We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful owner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Khangsar Guest House
Ranked #10 of 432 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Helpful owner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Raj has been very helpful and accommodating. I suggest you change currency with him since he gives very very good rates, compared to the local money changer and to the airport bank. The hotel is also situated right in the middle of Thamel, where you can find the most unique souvenirs (from fossils, Tibetan jewelry, loose stones such as rubies, peridots, quartz, topaz, turquoise, among others, kashmere wool, and other curios). Raj will help you with any concern you have. If you visit Nepal on a budget, go to this hotel. Airport pickup is also available.Breakfast is also available in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesY965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    114
    36
    18
    13
See reviews for
18
93
150
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Khangsar Guesthouse is conveniently located in Thamel - not too close to, yet not too far from the busy shopping streets.

The top floor corner room where we stayed in was comfortable and has a good view of the horizon.

What makes Khangsar more special is the very friendly and helpful staff like Yadou and Prati, and of course the owner himself, Raj.

Raj helped us in organizing our 10-day itinerary tailored to our preferences. We had an amazing Gorepani-Poon Hill trek experience (Jivan is a great guide!), an aptly relaxing break in Pokhara and the unforgettable Chitwan National Park safari finale. Raj ensured that the trip went well, and all of these for a very reasonable price.

We explored Bhaktapur and visited the Boudhanath in Kathmandu on our own afterwards.

As Raj puts it, everything is possible [in Nepal]. We even got our extra rupees from him at the best rate possible in the area.

Raj et al, see you soon!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eybimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Every time I'm in Kathmandu I stay at Khangsar. It's exactly what I need from a budget sleep plus more! You might know about the load-shedding in Nepal, well the arrangement for me to work with my laptop is perfect, 24 wifi and quiet a comfortable restaurant to work with my laptop in the evening when needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danxyeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in KTM and saw that this place had good reviews so we thought that when they offered us a twin on the third floor for 1200NPR we would stay there. We went in and dumped our bags and went out into the Thamel to explore. Came back in the evening and switched the light on and found bed bugs everywhere! All in the sheets and the curtains. Also my bed had a dead bee in. On further inspection all of the skirting board was damaged from bugs! We went and spoke to the guy downstairs who was incredibly quick and polite and moved us along a couple of rooms to a much bigger twin. We were happy with this and woke up the following morning a bit itchy, thought it was from the old room and went out. Came back in the evening and again found a lot of bed bugs in the room. Not impressed at all. Had to stick in the guest house for that night as it was too late too move. Checked out a day early the following morning covered in itchy red bites. However I can merit the staff and the manager on their brilliant response to it all and their apology! This place is cheap and good with nice service and a central location. However! The bugs ruined it!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed here in december 2013 just after i arrived in Nepal. The location which is at the heart of tamel is really good. The staff is really friendly. AirPort pick-up was very convenient, the driver was very helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I chose Khangsar GH from website strictly based on the ratings. Had never been to Nepal, knew KTM is chaotic city, and didn't want to take too many chances on arrangements. With 3 nights they provided airport transfer. Excellent. Great location in Thamel district, with all the hustle and bustle and shopping and eating and drinking and rickshaws and traffic and horns and music and incense in every direction. Loved it. Sensory overload. Bedding and room clean, the water is foul but that's KTM, not the hotel's fault. The guys at reception always smiling, helpful, friendly, helped me with directions, phone calls, everything. Great place for backpackers. Less so for 59-yr-old businessman like myself. Stay there again? If budget required it, yes.

Room Tip: upper floors have more light, are farther from the street, but there's no lift. how much luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Good comfy bed compared to others in Kathmandu. We originally booked 3 nights and had to change dates twice at the last minute and there was no issue. When we turned up unannounced and they had no rooms they even set us up in another guest house.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Clinton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#1 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#42 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khangsar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khangsar Guest House

Property: Khangsar Guest House
Address: PO Box 20976, Thamel | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 25451, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khangsar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Thamel in a quiet area, rooftop garden restaurant, 24 hr hot & cold showers, friendly staff. You will find good hospitality and accommodation at a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Khangsar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khangsar Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing