We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendy Staff and Management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spent my New Year in Kathmandu this time.. and was very pleased with the hotel i chose. Hotel Tenki is perfectly located in the heart of the city and every place is so easily accessible coz of its location. The staff and their services are very good too. Had a pleasant time and stay at Hotel Tenki and would recommend it to all :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaliniSethi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 717 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is the wonderful hotel I have ever stayed at. When I went to kathmandu with my husband for the first time, I was worried about where to stay and I even heard about the thieves in thamel area but after I went to this hotel, there was so nice environment and the room was quiet and so clean with a good service. Comparitively I found this hotel cheaper too. As a whole, the trip was great and when I used to come back to hotel , I felt like I am at home: so comfortable and peace...

Room Tip: Talk With Shiva Hari Bajagain for best service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bini a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

People in hotel Tenki are very nice and offer you some very interesting and different touring options in Nepal, that you won't find in other places.
Ask to talk to Shiva, and he will offer you these different options, mainly going out of touristic areas, into 'real' Nepal

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank meiron z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had a pleasant stay at the Tenki on 2 occasions, before and after my trek, altogether around 7-8 days. Room was relatively quiet, comfortable, cleaned on a daily basis, and didn't have any of the mold our bad smell typical to many such hotels. They had a problem with the water system one day, if it wasnt for that I would have given it give stars. All in all, a great budget place. As always, don't forget to take a look at a few rooms and bargain beforehand.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
5  Thank Erap21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hotel is very good located on north part of Thamel, in silent area without many restaurants and shops but to the center of Thamel is less than 5 min by walk. By it location is very good to reach by car even in rush hours. Rooms are nice, looks little like budget but well equipment.So it's little more than budget. They have nice view from roof. Some rooms don;t have a window.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jarek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel , it is very clean, neat, and beautiful. The staff go out of their way
to assist the visitors in any way. help with directions, help; to get a taxi, anything you need they are here to help us. The food is very good and they help with any special needs you may have.
I highly recommend this hotel and I will visit it again. ..

Room Tip: My room was 201, on the end of hall and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShivaKathmandu_Nepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is well located in the Thamel area of Kathmandu. It is quite old but overall the room was clean. We paid 40 USD which we thought was a bit overpriced. The breakfast was served in a room on the ground floor which was not exactly pleasant and didn'd look very clean, which was a bit of a turn-off. The service employees at breakfast were very attentive though.

Internet was free, so that was a bonus!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the street as you will hear all the noise from Thamel nightlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete_cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,272 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 210 in Kathmandu
348 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
#2 of 210 in Kathmandu
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Grand Hotel

Address: Chaksibari Marg | Thamel, Kathmandu 10866, Nepal (Formerly Hotel Tenki)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $31 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathmandu Grand Hotel has become one of the most renowned names in the hospitality industry. Ever since it has been established in 1995, this two star hotel in Nepal, Kathmandu has changed the way moderately priced hotels operated by providing amenities of international standard at affordable rates. Our hotel has been designed keeping in mind safety, hygiene and comfort. Elegantly designed rooms, excellent services and other modern amenities make us stand apart from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kathmandu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing