We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pleasure Home
Ranked #88 of 205 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I'm coming to Nepal for the 3rd time. My stay here every time I come. Service is very good, rooms are clean, the staff friendly. Of course the prices are very good. Also near Thamel everywhere. I recommend it to anyone. Thanks Mr Milan.
Hacer Aydın
From Turkey

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hacer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram p, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Dear Hacer,

Greetings From Hotel Norling Nepal!!

Thank you for your time to write review in TripAdvisor. We are very have to here about your stay with us is very fantastic and enjoyable.

Regards,
Hotel Norling Nepal Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pleasure Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 113 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

I had such a great time here. I really liked the rooftop area. Yes, it's typical Nepali maintenance, but the character offset most of that. If you are in Ktm and want Western style hotel you need to take a newer one or one owned by a Westerner. I didn't come to Nepal to sit in a hotel room.

Room Tip: This is close enough to walk to Kantipath to catch the tourist bus to Pokhara or Chitwan. That alone...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram p, Manager at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Martha,

Greetings From Norling Guest House!!!

Thank you for your time to write review in TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Norling Guest House.

Regards,
Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is a good choice in Katmandou. For the price I feel the quality is over the other hotel of the same quality. The personnel is very sympathic and very kind for the room service to bring food at room. Sure they have some stains on the wall but it's normal in Nepal. I was one time in 5 stars hotel in Nepal and I saw stains too. Important they keep bed very clean and the bathroom.

Room Tip: choice room at rear of hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voyageur1974l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram p, Manager at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear voyageur,

Greetings From Norling Guest House!!

Thank you for your time to write review in tripadvisior. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Norling Guest House. we are very sure that Norling Guest House will definetly give you the complete service to our customer.

Best Regards,
Ram ( Manager)
Norling Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

the staff were very nice n warm , loved their garlic chicken and rice on the roof top cafe.
room were clean . and with there new generators we had no lights trouble. and they have improved wifi connection which definately made me happy .
lastly , best part was nice hot shower . definitely staying their on my next visit !!

Room Tip: rooms on southside are warm and sunny
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarchana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram p, Owner at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear sir/ Madam,

Thank you for review in TripAdvisor. we are very happy that you are enjoy your stay with Norling Guest House.


Warm Regards,
Milan Thapa (M.D)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

One of the dumpier hotels I have encountered on Trip Advisor that had somewhat decent reviews. My first impression when I opened the door to the room was not favorable. Stains all over the walls. A few mosquitos squashed on the walls with blood smeared from their last meal. The bathroom was worse. Dingy, dirty looking, water didn't drain so you ended up with 2 inches of filth to stand in. The water still did not drain after an hour so if you wanted to go back into the bathroom to use it you had to wade through scum. Shelf broken over the sink. Long black hair all over the floor. Obviously the floors were not swept after the check out of the last guest whom I presume was female by the length of the hair. I booked this hotel for my travel group. They were not pleased and I was embarrassed to have made this choice.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seascape100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram p, Owner at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear seascape,

Greetings From Norling Guest House!!

Thank you for your review and your comments i was really surprise when i read you review in Tripadvisor which was totally unacceptable we have run this hotel last 12 years old and we have try to make guest happy in every moment and you can also see all review in TripAdvisor we are providing excellent service to our guest which has been already stayed at Norling Guest House.
lastly thank you for your review and your comments.

Regards,
Milan Thapa (M.D)
Norling Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel scores on location and service. The Tibetan family running the place is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is modest, the coffee/tea very thin, but the neighborhood is quiet and the wifi is good. The problem is the state of the building. The hotel is old and there seems to have been very little maintenance. The bathroom was the worst, with leaky shower and faucets, filthy light switches, and grime everywhere. In fact, the hotel staff made no attempt at room service in three days. With so many hotels (new and renovated) in the area, this one will need to up its game if it wants to compete.

Room Tip: Top floor for better light. Rooms on lower floors are very dark.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Having stayed in three different guest houses and hotels in Thamel in Kathmandu, this one seemed like a nice and amenable property. Looks ok from the outside and the lobby.

The rooms however, were quite noisy and the corridor rooms lacked privacy. The first room booked (even though I booked the Deluxe) had no hot water in the shower, but was moved to a room that had one the next night. There doesn't appear much difference in the standard and deluxe rooms.

Also, be careful when leaving valuables at the front desk. We had a strange experience where the manager left the premises with a camera that was supposedly meant to be put in the "safe". When questioned at the front desk, we were told that the camera was not there, and had to wait for the manager who had gone home, to return to the hotel. When the manager returned by taxi he had the camera, explaining that there was some kind of mix up and he took the wrong camera from the safe.

However checking the camera, we noticed the 64Gb memory card had been removed.... along with photos.

We found this very strange to say the least! Luckily the card was a relatively new one and most of the photos from two weeks trekking to Everest Base Camp had been previously taken out and saved.

Still, left a bad feeling about this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRiskyKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#35 of 205 in Kathmandu
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#19 of 205 in Kathmandu
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#53 of 205 in Kathmandu
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#59 of 205 in Kathmandu
49 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Temple Inn
Hotel Temple Inn
#63 of 205 in Kathmandu
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gallery Nepal
Hotel Gallery Nepal
#71 of 205 in Kathmandu
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pleasure Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pleasure Home

Address: Jyatha Street, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Hotel Norling Nepal)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 205 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $18 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pleasure Home 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, Hotel in the very heart of Thamel District of Kathmandu. We offer 31 spacious rooms, with private bath and showers that feature 24 hours hot water, making us one of the few hotels in Thamel to offer such a service. Beautiful roof gardens for relaxant. Room service is available. The Hotel Pleasure Home makes the ideal location to work from for all of your sightseeing in the Kathmandu Valley. We offer a travel desk to help make arrangements for traveling and trekking into other parts of Nepal. Free wi-fi in all the rooms. Air-Conditioned rooms available. We have in our rooms from single beds to our luxurious king-size beds. All rooms come with view. Uniquely decorated in Tibetan theme, courtesy of Tibetan refugees who initially built our guest house. Enjoy our spa and business center as well as satellite TV in all of the rooms. Clean and comfortable. You'll sleep well here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Pleasure Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing