak in the midst of the tourist area. We sat out in the roof top area covered with 'footprints' of those that had been to the the Himalayas. Saw Ed Hilary & Chris Bonnington's contributions Bit hard to locate , but well worth the effort. Good PR man at the door.....spent time in UK

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yhtims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

They had a delicious pizza here and seemed that everyone in our group enjoyed their meals. There is little ambiance to be honest. It is a good restaraunt for trekking groups to visit on their return and reminisce over their experiences and there are footprints all over the walls which anyone can add to and artistically make there mark. The price is a bit harsh in relation to similar dining areas in Thamel.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benny_Walkling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best bar in katmandu”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

hi eveyone,

Was in nepal 2 months ago and this place stands out from the crowd as the best bar in katmandu. The food is really good and well priced, the beers are cold and the staff are lovely. The host dhiraj is an amazing guy who made us feel at home and even took us out to see the local music scene. Definately worth a vist.

Ben

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bengregson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rum Doodle also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to The Rum Doodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing