We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Luxury Stay”
Review of Holy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holy Lodge
Ranked #20 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Salalah, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Location and Luxury Stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I met man from Kathmandu airport, 25 $ per night with breakfast A/C room. Was really good stay here in Holy Lodge for about 4 nights including Kathmandu-Pokhara car arrangement from Lila (Owner of this Lodge) and Hotel at Pokhara was absolutely good. So overall my stay in Kathmandu at Holy lodge was really feel luxury with good location for many hub.

Room Tip: Room no A 7 is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hassan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    29
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
18
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed twice at this hotel and I have to say that rooms are clean and confortable, and hot water usually works too. However, I'm pretty disappointed with the staff because all the time they were very nice and seemed extremely helpful.The thing is that they gave us very different rates both times; the second time, difference was so that, after discussing, they accepted to give us the price of first time. Secondly, they offered for booking us the bus from Kathmandu to Pokhara and we said yes but it was a mistake because later we realized we had paid double. Finally, I asked for sending some postcards and they offered for it, but they never arrived to the addressee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A place I would recommend to everyone. A small and cozy hotel in the heart of Thamel. Friendly and helpful staff, nice and comfortable rooms for affordable price. Wifi connection available 24 hours. Hotel also offers you services of travel agency so you could plan your sightseeing or trekking trips both in Kathmandu, Nepal, or in neighbour countries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hexagono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First time at Kathmandu and Nepal too, booked this hotel by internet, really impressed with reviews from TRIPADVISOR, its real hotel with many facilities like travel desk,free wi-fi, restaurant, hot shower, roof top garden with very friendly staffs, all the time smiling to serve like for cleaning room, making tea and providing car or taxi, arranging bus ticket to all Nepal and more.
Thanks for all for good hospitality. Looking forward to see you some day.

Room Tip: Room No A 7 is best even located in road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brickhookuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

In a word- "Superb" In general, service at the hotel is excellent and it was a great place to stay. The owner of Madhukar is Very friendly and helpfull person. Will definately stay again.
One of the best holidays you coud experience. Charm,character,relaxation,excellent food accomm. And staff Will recommend to my friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PATTAM50CENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My friends and I decided to stay in this hotel because of the good reviews it gained in Tripadvisor.

Holy Lodge truly did not disappoint us in choosing their hotel.  The staff were friendly and attentive to our needs. The room is clean and spacious and a 24hr wifi, as well as the back up generator.

The hotel is located in the heart of Thamel, very accessible to shops, money changer,atms, restaurants, etc..

Kudos to Mr Kumar, the manager who knows how to satisfy our thirst for adventure!  He arranged the itinerary to Chitwan and Pokhara, the hotel and the activities in those places.

We loved the hotels that  Mr Kumar booked for us in Chitwan and Pokhara.   He fixed everything we needed before he left for his business trip to US.

We also cherished and missed our driver Mr. Dave with a super genuine heart!  He was with us all throughout those 5 day adventure. He was not only our driver but he was also our budget tour guide at the same time.

Thank you Holy Lodge we were happy and satisfied in our stay!
I would recommend Holy Lodge for all budget traveller, enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sherock83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed in the hotel along with my lovely friends for 2 nights while we were in Kathmandu. Hotel Holy Lodge is located in the heart of Thamel, where you could easily find ATM's, money changers, souvenir shops, and restaurant & bars. The hotel is clean and has big & refurbished rooms with the basic amenities like towels, soap, WHITE duvets and bed sheets, bottled water, TV , hot water (shower) and FREE Wi-fi. Electricity in Nepal has a regular intervals of brown out but the hotel has a back up generator that kicks in every time the light is out. They also offer free airport transfer.

Hotel staff are very accommodating and always open for suggestions, specially the owner who tirelessly answered my emails/queries and arranged our itineraries that suits all the activities we wanted to do, which gave our over all stay in Nepal a hassle free holiday! We would not miss this chance to thank Dave who serves as our personal driver + tour guide + photographer for 5 days, travelling with us all the way from Kathmandu - Chitwan - Pokhara - Kathmandu. He truly is a gem!

We would definitely come back and stay in this hotel and would recommend this to our friends. Kudos and keep up the good work! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
#36 of 198 in Kathmandu
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holy Lodge

Property: Holy Lodge
Address: 7 Corner, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holy Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome and Namaste!! Holy Lodge, which was opened 25 years ago, has recently undergone a facelift in order to cater to the growing needs of the 21st century traveller; however, it still retains its old-world charm, the ever-present warm Nepalese hospitality and unmatched comfort not to be found anywhere else. The rooms have been tailored to meet the needs of those who choose to travel alone to those who travel in the company of friends or family. Whether you want modern amenities like wi-fi internet, flat screen TVs, air-conditioned rooms, hot showers or simple basic, but clean and comfortable, rooms - we provide them. Even if you are a budget traveller, we guarantee your stay with us is "a home away from home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing