We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khangsar guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Khangsar Guest House
Ranked #11 of 452 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

friendly and excellent service found in Khangsar guest house, very centric location. The breakfast is very good as well. I don't have nothing but positive things to say about my stay in this hostel. The staff is helpful and useful. We feel home there. Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time.

Room Tip: get high rating
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phuonghienng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Khangsar Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 523 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Again I started at Khangsar.
Love being there every time I am in Kathmandu.
I always feel welcome, the staff is very friendly and helpful.
If you need to go anywhere within Nepal, or intenationally, Raj is always there to help to do the best for you.
Defenitely going back.

Room Tip: Book in time
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mk2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good location for walk to anywhere to shopping in Thamel.
Good location for found many type of restuarant such as Thai food , Japanese food , Italian food , Chinese food etc., So yummy
Good location for walk to Superstore makes us so easily to buy anythings, You know? just about 10 minute to walk to Hanuman Dubar square.
Good service mind also helpful for us who was the first time in Nepal.
Important!!! We got a good prices for all of accommodation and tour package as makes us not over a budget.
Thank you very much for all of good you gave us. ^^

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank besusan009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's located in the center of Thamel. it takes around 10 mins to Dubar square and not too far from the bus station to Pokhra. The staff are nice and helpful .If you want any information about trekking in Nepal or want them to set the package tour for you in reasonable price ,it' s provided.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oradee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Khangsar is a basic hotel in Thamel, Kathmandu. My room was fine on the 4th floor. Mind you it is all worn down, but with a great lobby internet connection and its location is strategic, if staying in Thamel. If you are not used to basic accommodation, you may want to stay elsewhere paying double or triple.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajeroSolitario1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The water in the bathroom was brown, the sheets were dirty and the room was quite small for the price we paid in comparison to other guest houses we have been in Kathmandou. Moreover, the owner was not really nice and he always tried to sell us the most expensive options.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Johann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I choosed to stay here due to nice comments about nice and friendly enviroment. The guest house location is very central , yes there is similing service but rooms are not clean, running water is brown. Manager can arranged everything you would like however in my case;
1-) I was asked to pay double in USD for the trip to Bhaktapur compared to travel agent which was at downstair
2-) when you need taxi for airport, a kind of private car comes and you end up paying 50% more.
So be careful with smile and all advertise chairty work in guest house , there is a bit fake and cheating part of it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Bengikoksaloglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 207 in Kathmandu
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#38 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 207 in Kathmandu
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 207 in Kathmandu
543 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#22 of 207 in Kathmandu
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khangsar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khangsar Guest House

Address: PO Box 20976, Thamel | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 25451, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 452 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $13 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khangsar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Thamel in a quiet area, rooftop garden restaurant, 24 hr hot & cold showers, friendly staff. You will find good hospitality and accommodation at a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Khangsar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khangsar Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing