We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind people and quiet hotel in the heart of Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Ranked #44 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very kind people and quiet hotel in the heart of Thamel”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Right in the center of Kathmandu - Thamel. Quiet and peaceful hotel. Very kind people. Free internet in the entrance floor. Good price - I have paid only 450 rupees for a room with private shower and toilet.
Only one issue to remember - they close the hotel in relatively early hour (~23.00 or even before). Please be ready or coordinate your late return to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zafrir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    94
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
21
62
154
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel is located at the center of Thamel area, therefore it is very convenient for all. The staff is very kind and helpful. The room was clean for the price. There is a laptop to be able to use by free in a robby. It is very good for guest.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M-popeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I have spent 1 week at the Hotel Shree Tibet Hotel. The staff is obviously well led by management, and supports the legacy of Mr. Surendra in an honorable and upstanding way.

The internal grounds are beautiful, the rooms are great. The bed was comfortable, and the shower and bath pleasant.Hotels room are very cheap we cant believe .....its from $20 to $30. I found this hotel from this site. www.visitnepaltoday.com
it is good site for visitors.

Staff are very helpful and rarely being invasive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedrojr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel and I highly recommend it. I stayed here for several times and would return again if I have a chance. It is run by welcoming, friendly, helpful staff who care about hospitality. They will try to help you with any concerns or questions you have. They’ll greet you with a smile and ask how your day was.If you need some tour information,there is a travel manager Mr.surendra he always provide you anykinds of tour. Their sincere warmth made a big difference, especially since I was traveling alone. The hotel, at budget rates, also offers everything you really need: a generator, very hot showers, clean and sunny rooms, a room heater for the winter, a water dispenser with hot & cold drinking water, free wifi, laundry service, and a security guard. The generator is important: perhaps all hotels have generators, but not all hotels use it generously; basically, at Hotel shree Tibet you have electricity at all waking hours. The well-tended garden is beautiful and peaceful, as is the rooftop terrace with great city views. The restaurant serves delicious dishes all day. The location is very convenient - Thamel is just around the corner, Durbar Square is 20 minutes away, and it is a good stroll to Swayambhunath. I walked to Asan, Lazimpat, and a few times to Ratna Bus Park and Dilli Bazaar…but maybe that’s just me. Greetings and a big thank you to all the staff for providing me with a home away from home, I will remember my time there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AppleBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Everything is perfect in this hotel. The service of the employees, rooms, food i just loved my time being here. I can recommand this hotel to everybody!

Room Tip: Hotel shree tibet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marieke24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I went to Nepal in November with some friends. We spent 3-4 days at Hotel Shree Tibet, where we felt pretty much at home. The services were excellent around the clock and the people there particularly Mr.surendra (the manager) was amazingly nice, warm, and very service-minded. Moreoever, I found the location very convenient to go out for shopping and dining. I also decided to have him arrange for my groups a travel to Poonhill where it turned out to be a memorable trip assisted by a professional mountain guide and its management.Hotel Shree Tibet would certainly be my home for a next excursion to Kathmandu.If someone looking for nice stya in thamel plz, visit here.
Have a great day!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kuny_oop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Just in front of Hotel Vaishali & Bamboo restaurant, 5 story building hotel is very cozy & the staffs are very friendly. I stayed there 4 nights in June last week, 2011. Rooms are not big but inside shower & good furnished. Receptions staffs are very helpful & represents friendly behave all the time.

Room Tip: If anyone stay in near future, will have the good memory
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gautam00777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#47 of 202 in Kathmandu
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#12 of 202 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#85 of 202 in Kathmandu
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#117 of 202 in Kathmandu
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#54 of 202 in Kathmandu
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shree Tibet Family Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Tibet Family Guest House

Property: Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Address: 133 Thamel Bhagwati Marg | P.O.Box: 9299, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shree Tibet Family Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Tibetan Family run hotel founded in 1992. We are proud that for the last 15 years we have made our guest always feel at home with our warm friendly Tibetan and Nepali hospitality. We are always ready to assist you and answer your every inquiry from meditation classes to rafting and trekking adventures. We are located at a quiet nook in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal, a spot where you find exquisite taste of food, the colorful handicrafts shops and just about everything all in a few minutes walk from us. Get a perspective view of the natural beauty of surrounding Kathmandu Valley from our exotic roof top garden. The rooms are tastefully decorated at reasonable prices. Here you will always find the best of Tibetan and Nepali hospitality and we assure you of a peaceful night sleep. Recommended by major guide books such as Lonely Planet and Guide du Routard for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Shree Tibet Family Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing