We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Khangsar Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Khangsar Guest House
Ranked #11 of 442 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
århus, denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thank you Khangsar Guest House”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I can recommend Khangsar Guest House in the heart of Thamel - very nice and helpfull staff - wonderfull roof-garden and fine room with hot shower :-)
See you again in september 2011

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kar0line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    115
    38
    21
    16
See reviews for
18
97
158
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I booked Khangsar Guest House with Hostelworld.com. I am an experienced traveler and I have to say there is only one thing that is important to me wherever I go: trust. Can I have faith in the staff and management? I comfortably placed a high amount of trust with the staff at Khangsar. Their attitude and generosity was simply overwhelming. A beautiful reflection of the local culture. Plus, competitive pricing. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DrewUSA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guesthousekathmandu, Public Relations Manager at Khangsar Guest House, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Hello Drew! Thank you so much for your few lines about us in tripadvisor. Appericiate very much and hoping to see you next time in my country!
Manager !
Rajendra Bhatta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merzouga, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I stayed in Khagsar for almost 2 weeks, so I really got to know the staff and the location. Yes, the rooms could use a little update, but for a budget hotel, this is usually the case. The location is prime, quietest street in Thamel area. Two great & super affordable restaurants really close. I used the office phone for local calls a bunch, free wifi in my room, & the rooftop has great views. My room was apparently the loudest in the hotel, but it didn't bother me, I had a great vantage point for watching street life. I booked bus tickets, rafting, taxi's, anything right in the hotel, Raj was very helpful, he even helped me sell my bicycle. If your looking for simple and cheap, this place is a great choice.

Room Tip: Free wifi is in the front of the hotel, ask for a view, its not that loud in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank themissinglinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tantra2011, General Manager at Khangsar Guest House, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to review. We will soon be updating our guest rooms and provide more good services in coming days. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon again!
Kind Regards,
Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

very friendly and helpful staff, who also offered us additional services in a very reasonable price (i.e. exchange of money and tickets to lukla), also positive is very good location of the house, free airport pick up and luggage room. But rooms looked very old and dirty, with a number of black beetles.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia_P_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tantra2011, Front Office Manager at Khangsar Guest House, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback, Its a great suggestion for me to improve my place and sorry if you have seen blackbeatels, we have alreday sort out this problem,
Khangsar Guest House
Front Office Manager!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I took a room in this guest house as it was advised by some well known guides, but it was a terrible experience. The room was so dirty that I even saw bugs under my bed!
Service and food was OK, but for the same price in Thamel, even in the same street, there are much cleaner places.
I just stayed one night, did not want to stay any other.
Enrique

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are best, but always check 1st!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank endika_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Glad I chose khangsar after looking at the others in the guide book. Location is really good. Quiet street but only a couple blocks to the heart of Thamel.
Everyone from the top down is fantastically helpful and friendly.

Terrific for the value conscience person.

After a long journey there it was such a relief to have them there to meet you at the airport.

I write this review on the 4th floor balcony with the free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Eastsidevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I’ve been in Nepal with my friends for 2 weeks on December 2010. I went there for trekking and culture travel. At first we had an idea to go there like a real backpacker such as walk-in for hotel, make a permit, call a taxi, buy domestic plane ticket. we started to find all details and approximate budget. We knew Khangsar from webbord and guide book in Thailand, so we contacted them and told them our plans what we want to do, place we want to visit. They offered us a package include everything. It’s good price and not over our budget, so we agreed to use their service. We felt very happy that decided to used their service. It’s very comfortable, save money and safe to travel there.
Khangsar’s located near Thamel. It’s perfect location because of this area is peace, quite, only 15 minutes walk to Kathmandu Dubar Squre, and not terrible traffic like center of Thamel. Room was cleaned very well. They sent staff to picked us up at the airport with nice car and be a private car for our group to travel everywhere. Their staffs are friendly. They’ve professional potters that took care us very well when we’ve been trekking.

We would like to say thank you them that managed everything very well. We’ve had nice experience and good memorial to travel there.

P.S. they gave us special exchange rate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JaruAun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 203 in Kathmandu
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 203 in Kathmandu
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 203 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 203 in Kathmandu
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khangsar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khangsar Guest House

Property: Khangsar Guest House
Address: PO Box 20976, Thamel | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 25451, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khangsar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Thamel in a quiet area, rooftop garden restaurant, 24 hr hot & cold showers, friendly staff. You will find good hospitality and accommodation at a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Khangsar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khangsar Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing