We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations - Great Company!”

Highland Expeditions
Ranked #338 of 1,215 Tours in Kathmandu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Highland Expeditions is a premier adventure company based in Kathmandu, Nepal specializing in trekking, climbing and tour in Nepal, Bhutan, Tibet and India with safety priority and service paramount. At ‘Highland Expeditions’, it is our aim to ensure our discerning adventure travelers who respect local culture and prefer to travel the less traveled path, a good vocational break with minimized risks and worry free trip should it be monetary, physical or emotional.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed July 18, 2018

12-28 May 2018, we took the challenge of trekking to the base camp of world's highest mountain and we had a trip of a lifetime.

After having searched online and going through recommendations, we decided to go with Highland Expeditions for our Everest Base Camp Trek and we had a trip of a lifetime. From initial inquiries to the trek completion, we were totally impressed with how professionally they operate their trips. Passang was fantastic in replying all our emails and he promptly replied to our endless questions. He always encouraged us to ask if we had any questions regarding the trip. On trip, everything was first class from the staff to the logistical arrangements. Our guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. We were even more impressed knowing how happy the staff were working with Highland Expeditions.

Can't fault anything and we are already planning our next trip with Passang and his team.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"helicopter flight"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommended by a friend"
in 2 reviews
"endless questions"
in 2 reviews
"annapurna sanctuary"
in 3 reviews
"assistant guide"
in 4 reviews
"base camp trek"
in 2 reviews
"sleeping bag"
in 2 reviews
"gokyo lakes"
in 2 reviews
"great company"
in 2 reviews
"his team"
in 3 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"samir"
in 2 reviews
"duffel"
in 2 reviews
"briefing"
in 3 reviews
"operator"
in 3 reviews
"equipment"
in 3 reviews
"decision"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2018

Went on the Everest Base Camp and Gokyo Lakes Trek on April, 2018 with a small team and what an incredible experience it was from start to finish. Absolutely loved the trek and the group of people and guides i ended up with, so much fun!

Our guides were professional, organised and really knowledgeable. Despite being a small team of 6 people only we were assigned 1 guide, 2 assistant guides and 3 porters. Safety was always a priority and supplementary oxygen system, Satellite phone, oximeter and medical kit were provided for emergency purpose which very few companies only carried on trek.
We had a great experience and we will definitely use Highland Expeditions again.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Just returned from Everest Base Camp Trek in Nepal with Highland Expeditions. I had the time of my life, challenged myself in several areas to complete the trek but wouldn't have been able to do it without Highland Expeditions Team.

Sr. Kanchaa, Jr. Kanchaa, Dil and Harka were a fabulous team to trek with and ensured our trek was one to enjoy and remember. All of them looked after us so well and were very professional in their work. I actually can not fault in any way, can't think of anything i would have to change or improve.

I am sure I left a bit of my heart and soul in the Himalayas and i hope to return to Nepal in 2019 for bigger adventure. Of course with Highland Expeditions!!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

I had a wonderful time with Highland Expeditions during my climbing holiday in Nepal. We were 3 of us looking for a peak climbing in Nepal and Highland Expeditions came highly recommended by a friend who did a trek with them previously. After contacting them, Passang (COO of company) replied all our emails promptly and provided in depth information about the climb, which really helped us in preparing for the climb. On trip, everything was well organized, we had the privilege of having Ang Sona Sherpa (Expedition Director & 10 times Everest Summiteer) as our senior guide. All 3 of us managed to climbed Island peak at our first attempt and this was all possible because of their properly planned itinerary, expert guidance, top notch service, amazing sherpa.
All 3 of us would highland recommend Highland Expeditions for anyone looking for a trekking and climbing operator in Nepal.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2018

Highland Expeditions came highly recommended by a Cousin who did the Anapurana base camp trek with them recently. We contacted Pasang by email and he responded very promptly with trek suggestions. We (my Wife, my niece and myself) decided to do the lukhla to Gokyo lake trek and not the more popular Everest Base Camp trek mainly because we had limited time and also because the Gokyo lake trek would have less people and we would have the mountains more to ourselves. Pasang was brilliant - responding to the millions of questions my Wife had, patiently.
We were met at Kathmandu airport by Pasang. He proved to be a charming young man, extremely polite and well spoken. Later that day we met his father Kunga Tsering Sherpa (3x Everest summiteer) who gave a detailed briefing of the trek to come.
Early the next morning we were back at the airport to catch our flight to Lukhla. It was now that we learned first hand about how the unpredictable weather systems in the mountains could play havoc with carefully laid trekking plans. All flights to Lukhla were on hold because of poor visibility there. With our trek schedule in jeopardy, Pasang sprang into action and managed to get us on a helicopter flight to Lukhla ! Together with Mr Khunga we played “avoid the rain clouds in the air “ before landing at Lukhla an hour later.
At Lukhla we met our assistant guide Kancha who was extremely pleasant with a ready smile.
Mr Khunga kept a quiet eye on all of us during the trek - from how much we ate (or didn’t eat), how much we drank and for signs and symptoms of altitude sickness. A daily pulse oximeter reading became a routine. We deeply appreciated the professionalism and dedication of the Highland Expedition team to ensuring that we had the full Himalayan mountain experience whilst staying safe. It was certainly not an easy 7 day trek - coping with the cold (no heating in tea lodge rooms), and the altitude was always a bit of a challenge - but it was reassuring to have a guide with Mr Khunga’s experience at our side.
The return through Kathmandu was made extremely pleasant by Pasang who went out of his way to ensure our well being. As it was my wife’s birthday, Pasang arranged transport for us to go to Dwarikas for dinner as well as make arrangements for a Nepalese birthday blessing at the restaurant ! Very nice touch.
In summary we had an amazing adventure in the mountains with guides and porters who took care of us like we were their own family.
We highly recommend Highland Expeditions.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank DocThana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Expeditions also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Highland Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing