We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hats off to Elbrus!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elbrus Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elbrus Home
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hats off to Elbrus!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at Elbrus before (5 days in May) and after (3 days in June) my hiking trek and had a wonderful experience. Khem and Ali did everything they could to make my stay comfortable and headache free. The rooms are simple, but tidy and comfortable. If you need help arranging anything: taxi, travel, touring... Khem will make it happen in a heartbeat.

The staff will make sure to get your day started off right with a hearty cooked to order breakfast, which is included in the rate. The chai is excellent. Wifi is free and works wonderfully. Laundry service is available for a minimal fee.

If you're looking for a place with great service, clean rooms at a reasonable price, Elbrus home is a winner!

Room Tip: Roadside rooms can be a bit loud. Request a room not facing the main road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    65
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
7
125
84
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here both before and after trekking the Annapurna Circuit. Coming back to the Elbrus after the trek was like coming home. Khem is the man who runs the show and he runs it well. Beds are good, breakfast is tasty and included, sheets are clean, showers are hot and have great water pressure, and the garden is such a nice respite from the insanity of Kathmandu/Thamel. It's a block or two north of Thamel but that's no big deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked our stay at Elbrus before we arrived in Kathmandu. It's a great place and has a great atmosphere. Khem, Ali and the rest of the team are great hosts and were keen to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are comfortable and there is a choice of adjoining bathrooms and twin, double or triple rooms. There are plenty of other travelers here and it seems to attract a good friendly crowd.

It is worth noting that when you consider that Elbrus Home provides breakfast, tea and coffee and water re-fills throughout the day the guest house compares very favorably with other guest houses in Thamel.

Without a doubt, Elbrus Home will be my first choice when returning to Nepal whether as a couple, single traveler or in a group.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smallg0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Elbrus Home for just over 3 weeks (on and off) during our time in Nepal. Initially we booked online from Australia but once arriving in Kathmandu it became very apparent to us what a great little hostel this was so we continued coming back to it after side trips out to other parts of Nepal. We stayed in 3 different rooms while there (twin with private bathroom, twin with shared bathroom and double with shared bathroom). We found all rooms to be quite spacious, clean and well equipped to cover the regular power outages - with a back up generator to power the lights and most importantly the fan! And yes really, a 24 hours hot shower does exist here in Nepal! One of the best features of the hostel is the fantastic landscaped garden and multi level balconies from which you can relax, get away from the hustle of the Kathmandu streets and have a really decent breakfast (included in price) in the mornings. We really enjoyed the location of the hostel, which is located a short walk north of the main tourist suburb Thamel. We also found the property, rooms and luggage storage to be very secure and we were able to leave significant amounts of luggage for weeks while we were trekking in the Himalayas. The level of service we were given by Khem (manager) and all of his staff at Elbrus home makes this one of the best places we have stayed at in Nepal and I highly recommend it for anyone staying in Kathmandu for short or long stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megatronic178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I highly recommed Elbrus to everyone, who is looking for a place to stay in Kathmandu. It is definitely better and more relaxed than some more expensive hostels in Thamel.
Khem is an amazing host, always making sure all the guests are happy. The rooms are clean, bright, with fan, attached bathroom with hot shower, sink and toilet paper. Drinking water is supplied in tanks just in the corridor, so you can always fill in your water bottle. The choice of breakfast is really wide and everything tastes delicious (eggs any way you want, porridge, toast with butter, honey, jam, fresh juice, tea, coffee, bananas). The little garden is very colourful and simply lovely to sit around. Very comfortable sitting room is equipped with a huge selection of books in many languages, computer and very fast wi-fi (working even when there's a power cut in the city). You can also arrange laundry, free pick up from the airport, many tours and attractions as well as luggage storage when you're going away for few days. The place is always busy with nice travellers you can have a great chat with.
Kham has also recommended us a place to stay run by his family in Pokhara - Annapurna Guest House. It was equally great!
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Elbrus Home is good value for money, it's a great choice if you wish to stay in or near Thamel. (which is quite noisy, but I guess this is usual in this part of Kathmandu). The rooms are a bit small for a couple, but the atmosphere is very nice and the garden is excellent! The only thing we missed was a wardrobe. However, we solved the problem with boxes - the owner was very kind. They serve delicious breakfast, tea and coffee and filtered water is available. The internet connection is OK, but it is certainly better in the garden. Hot water is also available, we had no problems throughout our stay. We stayed for 8 nights and had very good service and even suggestions and help for sightseeing in Kathmandu.
The place is close to restaurants and tourist amenities in Thamel. If you wish to try local and reliable kitchen, I could recommend New Hilton Fast Food, a tiny and certainly interesting(!) place just across the street. It looks not Western from upfront :), but the service is excellent and the food is very good!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabanan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is good, right on the edge of Thamel, an easy walk into the old streets. Elbrus Home is clean and well appointed, and everything works. Not sure what some people expect at this price, but I found it very, very good.
But the best thing about Elbrus Home is Khem the operator/manager. He defines great service, and given a chance, he will make sure you have everything you need and want. He's full on, he talks fast and he moves fast, and he will take very good care of you, if you let him :)
Quick story... My hired motorbike, a heavy old Royal Enfield 500cc, had a problem late at night, in Durbar Square, so Khem came to rescue me. He pushed the heavy bike back to the hotel, that's about 1/2hr of hard work, no matter what I did, he wouldn't let me push it, for even a little while, and honestly, I was jogging behind to keep up with him. This is service above and beyond the call... And in every other way too, Khem took really good care of us, always keen, always ready to help. I will definitely go back to Khem and Elbrus Home next time I'm in Kathmandu :)
It's a good hotel, in a good location, with a truly great manager/operator, who will take care of absolutely anything you need, show a bit of trust, let him take care of you. Elbrus is a clean, safe, friendly, and comfortable place to be in Kathmandu. I highly recommend Elbrus Hotel for your first few days in that crazy city ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norm-greenworldbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Famous House Kathmandu Youth Hostel
0.2 mi away
Andes House
Andes House
#1 of 116 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Fireflies
Hostel Fireflies
#8 of 116 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bag Packer's Lodge
Bag Packer's Lodge
#5 of 116 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elbrus Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbrus Home

Property: Elbrus Home
Address: Thamel | Golkopacka, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbrus Home, formerly known as Kathmandu Tourist Bungalow, was established in 2003. The hostel lies in the hub of the tourist center Thamel. It is located nearby several supermarkets, bus stations, travel and trekking agencies, restaurants and bars, bookshops, and internet cafes. In addition, most embassies are easily accessible from the guesthouse. Rooms offer twin size and king size beds, a television, hot shower, and western style toilets. Guests can enjoy mountain top views from the rooftop terrace, while enjoying a refreshing meal from the restaurant. Staff is on service 24 hours a day and can help guests book sightseeing tours, safari and rafting trips, trekking, and mountaineering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elbrus Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbrus Home Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing