We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Ranked #44 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Kaslo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

this guest house is great the steff are very helpful. they have painted the place and the rooms are clean i stayed for 3 weeks while doing business ill be back they are kind and considerate, if you need ti book this or that they will help, i had pick up at the airport and shared a ride going back to the airport.... its all good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    94
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
21
62
154
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

It is a great place to stay for not much money, after 2weeks in India we were surprise how clean and lovely it was! Staff is helpful and friendly and location is good too, if you like shopping go there:)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

After perusing the reviews of many accommodations I chose Shree Tibet Family Guest House. I was not disappointed! Excellent communication; emails to arrange for airport pick led to reserving a bus to Pokhara and all went very smoothly due to Surendra's very good English and attention to detail. Surendra and his front desk staff are very kind, helpful, gracious and so genuine. We were there during the Teej festival and they encouraged us to walk to Durbar square to experience some of the excitement, great advice! We found the beds firm and comfortable, I found the pillow too firm but had my travel pillow; my daughter liked the firm pillow.
Internet was adequate for checking emails but if you need more there is a recessed internet 'cafe' 2 doors to the left as you leave the guest house. Friendly and helpful there too.

It was our first experience in Nepal and the genuine hospitality Surendra and his staff showed us helped to make us feel less like tourists and more like friends. Sincere thanks!

Room Tip: Room 405 is a corner room so it has more windows, is bright and has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here in mid-June this year and was pleased to know that this was one of the cheapest accommodations around at USD5 per person per night. Mr Surendra was very helpful in arranging our transport from airport, to Nagarkot as well as to Pokhara. He also helped to do currency exchange, for which he provides really good exchange rates!

The rooms are simple and for USD5 decent enough for me. Do remember to request for fans as they don't have a built in one. However during the regular power cuts, only some lights will work but not the fan. Showers were on-off hot/cold but Mr Surendra promised to look into this.

The people working there are nice and friendly. Mr Deepak does the transport, Mr Ganesh does the reception and the bellboy, all of whom are in their early 20s and speak pretty good English!

Overall, for USD5 it is a good stay if you dont have overly high expectations. I'd come back here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deshawn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week with our three kids. The rooftop garden was were we sat and had a cold beer in the afternoons as we listened to the sounds of the city. The service was excellent and extremely friendly and hospitable ... We all miss this hotel and the people who run it. Very relaxed, comfortable and a great location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bkk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My first visit to Nepal. I stay 2 nits in Shree Tibet. Very clean and nice staff who they gave me for many information in Thamel. Also location is in the center of Thamel very convenience to go shopping in the night.
RECOMMEND!!

Room Tip: Conner room can see nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

I really recommend to stay the night in Shree Tibet Family Guest House - if your budget is not that big, but still you want to enjoy a great service and an helpful staff, this is a good place for your staying.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 202 in Kathmandu
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 202 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#85 of 202 in Kathmandu
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#117 of 202 in Kathmandu
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#55 of 202 in Kathmandu
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shree Tibet Family Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Tibet Family Guest House

Property: Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Address: 133 Thamel Bhagwati Marg | P.O.Box: 9299, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shree Tibet Family Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Tibetan Family run hotel founded in 1992. We are proud that for the last 15 years we have made our guest always feel at home with our warm friendly Tibetan and Nepali hospitality. We are always ready to assist you and answer your every inquiry from meditation classes to rafting and trekking adventures. We are located at a quiet nook in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal, a spot where you find exquisite taste of food, the colorful handicrafts shops and just about everything all in a few minutes walk from us. Get a perspective view of the natural beauty of surrounding Kathmandu Valley from our exotic roof top garden. The rooms are tastefully decorated at reasonable prices. Here you will always find the best of Tibetan and Nepali hospitality and we assure you of a peaceful night sleep. Recommended by major guide books such as Lonely Planet and Guide du Routard for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shree Tibet Family Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing