We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average restaurant”
Review of Yak Restaurant

Yak Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 747 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Indian, Tunisian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Average restaurant”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We only chanced on this restaurant while walking around Thamel. It’s right at the Thamel tourist district but inside the restaurant is a good mix of both locals and tourists/trekkers.

Yak serves Tibetan, Nepali and other standard international dishes. Food is generally just okay, we ordered fried momos but I think the momos in the streets taste better. Price is okay, not too overpriced. We saw other guests ordering the tongba or the Tibetan hot beer, so we also wanted to try it. Either we didn’t wait enough for the hot water to “cook” the millet or it was just too way beyond our tastebuds...we think it tasted awful. But at least, it’s worth the try, not to expensive anyway. Service was a bit slow though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tambalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    106
    44
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food with maximum hyganic”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Yak Cafe is a nice cafe with all restaurant facility, their foods are very fresh with maximum hyganic

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrommeyDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Terrible food!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I dislike leaving bad reviews but...this place was awful! The service was fine the staff polite but the food was a joke. The chicken chow mein had two scraps of chicken, the noodles overdone and soggy and the portion tiny. The buffalo momos (steamed) were greasy and the meat tasted old but they gave you 8 pieces at least. The worst was the stir fried seasonal veg - about 6 pieces of cut up cabbage on a plate! It wasn't a portion! When complaining they just shrugged! The food was expensive for what it was. My pot of Chinese tea hardly had any leaves, I was drinking murky brown water with no flavor. Terrible food experience! Avoid!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripTommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value and popular”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A small kind of quaint place. Good food at reasonable prices. Hot millet beer available.
A good variety of food including the NepaleseThali.The buffalo momos are very tasty.
It was always busy when I went.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank msj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
324 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great Value, Good Food and Service”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place appears to be very popular, expecially among the budget-travel crowd -- and for good reason. Very reasonable prices, for good Nepali and other food. Especially like their soups, and chinese influenced dishes for lunch or dinner. Also have good breakfast selection, again for good value.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yak Restaurant also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Yak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing