We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good people, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good people, good location”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

People in hotel Tenki are very nice and offer you some very interesting and different touring options in Nepal, that you won't find in other places.
Ask to talk to Shiva, and he will offer you these different options, mainly going out of touristic areas, into 'real' Nepal

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank meiron z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    95
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
81
145
155
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay at the Tenki on 2 occasions, before and after my trek, altogether around 7-8 days. Room was relatively quiet, comfortable, cleaned on a daily basis, and didn't have any of the mold our bad smell typical to many such hotels. They had a problem with the water system one day, if it wasnt for that I would have given it give stars. All in all, a great budget place. As always, don't forget to take a look at a few rooms and bargain beforehand.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Erap21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wieliczka, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hotel is very good located on north part of Thamel, in silent area without many restaurants and shops but to the center of Thamel is less than 5 min by walk. By it location is very good to reach by car even in rush hours. Rooms are nice, looks little like budget but well equipment.So it's little more than budget. They have nice view from roof. Some rooms don;t have a window.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel , it is very clean, neat, and beautiful. The staff go out of their way
to assist the visitors in any way. help with directions, help; to get a taxi, anything you need they are here to help us. The food is very good and they help with any special needs you may have.
I highly recommend this hotel and I will visit it again. ..

Room Tip: My room was 201, on the end of hall and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShivaKathmandu_Nepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is well located in the Thamel area of Kathmandu. It is quite old but overall the room was clean. We paid 40 USD which we thought was a bit overpriced. The breakfast was served in a room on the ground floor which was not exactly pleasant and didn'd look very clean, which was a bit of a turn-off. The service employees at breakfast were very attentive though.

Internet was free, so that was a bonus!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the street as you will hear all the noise from Thamel nightlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete_cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed a couple of days at Hotel Tenki and really enjoyed my time here! I especially appreciated the hospitality and friendliness of the staff. They are wonderful people and all eager to contribute to a pleasant stay of their guests. Spacious rooms with AC/heater, TV and hot water, a restaurant with delicious Nepalese food, free internet/wifi and travel information.. it is all there! To me, the best place of the hotel is the roof top, where you have a great view over Kathmandu and to the mountains. I am sure they will give you a warm welcome in hotel Tenki!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LiandeGraaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

In the (sometimes too) busy Thamel, Hotel Tenki is a very relaxed and welcome place to stay. The rooms are big, they clean every day (clean towels et cetera), hot water all the time (no lie!) and the people who run the hotel are very friendly and helpfull (for example they helped a backpacker who's wallet and passport was stolen). At the top there is a terrace you can sit so you can wake up in the sun and sit outside enjoying the sun with an excellent view over Kathmandu. The new managers of the hotel really know what service is and want the best for your stay. The (new) restaurant serves traditional Nepali food (my favorite was saag :-). When I go back to Katmandu, for sure I go to Hotel Tenki again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anmaryvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#4 of 202 in Kathmandu
312 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 202 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 202 in Kathmandu
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#13 of 202 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Grand Hotel

Property: Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Address: Chaksibari Marg | Thamel, Kathmandu 10866, Nepal (Formerly Hotel Tenki)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathmandu Grand Hotel has become one of the most renowned names in the hospitality industry. Ever since it has been established in 1995, this two star hotel in Nepal, Kathmandu has changed the way moderately priced hotels operated by providing amenities of international standard at affordable rates. Our hotel has been designed keeping in mind safety, hygiene and comfort. Elegantly designed rooms, excellent services and other modern amenities make us stand apart from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kathmandu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing