We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special!”
Review of Elbrus Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elbrus Home
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubuski, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing special!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Well I stayed there for a few days >
Positive : Good breakfast, most of the time helpfull staff, nice terrace, OK rooms.
Negative : 2 locked doors before 11 AM and as someone said you have to find a security guy to unlock it to reach the 4th floor, price is not so budget as you can find SAME quality accomodation less then 100m towards Thamel for HALF price (no breakfast but you can get it for 150RPS anywhere). Owner constantly trying to sell me bus and plane tickets at HIGHER price although i told him i had a cheaper offer!!??

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slobodan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    68
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
8
132
89
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Rooms were very, clean,very nice, and the hot showers are a nice treat after mucking around the streets of Kathmandu. The location is perfect, just on the edge of Thamel, central enough to walk anywhere, but away from the noise and crowd of the busy streets. Khem always made sure we were taken care of whenever we returned to the capital in between treks. Very convenient to have a reliable "home base" waiting for us in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattrieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived from Tibet at Elbrus Home we got a warm and friendly welcome, free tee or coffee as much as we wanted and lots of information about Nepal and what to do & what to see. You are also able to book everything via Khem, he is a well connacted man :-). The three guys working for him have been always helpful and smiling. Also a character there is the white spitz. Definately a plus is the roof top where you get the impression to be farer away of Thamels loud and busy streets. Free WiFi, free water, loundry service and lovely cooked breakfast made us stay longer than expected. You always get new towels if you ask for and all in total is Khem and the stuff able to make it an easy and enjoyable journey for you.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3hallo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed at Elbrus Home twice (before and after our trek), and highly recommend it to fellow travelers in Kathmandu. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Khem, the owner, was very helpful in putting us in touch with a reputable agency to arrange our trek to Everest Base Camp (guide, flight, permits). We had a great guide and the trek will probably be remembered as our top highlight in our year long travels. In addition to the friendly staff, the rooms are very comfortable, spacious,airy and bright. The nice hot shower was especially appreciated when coming back after our trek! Other great touches include free water (bottled), free wifi and internet, free baggage storage, yummy breakfast included, wonderful roof patio, and nice quiet location a minute away from all the action in Thamel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonironi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebino, Japan
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Despite a several hour flight delay (china southern), Elbrus home staff was ready and waiting for me at the airport at 1am. The location couldn`t be much more ideal. It's seconds from the heart of Thamel, without being amidst the noise and traffic. The is super friendly and incredibly helpful with city and airport tips (great english as well). A solid, tastie breakfast of juice, coffee, toast, eggs, and fruit oatmeal was included in my well-spent $10 and the staff immediately turned my double room into a triple when my friend decided to tag alone at the last minute. Thanks for a great stay! Made my time in Kathmandu really enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The hostel is on the 4th floor in Thamel and has an outdoor area which seemed to fit the bill for our budget traveler needs ($10 per night). On arrival we tried to check in with the online booking we had made (and paid a deposit) but there was no records of this. Luckily there was a room free which was a double en-suite as we had booked. As expected a little tatty round the edges but that is fine for a budget room. We got very badly bitten by mosquitoes as we didn't have a net, and hot as they do not have a generator in place for when the power is restricted so the fan didn't work and with wifi was down. This, together with the loud bar playing music until midnight didn't result in a great nights sleep. Also worth noting the gates to the road and the grills to the building do shut at night and we needed to find a security man to open for us. Having said that it is a great location and they do a nice breakfast!

Room Tip: I would recommend checking there is a backup generator as Thamel Kathmandu has power restrictions da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_HLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The guy who runs this place is nuts. We made a reservation and were told we had a room. When we turned up he said they were full and sent us over the road to a place that was half the price, dirty and had run out of water. Then he tried to charge us the full price for his place.
When we explained why we weren't willing to pay, he started screaming at us and called us dishonest. Then he went around to other guests and told us how much he liked them and how they were nice people but we were untrustworthy. Then the next minute he was back touching us in appropriately and yelling that we're all good and everything's fine.
Stay away from this place! You can get nicer rooms with friendly staff for a much better price and in a better location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BecEnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#12 of 202 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Famous House Kathmandu Youth Hostel
0.3 mi away
Hostel Fireflies
Hostel Fireflies
#9 of 139 in Kathmandu
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Andes House
Andes House
#2 of 139 in Kathmandu
217 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
0.6 mi away
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elbrus Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbrus Home

Property: Elbrus Home
Address: Thamel | Golkopacka, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbrus Home, formerly known as Kathmandu Tourist Bungalow, was established in 2003. The hostel lies in the hub of the tourist center Thamel. It is located nearby several supermarkets, bus stations, travel and trekking agencies, restaurants and bars, bookshops, and internet cafes. In addition, most embassies are easily accessible from the guesthouse. Rooms offer twin size and king size beds, a television, hot shower, and western style toilets. Guests can enjoy mountain top views from the rooftop terrace, while enjoying a refreshing meal from the restaurant. Staff is on service 24 hours a day and can help guests book sightseeing tours, safari and rafting trips, trekking, and mountaineering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Elbrus Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbrus Home Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing