We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel for budget travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Ranked #44 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My brother and me stayed here for 5 nights. Liked this hotel because of the behaviour of the staff especially Mr. Surendra (the hotel manager), the room and toilets being satisfactorily clean and especially for its location i.e right in the heart of Thamel (tourist haven in Kathmandu) and most importantly the price.

Though the view wasn't that great in the room we stayed, it really wasn't idea of booking in this budget hotel. After all, we never really intended to stay in the room except for sleeping and securing all our stuff. :)

So if you are looking for a budget hotel that will deliver decent lodging, hot water, cable tv, wi-fi etc. Shree Tibet is the place. Should you require further assistance you can reach Mr. Surendra, the hotel manager on email shreetibet@gmail.com

Hope you find this review helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the back if you need some peace of mind. If you enjoy the noise and wild honkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surendra L, Manager at Shree Tibet Family Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Our Valuable Guest!
Thank you so much for your nice review on tripadvisor.com, It will be really help full your review, people who are looking for Shree Tibet Family Guest House.You are right, people who stay in the lower flower they can not see the view dew to the next building, Our guest house is a budget, we don't have that much facilities like 5 star hotel,Anyway, thank you so much for your great review and hope will see you soon our guest hosue.

Have a wonder full time always, Shree Tibet Family guest House!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 414 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is located in heart of the Thamel. I stayed in Kathmandu one night for shopping only before leaving Nepal. This budget hotel is a good choice because you can easily reach many many shopping stores on the street from here. The staff there are very friendly as well as helpful. I lost my cell phone charger in my last day and ran out of all the battery of my phone. They took me to one place offering one hour charging service. Also when afternoon rain comes, they offer me free tea there (which I already checked out). I was happy with those staff there. Location is a plus too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudyChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surendra L, Manager at Shree Tibet Family Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Judy!
Greetings and warm regarding from Shree Tibet Family Guest House family. We all hotel staff are very glad to read your great review. Thank you so much you like our guest house so much, It's our duty to provide hospatilyties to our clints.We hope, we will see you again here in our guest house.
Thanking you so much for your greta review again.
Surendra Lamichhane, hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Quiet location in the heart of Thamel, friendly staff, clean bedding but the room was a bit dark with a worn carpet. The bathroom would need some refreshment (despite the fact that we had hot water almost anytime). A bit expensive for what it is, we have paid around 15 USD with tax but no breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebetlolo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surendra L, Manager at Shree Tibet Family Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Sir!
Thank you so much for your review at Shree Tibet family Guest House! I hope your review will be help full for other people who are making a trip to stay at our guest house. I would like to inform you that, now we totally changed all the carpet in the room and renovation bath room as well. We make parakeet in the room and coloring too. Plz. make a next holydays at our guest hosue again and i am sure that, i will make you good service what i have.

Thank you so much and always have a wonder full time.

Surendra Lamichhane hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, 2 nights before we depart to Pokhara and 1 night after we came back from Pokhara. I like this hotel because of the location, situated in the heart of Thamel, the famous tourist shopping area, everything within our reach. I stayed in a room at 4th floor, the room especially the carpet and bathroom not so clean, outside view only the roof top of other buildings. When i stayed in a room at 2nd floor, no outside view because too close with other buildings. But we are happy stay at this hotel because Mr Surendra the hotel manager and also his staffs are very friendly, very helpful, always smile.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soriah298570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surendra L, Owner at Shree Tibet Family Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest!
Thank you so much for your review about our guest house. It was my pleasure to give you good service when you was in my guest house, but i am so sorry to know that room and bath room was not much clean, I would like to inform you that now i totally changed al carpet and bath room, I just coloring in the room and making a all parqueting in the room. If you have a any chance to come to Nepal in the future plz. don't forget to come to my guest house.
Thanks again and have a good time always.
Surendra Lamichhane and shree Tibet family Guest House Family!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very family atmosphere. Surendra menager guest house is very helpful and very nice, remaining staff also. Warm water, very clean rooms, clean bedding. I recommend warmly, there I will be coming back a lot times.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ewelinaewelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surendra L, Manager at Shree Tibet Family Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest!
Warm Greetings from Shree Tibet family Guest House!
Thank you so much for your good feed back obout our guest house.
Thanks alot you like our guest house and hepe to see you soon
Have a great days always
Surendra and team of Shree Tibet family Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for over a week in total during our time in Nepal. The location is great, in Thamel, but on a bit of a side road - which meant it did not suffer the din of places on the main streets (of course it is still good to get a room higher and towards the back for more quiet).
The staff were friendly and were willing to find a taxi when you needed one.
The rooms were nothing spectacular, but they were decently clean, and there was pretty reliable hot water and wifi which was nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surendra L, Manager at Shree Tibet Family Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Namaste Dear Guest!
We are so much happy to know that your stay at our guest house was exclent and you like our service and everything. Now i changed so many things inside the room and it is more nicer than before, so plz. make a plan to stay at our guest house again in the future.
Many thnkas and have a great times always
Surendra lamichhane
Manager
Shree Tibet family Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here one night and that was enough for me, I can't say the staff was very friendly and the room wasn't that good. It was noisy the whole night with people hanging around, making fire and screaming just under my window.
There are better and little cheaper guesthouses in Thamel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miriam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#54 of 207 in Kathmandu
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#48 of 207 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 207 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Friendly Home
Kathmandu Friendly Home
#110 of 207 in Kathmandu
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#106 of 207 in Kathmandu
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shree Tibet Family Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Tibet Family Guest House

Address: 133 Thamel Bhagwati Marg | P.O.Box: 9299, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shree Tibet Family Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Tibetan Family run hotel founded in 1992. We are proud that for the last 15 years we have made our guest always feel at home with our warm friendly Tibetan and Nepali hospitality. We are always ready to assist you and answer your every inquiry from meditation classes to rafting and trekking adventures. We are located at a quiet nook in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal, a spot where you find exquisite taste of food, the colorful handicrafts shops and just about everything all in a few minutes walk from us. Get a perspective view of the natural beauty of surrounding Kathmandu Valley from our exotic roof top garden. The rooms are tastefully decorated at reasonable prices. Here you will always find the best of Tibetan and Nepali hospitality and we assure you of a peaceful night sleep. Recommended by major guide books such as Lonely Planet and Guide du Routard for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shree Tibet Family Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing