We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TASTY STILL”
Review of Utse Restaurant

Utse Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 747 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“TASTY STILL”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We first wrote about Utse in May of last year. Utse’s tasty Tibetan food was a real eye opener for us. It was warm and humid outside and in. Our steaming gyakok was beyond delicious, but we quickly realized that the hearty stew was cold weather food. We vowed to return when a chill settled in on Kathmandu. Last Friday evening, we did.

The first thing we noticed upon entering was that the place was packed. On our previous visit, we were all but alone. In Nepal, it is common that all order at restaurants breaks down under the weight of a mob, not so Utse.

We decided on a table in the corner near the kitchen. Actually, it was the only table left, but I like to think we still had a choice. After a quick look at the menu, we ordered that for which we came. Gyakok for two! A short while later, the appetizer arrived – spicy potatoes. After that, the steaming charcoal-powered hot pot followed by rice, noodles and momos. This mountain of food and two big beers set us back about $20 USD. WOW!

As we left, every table was filled. People were waiting to be seated. Take my advice: Utse is worth the wait.

Skip the pizza. Order the gyakok.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    112
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panzhihua, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Lovely Tibetan themed restaurant. It is cheaper than the more expensive joints nearby but is equally tasty and serves good sized portions. We have been a few times now and have not been let down. I would strongly recommend drinking a 'Tongba' with your meal. Its a Tibetan hot fermented millet drink that comes in a big wooden vessel and is cheap and tasty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 807TomH807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
482 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Extremely tasty and reasonably priced”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is one of the few restaurants where everything was equally tasty. Its an authentic Tibetan restaurant in Thamel. I had the Gyathuk, which was yummy and my father had the full Tibetan meal, which comprised 6 or 7 different dishes, all equally tasty. You can also try the hotpot, which seemed to be very popular. Also, try the Tongba, or Nepalase beer, its bitter and quite tasty.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bishwaksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Hot pot, what else?”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were one of five parties in the restaurant the night we went. All were having the Gacok, the Tibetan hot pot that comes with momos, etc. I get the idea that maybe they are coasting on their reputation a bit, and I didn't find the ambience to be quite like "old Lhasa" as Lonely Planet has it, but it was a good restaurant, and much more hygienic than Yangling.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank uwman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Into a different world”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We almost did not try this restaurant because we thought it looked a little dark from the outside. However, we decided to give it another go as we were very keen to try their Tibetan hotpot.
Behind these doors we discovered a unique Tibetan experience! The owner is a second-generation Tibetan in Nepal, who runs both the restaurant and hotel.
The hotpot is a must-have, especially in the cold winter nights! A 2-pax hotpot set comes with a stir fried potato starter, some pan fried momos with really good dipping sauce, chow mein, and plain rice... All for just about $10 USD!
The little coal-fired heater pots add a nice touch to the experience. Ask for some ginger tea to sooth your throat after walking through dusty Thamel.

Helpful?
Thank Livee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utse Restaurant also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Utse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing