We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good bits some notso”

Pumpernickel Bakery
Ranked #1 of 13 Bakeries in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Some good bits some notso”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Went on recommendation, disappointed. It's a good spot right in central Thamel and has a great little outdoor area. Unfortunately on the day we were there, the service was slow, we didn't know the process for ordering and no one was really interested in telling us to go back to the front entry and place an order (apparently you are meant to know this when you get there), just waved an docket at us. Maybe it had been a busy morning and the staff were feeling down, who knows... 20 minutes later, no coffee, no muffin, so inquired about progress, a bit of discussion between staff, then 10 minutes later got the coffee so made do. Coffee was average. There were several other grumpy customers, so something wasn't right. Pity as we had heard good things about the place. Maybe we'll try again if we go back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elmsie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    136
    46
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice courtyard”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Not a bad quick escape from the hustle and bustle of Thamel in this modern bakery right in the centre of the district. Only downside is when the inevitable power failure kicks in and the generator is right there next to your table under a very picturesque fruit tree. But good food and coffee makes up for it! Try the banana pancakes!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great bakery with delicious variety to choose from. The service was wonderful and the open air seating overlooking the outdoor patio is awesome. Free wifi, too! You will not be disappointed! I went back over and over!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidOrlando_FL_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good !”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The sandwiches cakes and coffee were good .Nice place, free wifi. Good serves and atmosphere. I enjoyed the food at the bakery so I returned several times.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great healthy food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I enjoyed the food at the bakery so I good I returned several times. The sandwiches were great for a relief from the chilli and spivey food we had been eating with the tour. Great place, free wifi, and people wanting to talk around you.... Lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piha52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpernickel Bakery also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu Valley, Bagmati Zone
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Pumpernickel Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing