We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly quiet budget place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Planet Guest House
Ranked #266 of 458 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Nice hotel in the middle of Thamel, with really friendly stuff. Stayed there also the last year and they even remebered me. Rooms are very quiet, very simple but clean and well taken care of. As the rest of Kathmandu they have 8 hours power cuts, but there's always light in the room even hot water depending on the season. They also have a roof top to chill out and they serve simple but good food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cecikrups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 51 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of january. We did not bother to book, there were lots of rooms available, we had a twin room with a very small balcony. The room was small but clean. The beds were hard but this is normal for nepal. The bathroom was clean but we did not have any hot water. Apparently it is only available when the power is on as they dont have a generator (the power is off for 8 hrs a day).
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Overall it was a nice place for the price we payed, just off the main street so slightly quieter but bring ear plugs anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank te100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Stayed in Red Planet after two nights KGH, was looking for a cheap central option and this was perfect. Got a single room for 400NPR with clean shower room, and a balcony looking over the small garden. Also came back and stayed here towards the end of my trip as its in such a great central location in Thamel. Only downsides is the noise but that is unavoidable in Thamel.

Great friendly staff who were always willing to help, book bus tickets etc.

Would definately choose Red Planet over the over-priced Kathmandu Guest House.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildmanpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Used this hotel on our last two nights in Nepal, having stayed in KGH and Hotel Sugat previously. We wanted to find a clean, cheap place in the centre of Thamel, so looked around at a few. This one was the best - large room, double bed and a single bed, settee, table, wardrobe, mirror, toilet/shower/sink, clean towels and toilet paper, large windows, balcony, TV. It was well decorated and not dirty. The bathroom wasn't great, but it was clean and worked. The bed was clean with top sheets and blankets, as well as comfortable cushions.
The front of the hotel is up some steps surrounding some shops and a massage place, then up some more steps to the reception area. Its down a lane off the main road in Thamel. It has a couple of floors, with rooms looking out onto an open area - unfortunately there is another hotel being built behind it, which may take a while, so it could have been noisy back there. We were at the front of the hotel so didn't hear anything.
The men on reception were friendly and helpful. They will put your valuables in a safe, with the manager having the only key, so check he is in when you want your stuff back.
We negotiated a cheaper price for the room before taking it, which was 800rs. This was cheap for what you got, since having stayed in KGH earlier in the holiday for 3000rs, i didn't see a difference in the rooms.
There was a restaurant on the top floor, and room service - we had a great breakfast delivered to our room in the morning for a small amount of money, and cold beers in the night.
The security for the hotel entrance is good, with the main gates being padlocked around 11pm and opened again at 7am. A man is in reception all night to let you in or out, and seemed to appear from nowhere when we needed him!!
We liked our stay here and would recommend it for a cheap, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
Thank Sandrine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Internet działa lepiej w pokojach przy tarasie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Czerwony_Kaptur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#54 of 207 in Kathmandu
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Horizon
Hotel Blue Horizon
#84 of 207 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 207 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Red Planet
Hotel Red Planet
#177 of 458 in Kathmandu
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Guest House

Address: Kesharmahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Planet Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Guest House ideally located in peace and tranquial area at the heart of the Thamel. Red Planet Guest House offers decorated standard room with TV/Tele Phone, wall to wall carpets and attached bath to provide high standard comfort and luxury. Some rooms have private balcony. Our rooftop restaurant offer uninterrupted views of Kathmandu valley & Swoyambhu stupa. We server you with Nepali hospitality at friendly atmosphere.In Red Planet Guest House you will find a tem of dedicated people who are highly motivated and committed to high degree of professionalism, homely atmosphere and willingness to assist our guests in all that you could expect from us. We ensure that every guest of ours enjoy the comfort, Nepali hospitality & friendly caring services provided by our well trained staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Red Planet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing